Showing posts with label New Age Music Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Age Music Reviews. Show all posts

Featured Track: Moonstone-Al Jewer & Andy Mitran

Al Jewer & Andy Mitran return on January 27th of the new year with their follow up to "Emerald," titled "Moonstone."

As they continue with the concept of gemstones, so do their gorgeous soundtracks to emulate the perfect beauty of the stone celebration.  

Once again, Hans Christian delivers fretless bass and cello performances to enhance the track, giving depth and soul and the meditative, ethereal atmospheres provided.

When listening to "Moonstone," I felt like I was taking a journey into a distant land to discover a long-lost treasure. That treasure could be identified in many ways, finding the solitude, peace, or deliverance of a spiritual awakening.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck


https://aljewer-andymitran.bandcamp.com/track/moonstone

For access to our other recordings go to www.aljewer-andymitran.bandcamp.com

 

Track Feature: HARGO -From The Rooftops

We all need inspiration and hope. And we most definitely need it now! Every day just a little positive energy coming from some source can help us all. HARGO delivers all of that energy and light on the track "From The Rooftops."

The track is a formulation of a new age foundation with elements of world and pop intermingled to satisfy any music lover.


Yes, it is simple as that. Music transcends all, creating unification of mind, body, and spirit with all living beings.


The bass is prominent, which drives the song along, and the sitar gives it that world feeling.

"From The Rooftops" is a track you will want to hear more than once; I can guarantee that. It is a global track for all walks of life to enjoy and celebrate!

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

 

More About HARGO: https://hargomusic.com

Hargo Khalsa – aka Hargo – is a producer & singer/songwriter known for his mind expanding music, soul-centered message. His sound is as diverse as his background… raised a Sikh in a yoga Ashram bordering a Native American reservation in New Mexico.

His 2012 debut Out of Mankind was hailed by Billboard Magazine and American Songwriter as "mesmerizing", "anthemic" and "thinking-man's Rock", catching the attention of Beatles producer Phil Spector who dubbed him "a Young John Lennon" during their 2007 collaboration on Hargo song "Crying for John Lennon”. 
READ MORE

Ambient Instrumental-New Age: Phillip Wilkerson & Chris Russell-Dark Measure

Release Date: December 10, 2021

Label:  Spotted Peccary

Website

Dark Measures is the release that follows the 2014 recording Vague Traces.

Getting the perspective from one half of Phillip Wilkerson & Chris Russell, Phillip reflects…"All my music comes from a meditative and contemplative place within awareness and presence," reflects Wilkerson. "I don't necessarily feel like I create music, but rather music is created through me by releasing my consciousness and willful direction of the music and just letting it flow through the channel of open awareness. Attempting to put the process into words feels like a disservice to how it actually happens."

So how does one put all of that introspection into each track on Dark Measures? I certainly have no clue; however, I can say that it is similar to my listening experiences. To put into my perspective as the intent listener is what I endeavor to do for a listening audience.

Ambient electronic music is fascinating to me. It is like watching an artist paint on a blank canvas then create a masterpiece of audible colors, textures, atmospheres, and above all, disposition and feelings. It is that very atmospheric mood that can set you at ease. And I would venture to call this project new age meditation music as well. It fits many molds from where I listen and observe. My viewpoint is all-encompassing as a listener. It offers many touch points that come and go with the progress of the tracks. The time slots range from 4:50 ("Faring Forward") to 10:54 ("Unopened Doors").

If you are looking for stimulation of a different kind, you may find it here. You need to know this is very relaxing and reflective music, so this stimulation end of the spectrum is passive. If you are further along the self-awareness and meditation path, you can seek this music out as a guide to get to your plane of existence, where you heal and find enlightenment. I found that place through this music with ease.

Some passages will peak your awareness and tickle your senses to invite new realizations. The result is always good when listening to the music, you will discover on Dark Measures. And don't let the word dark throw you off. The reference to dark shades is where the light may be. It is all upbeat spacey music that is good for the soul. Dark to light, light to dark, and shades of grey encompass this music from start to finish.
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
January 9, 2022

Tracks:
1. Unopened Doors        
2. Evening's Embrace        
3. Myriad Visions        
4. Deep Lane
5. Distant Vistas         
6. Unbroken Devotion         
7. Faring Forward


New Age Instrumental Reviews: Trine Opsahl-The Moon Stays Bright

Release Date: January 1, 2022

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

Trine Opsahl is a pioneer of harp therapy in Denmark and works as a therapeutic harp player in two hospices, playing for the dying and their relatives. She is a Certified Therapeutic Harp Practitioner (CTHP), trained and certified within the International Harp Therapy Program (info from the artist website).

To truly appreciate the all-encompassing artistry of Ms. Opsahl I needed to share that information.

The new year will be ushered in with The Moon Stays Bright. The recording encompasses eleven tracks of solo harp music, with three accompanied by her daughter Josefine on cello (tracks 4,8,11). In 2018 I was introduced to Trine's music with Add Colours To My Sunset Sky.

I find the simplistic beauty of the harp to be the most attractive aspect. It draws me in very quickly and what I hear are the voices of angels. Trine's precise and gentle touch allows you, the listener, to relax and let your soul melt into the sounds. When Josefine joins in on the three tracks, the harp takes on a new meaning; the sound becomes multi-hued with all the definitions you would expect from string instruments.

Most listeners would find this music exceptionally accessible and, more importantly, healing. The exciting aspect of this listen is that the healing I speak of happens unknowingly. Without effort or thought in that direction, things happen inside the audio vibrations and various dimensions on offer.

Most interesting is the trilogy of "Moonscapes" I-III. The moon is significant to mother earth. Its gravitational pull affects the oceans' tides, our weather and brings light into the dead of night. It is like the offspring of the sun giving us the natural light we need. When a full moon rises, it affects people in different ways. This reference has a spiritual meaning, and it stays bright from the first to the last track.

Listen to The Moon Stays Bright, and you are bound to find that "Stars Lie Hidden In You." This is a prolific release that you should not miss. The Celtic Harp is a fantastic instrument and becomes magical instantly in the right hands. Trine Opsahl is one of those rare artists that come along once in a lifetime for a listener. Her music will leave an indelible imprint on your soul.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
January 1, 2022

Tracks:
01. The Moon Stays Bright
02. Moonscapes I
03. Do Not Simply Pass By Like A Dream
04. Rose Of The Eternal Spring (Duo)
05. Return Of The Light
06. Moonscapes II
07. Stars Lie Hidden In You
08. Do Not Simply Pass By Like A Dream (Duo)
09. I May Look Distant But I Am So Close
10. Moonscapes III
11. The Moon Stays Bright (Duo)


New Age World Review: Stewart Copeland and Ricky Kej-Divine Tides

Release Date: July 16, 2021

Label:  ‎Ponderosa Music Records

Website: https://www.rickykej.com

https://www.stewartcopeland.net

 

This year, there was quite a buzz about Divine Tides from the Stewart Copeland and Ricky Kej collaboration. Stewart is a renowned drummer with The Police and many other projects over the years. Ricky Kej has made his impressions in the new age realm with award winning releases. I was about to experience what all the excitement was about…

Divine Tides brings the color of humanity and all its cultures into the album covers artwork. It is one of the more imaginative, eye-catching works of art I have viewed this year.

The nine tracks encompassing this recording is a new age world montage with superb vocals from a range of talented individuals, including Rasika Shekar, Varijashree Venugopal, Sangeeta Kaur, Vidhi Sharma, Salim Merchant, and Charanraj MR. These are the lead vocalist on the tracks.
 
There are several other key contributors on backing vocals, and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra performs on "A Prayer," which is a fantastic track. It is full of uplifting energy and color, much like the artwork depicted on the cover. I have to say, even though I could not understand the language they were singing in, I found it very enjoyable and spiritually moving. The entire album is a masterpiece of new age world, and I would expect it to win a Grammy in the new age or world category for 2021. I have heard some incredible music this year that would be difficult to displace on my top 10 for the year in the new age genre; however, I have to say this one just moved into the #1 spot for me.

The previously mentioned attributes, such as the artwork, is the first aspect then from there are the superb arrangements from Ricky Kej and the incredible percussive elements from Stewart Copeland. Stewart mentioned that he harnessed his aggressive drum playing into a gentle beauty. That was quite a transition for him, and I can imagine a life-changing experience.

The production of each track is outstanding; it is bright, flows well, and gets your attention from start to finish. The musicianship is unparalleled. The CD comes housed in a tri-fold cardboard case with a booklet in the adjacent sleeve to the clear CD tray, which has a picture of the percussion instruments with a kaleidoscope of color emerging from it. That description would express all the music and artwork in this package and how it intersects into a beautiful work of all-encompassing art.

Here is the message from Kej regarding the title: ONE WITH SELF, ONE WITH TIME, ONE WITH OUR PLANET. Is that the reason we are all here? Is it to become one, merge with our fellow humans, and find peace and harmony for all? Imagine a world with no wars, no starvation, or diseases?

It could happen if we listen to these enlightened artists and follow the music to realize a new reality; we all can have it.

The Divine Tides of nature, the planet, humanity, and the innate goodness within our hearts will help us find our way back to oneness. Together with all the elements around us, we can positively influence life now and in the future. This music is awe-inspiring, and it delivers the truth and spirit of us all directly to our ears and then to our souls. Listen to Divine Tides, and I am confident you will agree.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
December 15, 2021

 Tracks:
1. Wonders Of Life
2. Himalayas
3. Our Home
4. Art Of Devotion
5. Pastoral India
6. I Am Change (2021 Remastered)
7. A Prayer
8. Gandhi
9. Mother Earth


Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Review: Tim Sadow and Mike Kopp-Out of The Mist

Release Date: December 20, 2021

Label:  ‎Independent

Website: https://timsadow.com/ / http://mikekoppmusic.com

Tim Sadow (violin, viola) and Mike Kopp (guitar, bass) collaborate on a new release titled Out of The Mist.

The duo's music within the nine tracks is a variable montage of colors, textures, vibrations, rhythms, and emotions. All of that is encompassed in every track.

"A Kite's Tale" is a beautiful introduction to what to expect going forward. The energy is contagious and moving in many different directions. I found it quite enjoyable and immediately respected the gentleman creating all of this entertaining music.

One of my favorites was "As The River Runs." I could honestly picture a flowing river in my mind's eye. The first part of the song was fast-moving, like a rushing river after a hard rainfall. Subsequently, the music takes on a slower pace, like a smooth-running stream on a hot summer's day. The music played is so powerfully convincing that you can envision what the track's title is suggesting.

Tim's violin and viola find the perfect bedfellow with Mike's acoustic guitar and bass lines. The viola has a hint of sadness at times, and the violin can reach the range of human emotions. The blend of their artistry is significant. It shines brightly in all of the tracks. Every track takes a different turn with some nice changes as well. The way they all start will get your attention. "Pins and Needles" was another excellent example of their synergy on display. It is an upbeat track with high energy woven into every second. You get some violin, dare I say shredding, during a few moments.

You can't put names and genres on this music because it doesn't fit into any box. If pressed to define it, I would call it contemporary instrumental with some Celtic influences, easy listening with a new age flavor and ambiance; it's all of that. The point is that Out of The Mist is an entirely accessible and enjoyable listen for many types of listeners. That is not always the easiest thing to accomplish, and its success is an outstanding achievement.

Out of The Mist brought me much joy and hit all the sensory areas where I find the most peace and enjoyment, which equals out to spirituality.

Out of The Mist ends most interestingly with "Space Chatter," which was a surprise ending compared to all the other tracks. I did appreciate it; it was very progressive, and actually, I thought of something Jean Luc Ponty would have done during the height of his popularity. Coming from that perspective, I don't think I could get more complimentary! And lord knows there is nothing better than a surprise ending to an album you loved right from the start. They could not have finished it in a better way.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
December 7, 2021

Tracks:
1. A Kite's Tale  3:27
2. Song Of The Circle 3:45
3. Desperate Measures   3:02
4. Dance Of The Leaves   3:50
5. As The River Runs  3:54
6. To Speak Of Love    3:28
7. Behind The Waterfall  4:53
8. Pins And Needles    3:56
9. Space Chatter    3:58



Acoustic New Age Review: Trevor Gordon Hall-This Beautiful Chaos

Release Date: September 14, 2021

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

I am familiar with Trevor Gordon Hall and his work from previous albums Mind Heart Fingers (2014) and Late Night With Headphones (2016). Here we are five years later, and now I am listening to his latest release from this September, This Beautiful Chaos.

A title like that deserves some thought before listening to see if it matches well with the presented music. Straight away, I thought this was going to be some complex picking and strumming, which can be chaotic to one person yet beautiful in every way to another, or both. But that is my thought process, and each listener will find their way to explain what they hear and what it means. Trevor said that life can be crazy and chaotic but beautiful at the same time. I read into that as an indication of a complete life with many experiences.

The album features six different guitars, including a Standard Acoustic, Baritone Acoustic, Nylon String, High Strung Guitar, Electric Guitar, and a Portuguese instrument named Viola Amarantina. Guitar enthusiasts and those who appreciate various acoustic guitars will find this album well stocked with all flavors of ear candy for audible consumption.

Based on past experiences, I awaited a gratifying experience again, which I received. Trevor’s style of playing is a thing of beauty. What I have found to be exceptional is the ability to take one instrument, in this case, several types of acoustic guitars, and make so much music without any accompaniment. His abilities reach far and wide into his area of expertise. What people may find interesting is that This Beautiful Chaos is a culmination of experiences the artist has had over the years with concerts he has played, the people met along the way, lessons learned, and all the foods enjoyed. The beauty of a fast-moving life becomes a reality for a successful musician grateful for everything he has experienced within the music. Now you can hear all of that interpreted through the tracks on this recording.

“Know Thyself” is an excellent title with many layers of playing, including precise notes plucked with a nice flowing strumming rhythm beneath for those the notes to float over. It is life expressed fully through one composition. You can feel the joy, emotion, and movement of life within that song. I felt some good energy, and it made my heart smile. Such honesty on an internal level can be expressed externally by a person then amplified by the music. That is what Trevor accomplishes with the track and throughout the entire recording.

Some of the track titles are prolific, like “The Presence of Absence” and “Resolution in Tension” is a slow burner, systematic, and for a good reason. Now that is something everyone can use! Just saying the title is an affirmation or confirmation of that state of emotion you could be in and how to resolve it. I like to take in a breath and count to 4, then release it counting to 8. That helps; however, music always opens doors for me into different states of consciousness. With this album, I felt gratitude knowing what the artist has shared, its importance, and how communicating with listeners can help lead the way to change in a positive direction.

This Beautiful Chaos is relaxation, meditative, reflective, friendly, and easy going, like a sunny day with nothing but blue skies. Life is fast and complex, and it certainly can be chaotic, but we have artisans like Trevor Gordon Hall and his music to slow things down and show us a different way. I found myself once again amazed at this man’s talent and ability to mesmerize me with one instrument.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 23, 2021

Tracks:
01. Chase the Chills (2:49)
02. This Beautiful Chaos (6:02)
03. Momentum and Meaning (5:18)
04. Know Thyself (3:54)
05. The Presence of Absence (4:30)
06. A Daddy and his Daughter (3:57)
07. Saudade (5:02)
08. Resolution in Tension (4:31)
09. Ontic Blues (5:25)
10. At Peace with the Struggle (4:03)



Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Various Artist - Fall Flight (myndstream)

Release Date: November 19, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

With the change of seasons and Fall ushered in, the myndstream label features six tracks from various artists. The compilation is appropriately titled Fall Flight.

“Autumn” with Roger Kellaway and his piano is the perfect gateway to a new season arriving and starting this compilation. His nimble fingers bring us to the change of season gently with a greeting only an acoustic piano can create—a perfect way to begin your audio journey.

 “The Golden Hour” features the acoustic guitar of Karlijn Langendijk. This one is with acoustic guitar taking a singular approach. While building the track with different strokes of the strings, it shines the light on the purity and clarity an acoustic guitar can have. The track is an example of the absolute beauty portrayed on a musical canvas.

“Insects” is from the well-known artistry of one Mr. Larrry Fast and Synergy. He has played with many great musicians during his long and successful tenor and created a bevy of solo material. Keeping with the legendary progressive sound he is known for, the music is powerful and cinematic, changing the entire mood of your listen. Perhaps the boldness and directness which contrast the previous tracks show us how the changing of seasons can be abrupt and rapid, especially for those living a more petite reality as an insect. Think of the winds blowing and the leaves creating their little cyclones on the ground and in the roads as the insects scramble to preserve their very existence.

“End of One Thing” from David Baron brings you synth sounds. The various layers are more progressive with a distinct universal and futuristic tone. It is ambient and ever-changing, showing how eclectic the synthesizer can be within one track.

“Favor from the Wind” features the acoustic guitar of Janet Noguera is another sublime track. The music creates a path to enlightenment through the vibrating strings of a guitar. The composition is acoustic divinity coming from the fingers of this talented woman. She brings you peace and joy from her soul.

“An Old Fairy Tale” by Bernward Koch features gentle piano and textures that invite you to partake in the new season ever so gently. The piano whispers like the wind that blows the leaves off the trees as they prepare for the winter. I found it to be an excellent way to close the curtain on this fantastic group of tracks while comparing and contrasting with everything that I heard preceding it.

Fall Flight
is right on time to take you through the next season with many different colors, textures, and moods, which is what every new season us about, particularly with the changing colors of the leaves. It all falls into place nicely with a good flow and constant change, which the four seasons always bring with each passing year.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 19, 2021

 Tracks:
1.Autumn – Roger Kellaway
2. The Golden Hour – Karlijn Langendijk
3. Insects – Larry Fast/Synergy
4. End of One Thing – David Baron
5. Favor from the Wind – Janet Noguera
6. An Old Fairy Tale – Bernward Koch
   

Instrumental New Age Review: Jill Haley-Wrapped In Light

Release Date: November 5, 2021

Label:  Cor Anglais

Website

Many of the recordings I have had the distinct pleasure of enjoying from Jill Haley were the series of national parks she covered. She went there and recorded, and the results were astounding.

This time the focus is on inspiration from The Book of Psalms with the recently released title Wrapped In Light. The subject matter is ancient, known worldwide in many different languages, and I would consider it spiritual in every way.

Jill gets some help from David Cullen (guitar, bass), Graham Cullen (cello), and Corin Nelsen (recording, mixing, mastering, and production). The addition of their instruments and engineering is a beautiful compliment to Jill's artistry. For those unfamiliar with her work, she plays Oboe, English Horn, Piano, and Synthesizer. With all of that talent and diversity, she could cover the gamut of a new age instrumental recording. Still, she opted to flow different personalities and energy into the music to engage with her own. The result is another stunning recording for Jill.

The artwork says a lot, and it is appropriate to match the title of the release. One look at the sun peeking out behind the clouds and the orange colors in the sky near sunset or the break of dawn is the perfect way to enter this musical journey.

The feeling of being Wrapped In Light figuratively and spiritually is the duality of life and an echo of the human condition. The sun's warmth gives us life as sentient beings and brings mother earth all of her gifts for us to enjoy. In a spiritual sense, it radiates joy, positivity, closeness to the heavens above and beyond, and at times to those things esoteric. In simple terms, the music will be most pleasing for those seeking a place of solitude, not to think and enjoy the sounds, to meditate, or listen while you are reading a good book, or for any time or occasion for that matter.

As each track played, I found an appreciation for all the instruments. The "Unfolding" of this music flowed on the "Wings of Dawn" and finally came "Wrapped in Light." The music connects to me on a visual, audio level, and track titles.
 
Of course, the guitar and bass can be important for most music we all hear, and, in this case, I felt the piano was second to the horns. The cello certainly adds another dynamic and personality of its own to the overall sound. Every instrument was essential to the eventual beginning and end of each track. All contributors made this recording a success.

Jill has stepped into another inspiration area and set it all to music in the most memorable way. Wrapped In Light is her slice of heaven delivered to all of your senses. It can be your own space and place to reach that state of mind of gratitude, love, and acceptance of your world. It can initiate thoughts and reflections of where you need to go to find your peace.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 8, 2021

Tracks:
01. Wrapped in Light
02. Clouds Rise
03. Forest Sings for Joy
04. Unfolding
05. The Mountains Rose
06. Fields Be Jubilant
07. Wings of Dawn
08. Springs Gush Forth
09. Flourishing Grass
10. Pools of Water




Progressive New Age-Ambient Review: Mars Lasar-Coastal Escape

Release Date: June 30, 2021

Label:  ‎Sound Manipulations

Website

 Mars Larsar's website states his music is predominantly electronic, and it also contains elements of jazz, pop, world, ambient, and rock. I can agree with that assessment.

Coastal Escape was released this summer. This album was my introduction to this multi-talented music man. He also has a vast discography with an array of subject matters that boggles the mind. While the piano is his main instrument of passion, he creates electronic soundscapes of absolute beauty.

Right from the beginning, with the opener "Big Sur Skies," I was captivated. The entire recording succeeds in capturing the subject matter of water in the different forms that mother earth delivers to us. Along with the purity of water, the essence of all life, the sunsets, and beaches are portrayed beautifully. With "California Dreams," I believe it has always typified songs to follow those dreams, all of the sunny beaches and the gorgeous sunsets. As you make your way through this listen, you may feel euphoria, excitement, relaxation, or all of those things in one track.

I particularly enjoyed the electric guitar in this music, which is not common in the new age genre. It is all tastefully done and placed perfectly when the artist uses it. That is the key to giving the listener some energy and creating more color in a track. I heard so much in every way; it was impressive.

"Glass Beach" for example, has the sounds of the surf and seagulls to give the sensation of being there. That is one example of many to be discovered. I love the ocean, the warmth of the sun, and all the sounds that are part of that experience. To hear it all come to life through my speakers was very comforting, and it took me there. I have not been there in a few years now and miss it terribly. I have promised myself to return next year. The music and track titles made me think of the beautiful times I spent on the beach with my loved ones. To me, the world is perfect in that scenario. The music made it easy for me to go there, which is the whole point of this music. It works!

Mar's Lasar has created and delivered something extraordinary and close to my heart. At times it takes the music to put everything into proper perspective. If you seek a pure experience that comes in the form of audio with music and sounds of nature, you are in for a journey you never shall forget. 

Coastal Escape is what it says it is. I found my true self in this music, and I am very grateful to have had the experience. The human condition weaves its way through every track's fabric, which is why it was so easy to relate to on many levels.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 6, 2021

Tracks:
01. Big Sur Skies 3:58    
02. Valley of the Giants Revisited 4:14    
03. California Dreams 3:44    
04. Carmel Midnight Shores 4:17    
05. Enchanted Forest 4:10    
06. Glass Beach 3:37    
07. Mendocino Love 4:00    
08. Sea Arch Sunset 5:01    
09. Lost Coast Trail 4:36    
10. Little River 4:26


Track Feature: Joss Jaffe and Jim “Kimo” West - Blossom

Joss Jaffe and Jim "Kimo" West combine their extraordinary talents on the track release "Blossom."The instrumentation on the track includes Indian tablas, Hawaiian percussion, African Ngoni (harp), and several custom and rare guitars.

The result of this unique combination of instruments and artistry is a gorgeous layered tapestry of color, atmosphere, and spirituality.

With musicianship beyond compare and music befitting the flower on the track cover, "Blossom" is a memorable experience that anyone who appreciates fine music would enjoy.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 27, 2021


Joss Jaffe’s music is rooted in his desire to unite people through spirit, love, joy, community and consciousness. Joss creates innovative songs that bring international artists from different cultures and languages into a nexus where new music is discovered. His music invites the audience into a space of spontaneous joy....READ MORE...

Jim Kimo West is recognized as one of the world’s top “slack key” guitarists and brings his own unique musical perspective to this great acoustic guitar tradition. He is a 2021 Grammy® Award winner for his CD, “More Guitar Stories” and a 2019 Grammy® nominee for “Moku Maluhia-Peaceful Island.
...READ MORE...

Track Review: Richard Spasoff-There At Your Side

Richard Spasoff will be "There At Your Side" while you listen. His creative talents are pretty evident with this stand-alone track release. 

While I hear jazz, there is much more going on here. The elements of a new age tenet with a deliberate pace and style are present as well.


The idea is to help you feel safe and secure as you relax or meditate on this mesmerizing track.

This innovative artist has created another recording to look within to find peace.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 25, 2021


About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Track Review: Gizella Firtha And Richard Spasoff-Menagerie

Gizella Firth and Richard Spasoff engage each other on a give and take jazz new age excursion with the piano and saxophone track "Menagerie."


The music will pull in the listener, and you then become the music with the image of the desert floating in your mind's eye. It is a step into your own private "Menagerie."

The interplay of the two artists is progressive and picturesque yet relaxing and thoughtful.


Give it one listen, and you will be hooked.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 21, 2021

About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Track Review: Richard Spasoff and Gizella Firtha-Alphabet Soup

What kind of music are you in the mood for? When you know the track's title is "Alphabet Soup," you would expect some variety.

However, that you will get, it may classify as contemporary instrumental, progressive classical, or new age with a certain flair and tasteful ambiance.

Richard Spasoff's tinkling piano and Gizella Firtha's cello (co-composers) make for some exciting and thought-provoking sounds. You decide what to call it, but above all, click play and enjoy the listen!

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 2, 2021


 

About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Featured Track: Richard Spasoff-Fantasy Forest

Richard Spasoff knows how to heal others and himself. He said, "I was constantly in a great deal of pain because of various illnesses and afflictions," he says, "but I always talked to God and felt strongly that He talked back to me. I feel blessed that God has given me so many gifts that I can use to bless others, help them through difficult times and be part of their journeys towards achieving their highest potential and purpose on this earth."

With that thought process and the well-being of others in mind, he has released recorded music to assist others in a healing process.


The track "Fantasy Forest," with an ambient potion of sax, keyboards, and the sounds of birds tweeting, is a progressive new-age jazz journey. The combination is unique and intriguing for any listener; being open to new sounds and vibrations can relax and heal.


I found it a very interesting listen with that very purpose and intent and unlike anything I have heard coming from the new age community.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck 

October, 19, 2021


About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Instrumental New Age Review: Laurence Furr-Upon The Corner of The Moon

Release Date: October 15, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

Nearly a year ago, on the eve of the Presidential election, I listened to the soothing and therapeutic music of Dr. Laurence Furr. I found solace in his Deep Peace recording.

This incredibly gifted man started playing the Celtic Harp in 2013, then three years later became a Certified Clinical Musician and a Certified Therapeutic Harp Practitioner. I have heard of people getting on the fast track up the corporate ladder, but this is entirely different. It holds much more meaning and depth than the cold, calculating business world. It is simply magical, just like the heavenly strings Laurence plays.

Upon The Corner of The Moon is his latest chapter of musical healing. I can hear, feel, and process the music much differently than last year. There are still many things going on in the world that are troublesome; however, my mindset is quite different now. We all evolve and change over time. One look at the cover art sets your mind at ease, and you know the journey you are about to take will be memorable.

When asked about his inspiration, Laurence commented: Most of this music was improvised while playing at the hospital for staff, patients, and families. While I play, people, places, and events from my past and present fill my mind, and the music comes pouring out onto the Harp...

Once you play this music you will be amazed after reading that last statement. Mostly all improvised music? That is such a gift to channel that kind of energy and then translate it to music. I cannot fathom that for one second, it is beyond my realm of existence. Words like magical, heavenly, awe-inspiring, beauty, spiritual, and many other thoughts and visions will come to you like a running stream knowing where it is going.

There are thirteen tracks on Upon The Corner of The Moon that are a beautiful tool for simply relaxing, meditation, or background music to subliminally calm and restore you. There is something extraordinary about a person that can play music so engaging and healing. The Harp is, without a doubt, in my mind, a godsend. My listening has evolved into different levels of understanding with each passing year. I have learned so much about who I am and what I need, and I know instinctively now what kind of music I need to hear to help me connect to the oneness of life on the planet.

Music is a guidepost to another lane on the highway of life you can take. Listening to the inviting tracks encompassing Upon The Corner of The Moon is like a long drive along the coast of the ocean with a warm, gentle breeze massaging your face. If this is anything like heaven, then I won’t mind going there when my time comes. The music can lead you down the right road for when you are ready to take the trip. I let Laurence Furr take the wheel on this drive.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 13, 2021
 

Tracks:
01. Upon the Corner of the Moon (4:48)
02. Jacob’s Stairway (4:25)
03. Where Angels Tread (4:01)
04. The Weight of Beauty (4:39)
05. Garner Fields (3:43)
06. Genoveva's Dance (3:46)
07. The Turquoise Door (3:25)
08. Fireflies (2:25)
09. McDermott's Pub (2:51)
10. Angels Landing (4:15)
11. She Handed Me Her Harp (2:59)
12. Green Fields if Ireland (2:13)
13. Mathew’s Heart (2:58)


Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Derek Wille-An Approaching Storm

Release Date: October 15, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website


We all need music; it's an intrinsic part of the human condition, not by coincidence. It is a direct reflection and influence on that. With that one thought alone, it encapsulates what it means to me, and it is all-inclusive. I seek sounds that move me, settle me down, enrich my spirit like nothing else on the planet. That is a tall order for sure.

Fortunately, being connected to so much of this great music is a regular event. Much of what I hear is piano-based. That may sound one-dimensional; however, that could not be further from the truth.

Derek Wille is a prolific composer and musician presenting his latest project, An Approaching Storm. The recording entails ten tracks ranging from 3:17 to 4:41 minutes in length. As you will discover upon your initial listen, the time frames are perfect for each arrangement. From my viewpoint, with music like this, I never anticipate a certain amount of time to elapse; that is irrelevant. What is important is it allows me to relax and focus on my inner spirit and put me in a better space than what I was in before I started.

All music was composed and performed by the artist with mixing by Michael Whalen and the mastering by Tom Eaton.

What I continue to have a fascination with is the versatility of the piano. Along with the complexities of each composition, it is a true mystery to me how someone can create such perfect beauty. What we hear as the listener are flowing rhythms and changing tones and colors within each track. As Derek says, "Solo piano is personal, intimate, and real..." I think that is a significant statement, and it does apply to my world and how I accept and interpret each audio work of art. Therein lies the key to the satisfaction I found in this entire recording.

I took note of the purposefulness of "Green In Blue," and my immediate thought was how the track eases into the pace. If you mix green and blue, you get blue-green, two distinct colors merging to give birth to another color. The track's speed makes you stop and think, and it worked instantly for me; others will indeed find something completely different. That is why music is so important to us all, the freedom of one's creation within the consciousness of your mind.

Speaking of rhythms, "Melody's Melody" is an excellent example of simplicity in an arrangement yet unmistakable impact one track can have. It is piano music and all its charm and ambiance on display all in under four minutes. "Cindy K." comes at a much faster pace with many elegant tinkling of the keys. It was my thought that this person must hold some significance in Derek's life. His playing is excitable yet concise and meaningful.

Those are a few examples of what you can and will experience listening to this immaculately performed and produced music. The cover art says it all, there is An Approaching Storm, and before it arrives, you can prepare the inner calm by listening.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 11, 2021

Tracks:
01. An Approaching Storm (3:17)
02. Last Kiss (3:43)
03. Persistence (3:52)
04. Cold Day (4:41)
05. Still Friends (4:21)
06. We Made It (4:06)
07. Song for Linie (4:14)
08. Green In Blue (4:12)
09. Melody’s Melody (3:39)
10. Cindy K. (3:55)


Classical-New Age Review: Lisa Swerdlow-Coming To America (EP)

Release Date: September 17, 2021

Label:  Independent

Website

The sound of music brings us many gifts. Lisa Swerdlow is an interpreter of those gifts via the piano. She has overcome obstacles that got in the way of her life and music, which includes cancer.

The music heals, and those in sync with that vibration know this to be a fact. I live it every day, listening to those healing sounds that separate me from the clutter of many thoughts and self-imposed stresses.

With the Coming To America EP and the three tracks that encompass the recording, you will hear the absolute passion and love Lisa has for her instrument of choice. Each track is over 3 minutes in length and fully orchestrated by Doug Hammer.

With classical music, you will hear the elements of new age as well. That is where new age builds a foundation then crosses over into other expansive musical territories, which has been evident from the birth of the genre. This project is a classical concerto of love and devotion to a genre. And that foundation finds a way to build a fortress of beauty and elegance. With the beliefs in a new age mindset and or practice, it all comes to life, with meaning.

The beautiful orchestrations found in each composition are the axiomatic icing on the cake. All though I thoroughly enjoyed this work of art, it was too short. I wanted to hear more, but I could always play it again. With so many nuances articulated within each composition, this kind of music would be worth every listener’s time to give it more than one spin. I think that puts everything into the proper perspective for those seeking the comfort and solace of instrumental pieces offered on this EP.

Every day brings us new perspectives on life and how we process those events. With that thought in mind, I believe music is our savior regardless of what happens. How we decide to react is our choice and listening to music is a choice as well. I choose to hear what the music is saying because it is a spiritual thing for me; I can only hope that listeners can find that same path and listen to gifted artists like Lisa Swerdlow.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 6, 202

Tracks:
1. The Arrival
2. The Crossing
3. Home of My Ancestors


Contemporary Instrumental/New Age: Stephen Peppos-Botanical

 Release Date: October 18, 2021

Label:  ‎Sonic Bear Music

Website

Botanical carries the theme of nature and all its beauty through the music. Based on my experience with Stephen’s music, I expect to find intrigue everywhere throughout my listen. I am glad to report that is what happened.


“Sun Dancer” and the title track “Botanical” were the peak of this musical evolution for my ears. The different sounds, rhythms, and various instrumentations merge into a burst of color and light. With that thought and perception, you can see how the connection to nature and its bounty aligns with this expressive music that brings different shades, colors, and light to you aurally.

This magnificent artistry found through the eleven tracks on this recording offers individual listeners their soundscape to create images that come to mind, hopefully, those suggested through the track titles.

What you will enjoy on Botanical is an eclectic musical diversion that will enrich your soul. From contemporary instrumental, world, and all built from a new age perspective, Stephen Peppos invites you into his magical musical garden of delights. He brings you “Sunshine” to enlighten you and nurture and uplift your spirit. And that track, in particular, has a world flavored ambiance injected with vocals from another country would be Africa. That kind of ability and worldly diversity keeps it all fresh and inviting from start to finish.

I noted all of the fantastic rhythms and bass that run like a tapestry intrinsic to every track. A giant cross-section of listeners will enjoy music like this, and it knows no boundaries, only those that are self-inflicted by a listener. You can find a true sense of joy and hope on Botanical with an open mind and heart. I certainly did, and with an immense amount of respect for its creator.

Stephen Peppos knows how to create exciting music. It is hard to define but delightful to listen from track to track.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 1, 2021

Tracks:
01. MORNING  5:17     
02. ABOVE THE TREES  5:01       
03. DANCING DAHLIAS  5:39    
04. SUN  DANCER   6:38     
05. BOTANICAL  5:41       
06. PEPPERMINT  GARDEN  5:15   
07. SUNSHINE  5:03     
08. JOY IN THE SUMMER  4:56    
09. NOCTURNAL  4:11   
10. THE  FLOWERS  WILL  BLOOM  EARLY  THIS  YEAR  5:36
11. HOPE A NEW  5:57