March 15, 2019

New Age Instrumental Review: John Otott-Unspoken

Release Date: March 1, 2019
Label: Independent

Colors was my introduction to John Otott in 2014. So, 4 plus years have flown by since I had the pleasure of hearing the rhythm of this man’s soul via the ivory keys. Now we have Unspoken.

Sometimes words are not necessary and, in this case, it definitely applies to the music of John Otott. Unspoken is a collection of nine tracks that were recorded at Will Ackerman’s Imaginary Road Studios. You know if that happens you get an all-star cast contributing to your album.

The piano is the core instrument that drives the music and all the other instruments add a certain tasteful ambiance. The violin can be a prolific piece when added to the piano. “Meraki” is a great example of that marriage and how wonderful it can be. It is quite simply, sublime.  
 
My favorite track is “Unbreakable.” The mixture of John’s piano, the violin, fluegelhorn, trumpet, bass, and percussion simmers then an overflow with magic and pure musical emotion engages you further. Who needs vocals when instrumental music can be so prolific and moving? Not an artist as talented as John and his accompaniment that is for certain.

For my ears, the mark of a great recording is how fast it goes by while I am enjoying every second. In the end, I am disappointed that it had to stop. That is a good sign as far as I am concerned, and it means I will be spinning it again real soon.

Unspoken is an excellent recording that creates a wall of sound that will grace your body, mind, and soul. The compositions are strong a quite diverse making this a very attention-getting listen. It will help you to relax, smile inside and then the weight of your world will just melt away. That is the perfect scenario for any hard-working man or woman at the end of the day, it is the Unspoken that says it all.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 15, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
1. A Beautiful Night
2. Sunrise In Avalon
3. The Dance
4. Pieces of Eight
5. Soliloquy
6. Unbreakable
7. Emerald Bay
8. As Now, As Then
9. Meraki

 

March 5, 2019

New Age World Review: Larisa Stow & Shakti Tribe-There Is A Light That Will Remain

Release Date: March 12, 2019
Label: Prema Shakti Music

This is my introduction to Larisa Stow & Shakti Tribe. After a seven-year wait, we have There Is A Light That Will Remain. I am not familiar with the back catalog of this artist but judging from this album, it is likely I would enjoy exploring it. 

This may be one of the few new age albums I have ever heard that rocks. It is very rare but it does happen on occasion. It is not an album for rockers though, the term in this light has an entirely different meaning. Let me say it is unique and nothing like I have ever heard before. When you listen to “Maha Mantra” you will come to understand what I am trying to say.

Larisa Stow has a very powerful voice, one that would be well suited for a rock band actually. But I do not want to misguide all the readers, this is definitely a new age world recording that is very spiritual and uplifting. It is actually what I love about music and a recording in the new age genre. There is an entire list of all the positives I could go through.

There are many tracks that stood out. “Aham Prema” is a highly energetic and colorful track that typifies what you will hear on this album. The track that just lifted me right out my chair was “There Is A Field,” which is the poetry of Rumi. It is like hearing all the best of the new age, world and rock weaved into one track.

I know it is early in the year but There Is A Light That Will Remain is one of the most exciting releases I have heard this year and honestly, do not expect to hear anything like it again. It is that unique and exceptional. A recording like this I would hesitate to put into any category per se, it is like they create their own genre, which is quite impressive.

Fair warning, you will have waves of complete joy and satisfaction while listening to There Is A Light That Will Remain. Not only will the light remain, but the music will also leave an indelible mark upon your soul. I do think that is the intention of the artist, it is about being whole, spiritual and evolving into the being you were meant to be. We all cannot do that without being true to ourselves, pure and spiritual in our hearts. This music is a guiding tool to help you get there or enhance where you are or where you are going. If that makes any sense to those of you on any kind of spiritual journey, then great, I have made my point.

I can imagine there are several tracks that would be a great kick off songs on playlists and radios shows around the world. If you have a beating heart and a soul you will love There Is A Light That Will Remain.

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 5, 2019

Founder of:
TheFinalonVinyl

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews
 
Tracks:
 
01. Ong Namo Guru Dev
02. Aham Prema
03. Broken Temple
04. There Is A Field
05. Interlude: Longing For Light
06. Adonai
07. Jeanie’s Song (I Am Everything)
08. Maha Mantra
09. Waves Of Yemaya
10. Soliloquy Of R.H.


February 28, 2019

Acoustic Instrumental Guitar Review: Shambhu-Lilac Skies

Release Date: April 12, 2019
Label: Acoustic Shine

Shambhu is a word that has many different meanings. In this case, we have to lean towards the spiritual essence of things. This Shambhu is a musician that creates some incredibly good music.

On April 12, 2019, he will release Lilac Skies. The title also holds meaning for the artist, which is infinite love. One look at the cover and you can feel the warmth, beauty, and the lovely smell of that flower when it blooms. It actually has always been one of my favorites, especially the purple ones!

You can call this music new age if you like but for me, it is much too eclectic to put it into just one category. Lilac Skies is acoustic six-string bliss and much more. All the music was composed, arranged and produced by Shambhu. This is a credit to his multitude of talents. And the final touch, mastered by Tom Eaton at Imaginary Road Studios. That is the icing on the proverbial new age cake.

You will hear new age, yes, but also some jazz and blues. “Open Your Heart Sky” was one of my favorites. It has many different elements and instruments intersecting to give it that “Quiet Storm” jazz vibe. “Inspired by The Night” has a similar feel to it with a great backbeat and rhythm and some nice electric guitar lines followed by a beautiful keyboard section, then if that wasn’t enough some excellent bass (think Jaco). The total run is 7:35 of excellence and every second is used with purpose. I think that is one crossover jazz track they will be streaming everywhere.

Honestly, I loved this entire recording. Lilac Skies offered everything I enjoy in one nice package, seriously good musicianship, some cool jazz, blues, and just enough new age for a kick back and relaxing time, with a definitive groove though. So, get ready for a special treat when you spin this one, it was a complete joy to listen to and it will be again 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 28, 2019

Founder of:
TheFinalonVinyl

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Lilac Skies
02. Unspoken Words
03. Blue Whispers
04. Dochas
05. Pondering When
06. Open Your Heart Sky
07. Dream Walk
08. Basis of It All
09. Inspired by the Night
10. Seeing You Again




February 24, 2019

New Age Word Instrumental Review:Scott August-Beyond Summer

Release Date: March 18, 2019
Label: Cedar Mesa Music

Add caption
Beyond Summer is the seventh proper album for Scott August. This is my introduction album, so it is always exciting to discover another artist. That is the status quo for any true music lover.

For the astute listener, there is so much more to the music than popping a CD in your stereo and hitting play. For my ears, it is all-encompassing. I take the artwork of the album cover into account, the track titles, and then put that all together to see what the artist is trying to convey to the audience.

We are seeking what is Beyond Summer through Scott’s Native American flute. On the cover, you see the reflection of a butte (taken from the French word meaning small hill) in pools of water. If you flip over the CD there is the butte in all its colorful magnificence. The label name of the recording has mesa in it, which is a reference to another landform. So, what does one get from all this? What I glean from all the visuals, words and mainly, music, is that everything is interconnected. In the eleven tracks offered on the recording, all of the colors and journeys of the music take you to these landscapes. The beauty of what Arizona can offer us will come to the mind quickly, especially if you have been there, which I have.

The Native American flute has a mystical alluring sound to it.  What Scott does is take his baseline of flute playing an add many layers of other instruments to complete each track. He is responsible for all the instrumentation on Beyond Summer including composing and producing. This is one man show, which makes it all that more remarkable after listening. Guitars, piano, synths, everything that intermingles with the flute, is finalized within each track. It takes a true artist to paint the right picture, and Scott uses broad brush strokes on his canvas.

One track seamlessly blends into the next as the journey continues. The only disappointment you will have is that it comes to an end. I could appreciate all the work and exceptional talent that went into Beyond Summer and how it brought to light so many things about the beauty of mother earth and how we are one with her and need to respect that partnership. There are many things that are going on now that are disturbing the ecosystems and how its delicate balancing is getting out of sync. 

Music such as this is healing and makes you more aware of what you are truly feeling and how your surroundings are so precious. The ultimate healer is music and mankind should listen to these musicians delivering a powerful message without uttering a word.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 24, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

    Tracks:     
    01. Spirit of the Canyon
    02. Empty Highways
    03. High Desert Dreams
    04. Beyond Summer
    05. A Day with You
    06. Buffalo Dance
    07. Chaco Mystery
    08. Valley of Gold
    09. Journey to Kashgar
    10. Temple at Dawn
    11. Shadow of Time

February 8, 2019

New Age-World Review: Grayhawk-Voice of the Ancestors

Release Date: February 1, 2019
Label: Deep Space Music

Grayhawk (David Gibney) recently released Voice of the Ancestors, the third and final album in a Shamanic Trilogy.

He is a man that has been healing from the tragedy of losing his toddler son. He has transitioned from that pain and loss and transformed his life with more purpose to help those that have special needs. Also created is a foundation in honor of his son to help those with neuroblastoma, a catastrophic pediatric cancer of the sympathetic nervous system that took his life.

Obviously, his music holds many meanings but the primary goal is to ascend to a higher place, heal the soul, and in essence become reborn with new life and purpose.

Voice of the Ancestors features the usual lineup of stars from the New Age genre that find their way on to most of the releases I have the honor of hearing. Grayhawk plays the synthesizers as a base instrument then there is so much more that contributes to the overall sound and textures of this release. To say it is World music is correct but with a New Age concept and approach. The ancients held many traditions and ceremonies all over the world. What this recording captures is the very spirit and color of that diversity and beauty.

There are native flutes, worldbeat percussions, viola, ambient guitar lines, and gorgeous vocalizations, particularly on “Peace Prayer.” The track runs over 10 minutes and takes 160 tracks of invocation of English, Hebrew, Farsi, and Arabic. There is also the shorter version, a little over 5 minutes for the internet streaming stations to play. Honestly, I have heard similar tracks but nothing like this before. The blend of all the languages balances with the English word, which is still heard so you can listen to the translations at the same time, amazing. This is the kind of track that deserves worldwide attention and should be heard on every inch of the globe. 

Grayhawk has created a work of genius that encompasses music, words and a powerful spiritual message. This is a brilliant example of a man taking his personal tragedy and using it to give back to the universe his love and healing. I can hear this playing in the background of a cinematic tribute to the different peoples of the world and how they worship and provide music for their people. 

Voice of the Ancestors is an incredible gift for all to enjoy. Listen closely, you may hear the whispers of your own ancestors in this music.

February 8, 2019
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. Transcendent Soul 3:12
2. The Banteay Srei Temple 4:57
3. Guardians of Goddess Thien Hau 6:08
4. Voice of the Ancestors 8:40
5. Peace Prayer A’ Cappella 1:50
6. Peace Prayer 10:11
7. Ambient Meditation 8:08
8. Peace Prayer (short version) 5:06



February 2, 2019

New Age Meditation-World Review: Paradiso & Rasamayi-Agape Evolution: The Movement

Release Date: January 18, 2019
Label: 5th Element

The didgeridoo is a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia. It is an ancient instrument still in use today. The drone sound that it makes is mesmerizing and used very effectively in meditation and for various musical projects not intended for that specific use.
Paradiso & Rasamayi are a couple that have combined their talents on several new age albums. Agape Evolution: The Movement is their most recent release.

The goal of this dynamic and talented couple is to create healing frequencies to cleanse the soul. That is a tall order indeed however the power of music cannot be underestimated. This is a fifteen track two-disc limited edition digipak tri-fold work of art. What you have the opportunity to embrace are some amazing sounds on Agape Evolution: The Movement.

The use of the didgeridoos, keyboards, singing bowls and voice work is a beautiful, colorful and earthy combination. It will delight new age and world music fans and those seeking a path to meditation.

The drone of the digeridoos is a steady focal point for those pursuing meditation while listening. Outside of that realm, if you are seeking quite relaxation time to clear your mind, this music can get you there.

Everything that is blended into that one foundation instrument just adds to the layers and textures that are created over the two discs. Within each track you will hear an amazing blend of instrumentals and voice. I found it all very relaxing and healing. That is the goal of Paradiso & Rasamayi, to show listeners there is an outlet for healing, a positive exercise of sounds, vibrations, tones and frequencies (all keyboards are tuned to 432hz) to realign the chakras. The end result is you become a better you, and an example for others to follow.

Agape Evolution: The Movement is a must have companion for meditation and relaxation that should not be missed. There is enough music and vibrations here to last for a good hour or if you want less you can play one disc. Either way you are making the right choice and receiving the full benefit of the art presented on this set.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 2, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

CD1:

01. Clearing Vortex
02. Goddess Fire
03. Archangel Intercession
04. Agape’s Call
05. Love's Visioning
06. Shadow Illumination
07. Integrating Divine
08. Transcending Time
09. Entering Aum


CD 2:


10. Ancestors' Embrace
11. Sowing Starseeds
12. Birthing the Eternal
13. Sacred Heart Soaring
14. Beyond Attachment
15. Global Aum

 

January 12, 2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Faith Angelina-Notes From Zion

Release Date: January 3, 2019
Label: Independent

I had my first introduction to Faith Angelina in 2017. I was provided the opportunity to listen and cover her Reaching12 recording. And yes, that was an indication of her age at the time!

Incredible as that sounds, this young lady is light years beyond other kids her age in maturity as an individual and musician. At the turn of the new year, she has returned with another instrumental piano album titled Notes From Zion. I looked forward to this being instrumental bliss just like the first album, and it was.

Faith is her name and for good reason. She exemplifies what a young lady should be if there was a belief in God, a higher power, and the words of the Bible. Zion was the home of Enoch in the Bible. If you look at the CD cover you can see the beautiful city in the heavens. 

Faith is very advanced spiritually and musically; her music is definitely a gift from heaven. I have no doubt someone like Faith was put her on this earth not to just entertain with music, but to teach with it. She is the master of her instrument the piano, and the listeners are her students. She has to be an old soul, that is all I can say in regards to all of those thoughts and feelings I have about this incredible artist.

I decided to include all of the verbiages that Faith decided to write about each individual track. These are her personal Notes From Zion, in the written form. What you hear her playing on the 12 piano instrumental tracks included on the CD, is in sync with her thought process, faith, beliefs, and distinctive musical ability. All of this is one cohesive presentation. What you witness is a teenager and her instrument sending out a message to the world. If you read the words that go with the tracks it becomes even more powerful, meaningful and clear. An active listener will catch on to all of this very quickly.

The music that is created on Notes From Zion is a threefold process made up of musical notes, words of wisdom, and a spiritual journey to those open to stepping through that portal. It is door waiting to be opened. It all worked so very well for me, it clicked in a short time span. I hope everyone that listens to this project is able to see the light shining through. What an amazing gift to share with the world.

Top of the Mountains - Throughout the scriptures, God has spoken to prophets from the top of the mountains. Whenever I look at the majestic mountains around my home, I think about God looking down on me and wonder how I am measuring up.

Notes From Zion – I try to write music that invites the spirit so that it is easy to meditate and escape from my troubles. In this song, I hear the inspiration from heaven.

Baby Faith – When I was little, everyone called me Baby Faith. It is kind of how Faith works for everyone. Just like I have been growing and maturing, our Faith grows and matures as well if we work at it.

Kolob Canyon – Kolob Canyon is part of Zion’s National Park and named after where God dwells. Sometimes I long to feel closer to God.

Snow Canyon – Snow Canyon is a beautiful state park in St. George Utah that my family loves to go hiking in. The red rocks are inspirational and memorable. The music almost writes its self.

The Living Planet – Sometimes I just pause and sit in amazement at the beauty of this earth and the variety of life around me.

Ensign Peak - This is a mountain peak overlooking the Salt Lake valley where I live. I love hiking to mountain peaks to get a change of perspective on the world I live in. I believe it is only through constantly looking at life through different lenses and perspectives that we truly grow.

Flowing Waters – There is nothing sweeter than the peaceful feeling that comes from an answer to a prayer. We wait patiently for answers and when they come it is like flowing waters of revelation.

The Narrows – The Narrows is a famous hike in Zion’s national park through slot canyons. The majestic views of the stone walls surrounding you create a mixture of thoughts and emotions.

Finding Your Why – Having a purpose and knowing myself is the key to happiness. Throughout this last year, I have found what I believe to be one of my callings in life.

Angels Landing – One of the most famous places in Zion’s is Angels Landing. My dad and brother hiked up there and back while filming. I am afraid of heights and don’t think I can manage this one by myself because of the huge cliff drops. I tried to capture their experience and set music to the video.

This is the Place - There is nothing quite like the feeling of coming home. This is a song about finding a place of peace within and knowing that I am on the right track with my life.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 12, 2019
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tracks:
 
01. Top of the Mountains
02. Notes from Zion
03. Baby Faith
04. Kolob Canyon
05. Snow Canyon
06. The Living Planet
07. Ensign Peak
08. Flowing Waters
09. The Narrows
10. Finding Your Why
11. Angels Landing
12. This Is the Place