November 18, 2019

New Age-World Fusion Review: Paul Adams & Elizabeth Geyer-Deeper Imaginings

Release Date: November 15, 2019
Label: Independent
Website: https://pauladams.org/  http://www.elizabethgeyer.com/

Paul Adams and Elizabeth have combined their talents once again to release Deeper Imaginings.  In 2015 the incarnation of this meeting came out titled Imaginings.

Every recording artist intends to reach their audience in some way. Dependent on the genre it can be for various reasons. When it comes to any kind of new age music, I have the opportunity to hear, there is one main focus, to bring a sense of comfort and healing to their prospective audience.

These very talented musicians that I like to refer to as artisans, decided to create something with a little bit of everything in it to make it a very interesting journey. I think it takes the soul of a multi-talented artist to create a project like Deeper Imaginings. In this case, it took several individual's contributions to make this project work. This amazing combination of new age, jazz, and world, is ultimately a satisfying fusion of all three genres. This is where the deeper reference comes in, it started as imaginings and now it is much deeper and reflective.

“The Unfolding” is a rich blend of genres with a calming fluidness to give it that meditative atmosphere of healing and an aura of energy. It has a far east flavor to it which puts a smile in my heart. I added it to my NAMR Spotify Playlist where it should be, alongside all the other great tracks by an artist in the same community that I want to create awareness of.

“Hope For The Game” has an interesting spoken word addition to go along with the music, yet another “deeper” dive into what can be our imaginings as sentient beings visiting this planet. We are just visitors for our lifetime and the planet will remain, at least we have that hope. We have the hope of a “New Morning” while we inhabit mother earth, that will live to see its beauty for another day. This is my interpretation however I do believe the recording artists would like to know that all those tracks are felt positively by each listener. I don’t think that will be a problem with this recording.

The combination of instruments is quite fascinating and different than your typical new age release because of the jazz element injected by Elizabeth Geyer’s Flugelhorn. Then her piano also helps that taste of jazz and in retrospect gives each track an entirely different musical window to look through. But then again, every instrument that is included adds another dimension, layer, and or texture making it all a very unique and symbol of the diversity of talent afforded a listener throughout the run of the eleven tracks.

Paul brings a lot to the table as well with a guitar, sitar, Chinese halusi, percussion, oud, synth, and dobro. This is where the world sound comes in and adds the spice and variety to each composition. All the elements come together for an amazing final partnership within each track. The “Endless Horizon” of sound and color will keep each listener enchanted from beginning to end. I find music with this much diversity to have the word “world” in it for one reason, we are one world and one people having the desire to live and love. This is one reminder of that goal.

The Players Are:
Paul Adams: Guitar, sitar, chinese halusi, percussion, oud, synth, dobro
Elizabeth Geyer: Piano, flugelhorn, vocals
Pravin Godkhindi: Bansuri flute
David Hoffman: Trumpet
Gary Green: Guitar
Alp Akmaz: Balaban (Duduk)

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 16, 2019

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews
 

Tracks:
01. Endless Horizon
02. The Unfolding
03. Acceptance
04. New Morning
05. Essence & Flow
06. Allowing
07. Still Meadows
08. Awakening
09. All That I Am  
10. Evening
11. Hope For The Game




November 16, 2019

New Age Artists Paul Adams & Elizabeth Geyer To Release DEEPER IMAGININGS on November 15, 2019


DEEPER IMAGININGS by Paul Adams & Elizabeth Geyer is a follow up to 2015's IMAGININGS 

Bringing together some of the worlds most accomplished musicians, DEEPER IMAGININGS by Paul Adams and Elizabeth Geyer is a follow up to 2015's IMAGININGS which debuted #1 on the iTunes new age chart and was the Zone Music Reporter's best Contemporary Instrumental Album of the year. It was a journey of happenstance, whimsy and the joy of sharing music and love between cultures. Elizabeth came all the way from Australia. Pravin Godkhindi played bansuri flute in India. Alp Akmaz who played the balaban (similar to duduk) is from Turkey. Former trumpet soloist and arranger David Hoffman is based in Illinois, and Gary Green of the legendary UK band Gentle Giant added gentle guitar.

Adams, with over 102 million streams on Pandora has shown that walking the road less traveled can work. “We all love to create much like a painter. The choice of color and hue is from the artist's whim and is independent from corporate dictate. I was thrilled to be able to use some of the instruments I built in my earlier years as a luthier. Guitars, dulcimer and electric sitar was blended with the natural genius of Elizabeth Geyer's piano, flugelhorn and voice, used in a textural and ambient way. Her ear is stunning and her musical intuition and training in jazz blended well with my rather improvised gentle folk approach, as well as training in ethnomusicology”

For Adams and Geyer, meeting Pravin Godkhindi on YouTube and Alp Akmaz on Instagram seems appropriate given today’s ease of technology. The fact that the musical co-operation was so natural shows what a tool it is to embrace and grow as the world shrinks around us. Adams comments that “there was an intuitive vibe in connecting with these musicians. A lot of freedom was encouraged. We had faith that each knew the best way to fill their role, and they really did.”  

DEEPER IMAGININGS can be found on the web and all digital sites like iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp, CD Baby, Spotify and Pandora



To purchase:
BANDCAMP https://pauladams.bandcamp.com/album/deeper-imaginings
Apple Music https://music.apple.com/us/album/deeper-imaginings/1485285377
Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Deeper-Imaginings-Adams-Elizabeth-Geyer/dp/B07ZPFN6TW
CD Baby https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/pauladams20
Spotify https://open.spotify.com/album/4Mg8vqlYLOadYJVgNpBGbw

For more information, promo copies and interview requests contact:
Paul Adams at Paul@pauladams.org. PH: 1-309-688-0267
www.pauladams.org  / www.elizabethgeyer.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

November 13, 2019

Contemporary-Classical Instrumental Review: Dulce Joya-Devotion

Release Date: October 11, 2019
Label: housemaster records

It has been over two years since I have the wondrous and beautiful piano playing of Dulce Joya. My first journey with this amazing soloist was Reality of Dreams.

Now the curtain opens again for Dulce on Devotion, a collection of 10 instrumental and epic piano compositions for those with an ear for a classical, new age, ambient, or just a good music without words type of listen.

Once again, I find myself mesmerized by this music. The tracks comprise the entire scale of human emotion and everything else in between. What Dulce creates is a soundtrack that could fit into so many lives and film scores for that matter. I heard the excitement, sadness, the rolling of the ocean's tide as it hits the shore, sunshine, rain, well let’s just say her range is amazing. And to cover all of this within one recording to affect one listener in this manner is an implausible achievement. It takes a lot to get my attention after 21 years of covering music from around the world. It has to be quite exceptional for me to dive in and be able to flow with the music and let my words develop and flow as I listen.

Dulce’s passion and technical expertise with the ivory keys are exceptional and all 10 tracks can offer a demanding listener enough to hold their attention from start to finish. The classical influence is strong in her presentation however she does allow the discipline some breathing room so she goes into different directions and moods within one song. To articulate it as improvisation is almost a stretch because it is organized and so perfected. I am not sure how to explain it beyond that. I think that many listeners would consider it a new age classical as well. Essentially all you have to do is let it be whatever it is for you the individual. I think that is the most important factor for anyone’s listening experience.

I can tell potential listeners that this is beautiful music to be enjoyed anytime or anywhere. It is more than background music though, it absorbs you, relaxes you and empty’s your mind to make room for all the positive things in life. It is not happy time music, it is more of a time to reflect, focus and just let the sounds, emotions, and changes of the tempos guide you. It can take you away from the stresses of life we all experience for a while. For this listener, that is the absolute best kind of listen to take in.

Dulce is streaming one track from the album currently title “Yes It Is You,” which I have included here and on my New Age Music Reviews Spotify Playlist.

When I hear artistry like this on display, I wish that I could manipulate an instrument and create such beauty. But for now, my music is my words and I hope it captures your imagination like this music just did for me.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 12, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 

01. Passione Nocturnale
02. Yes It Is You  
03. The Sound of Your Voice
04. Eternal Love
05. Forgotten Worlds
06. Oceanally Hearts
07. My Untamed Soul in Yours
08. The Endless Feelings of Mine
09. From Ancient Time We Meet Again

10. Mystery Among Candles



November 8, 2019

Contemporary Instrumental – New Age Review: Gina Lenee-Revealed

Release Date: November 2, 2019
Label: Independent

Gina Lenee’s recent release Revealed is a collection of eleven contemporary instrumental tracks. The new age in her music are the messages inside the CD sleeve. The words of inspiration and self-validation are a significant part of what she offers a listener.
 
Gina Lenee’s recent release Revealed is a collection of eleven contemporary instrumental tracks. The new age in her music is the messages inside the CD sleeve. The words of inspiration and self-validation are a significant part of what she offers a listener.

You do not have to be a fan of this type of music to get something of value from it if you are then that is the cherry on top of the ice cream. I enjoy this type of music immensely and sometimes wonder if I will run out of words to say with the instrumental albums, but alas, I am inspired, energized, and cleansed emotionally and spiritually with this music.

Your true self will be Revealed if you allow this recording to settle into your consciousness and permeate your very being. It goes deep but we all do when it comes to our feelings, beliefs, and how we feel about ourselves. So, the idea here is to empower you to be true to yourself, listen to the music, relax and become one with the textures, colors, and vibrations of all these beautiful tracks. The artistry of the sounds can be a blank canvas that you can paint for yourself.

The extraordinary team at Imaginary Road Studios with Will Ackerman (acoustic guitar), Tom Eaton (electric bass), Charlie Bisharat (violin), Eugene Friesen (cello), Jeff Haynes (percussion), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn) and Premik Russell Tubbs (electric wind synthesizer, soprano sax), help Gina create a masterpiece of instrumental bliss and wonderment. The quality of the tracks from a production standpoint is outstanding and it goes without saying how on point all of the musicians are. Gina’s piano is the core from which everything grows and melds into one amazing track after another.

Once “On The Wings of Love” (added to my Spotify Playlist) started I found immediate recognition from the past. Jeffrey Osborne’s 1982 hit was hard to forget and so is the melody. It was nice to hear that song at the mid-way point of this album. I normally do not hear any covers on these types of releases but it was a welcome addition and a nice transition. Right after that the main focus and sound of the album returns, which is important to maintain that consistency and stay with the original thoughts and meanings.

I will end with this quote from Tom Eaton that says it all! He not only played bass but was the co-producer with Will Ackerman and the engineer for the recording.

“An emotional masterpiece. Each song dives deeply into its own world fully showing the range and passion of a unique artist.” 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 6, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Undeniable
02. Finding Me Again
03. I Want to Get Closer
04. Over
05. Run Away with Me
06. On the Wings of Love
07. Revealed
08. Even If I Have to Stand Alone
09. Are You Still Dancing with Shadows
10. Between What's Lost and Found
11. To My Younger Self

 

November 4, 2019

Neo-Classical/New Age Review: Sharon Fendrich-Red Sky Prairie

Release Date: August 1, 2019
Label: Independent

Red Sky Prairie is the debut album of Sharon Fendrich. It is a mixture of gorgeous new-age inspired neo-classical instrumentals and influences of the opera that the artist witnessed growing up at live presentations. She has been a student of music since the age of 3. There are not too many people in this world that can say that. The strong influence of family brought Sharon to this point in life to bring listeners her first recording.

Red Sky Prairie carries with it a message of the calm after the storm. The picture you see on the cover is an example of the beauty of transformation and strength of mother nature. And how the nature of our human spirit grows, learns, and rises above the storms of life and comes out the other side stronger and ready to face whatever comes our way. Hopefully, this process is a learning experience for every listener. 

The meaning of this album is just as important as the music, it is one entity reaching out like the branches of a tree growing higher towards the sun. While this is happening, the roots grow deeper and give the tree the anchors in the ground to remain with us for many years. Note the one tree standing in the picture fully intact after the storm. The image provides insight and a clear message to those that are receptive to it.

This is what the entire experience will do, it will continue to grow and establish its roots in your psyche and soul. Most trees and music for that matter will outlive us all and their permanence and importance go beyond words and our understanding. The music can interpret the oneness mankind should feel with the nature that sustains us. Red Sky Prairie serves as a reminder of that one prolific meaning in all our lives. 

The core of the music is the piano. Sharon lays down the foundation with exceptional passion and grace. Her piano gives the other instruments in the mix an opportunity to join in seamlessly. Like the flow of water from a stream to the ocean, it is natural and effortless. The violin, flutes, cello and the voice of Anna Emelyanova in some of the tracks allow for a very cinematic reach. The classical roots remain intact and the new age flavor will give it an ambiance and texture that allows for a crossover appeal to several audiences that would find a deep appreciation for what is being presented in the eleven tracks.

I chose “Within Whispers” to add to my New Age Music Reviews Spotify Playlist for its simplicity and stunning beauty. It was like walking on a cloud in my mind’s eye. The track draws you in immediately and provides that deep breath and subsequent exhale of relief and comfort. This is what music such as this can provide to a listener. That is but one example of many that you will enjoy on Red Sky Prairie.

For a debut, I do not think it could be any better. If this was a veteran artist releasing their second, third, or fourth release, it would be praised as a major accomplishment. I think that says it all.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 2, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. L'dor Vador
02. A Secret's Song
03. Within Whispers
04. Red Sky Prairie
05. Song of the Dove
06. Never Alone
07. Moonswept
08. Bittersweet Memory
09. Last Tears  
10. In Memoriam
11. That September Day

October 30, 2019

New Age Meditation Review: Joss Jaffe-Meditation Music

Release Date: October 4, 2019
Label: Be Why Music


The art of meditation goes back for thousands of years. So, what can the modern-day human do to alleviate stress, get centered and refocused on all the important things? Yes, some sort of discipline or meditation that has been proven to work successfully for many people, that is how.

Coming from my perspective, I have heard hundreds of recordings that can be considered and or used for meditation. When one looks at the most recent release from Joss Jaffe, titled quite simple and direct, Meditation Music, that covers an expansive area.

Soothing sounds of nature like waves or birds tweeting are commonalities in this type of musical mixture. There is something about connecting with mother nature that grounds us all, its automatic, and it happens quickly and makes you feel good. I think most folks would agree with that assessment.
What makes the seven tracks on Meditation Music different and special? What sets it apart from all the others available? What I read on the back of the CD cover was telling. The use of proven scientific methods, music and sound waves, can be a very unique and effective combination. Joss proves that to be true on the seven tracks on this CD. The intent is to enhance your life and tap into your spirit to relax the physical states of delta and theta that can be reached by stimulating the brain with sound waves. The technology such as binaural beats (track 4 ”Deep Theta”) and isochronic tones (tracks 1 “Deep Delta and 6 “Aura Massage”) makes fine use of the modern research developed over the years.

I decided to choose “Temple Clouds” to add to my New Age Music Reviews Spotify Playlist. It is a perfect example of having enough time for this kind of exercise to take hold. It lasts for 10:20 minutes and it is very effective. This is coming from not as just the music listener or reviewer of the music, but as a potential student of this type of practice.

Where science meets music and nature and they all converge to formulate medicine for the mind and body is what Meditation Music accomplishes. There are no pills, miracle ointments, mental or physical exercises to excite the adrenalin glands, just pure sound with the right mix of nature, tones, and music. All of it becomes one as you enter the state of being that brings renewal and peace. Who in their right mind would not want that? Or those not in their right mind that need healing and recovery can use this as well. All of us have our moments of panic, distress, or clouded thinking, and at times need a helping hand to refocus.

We are led down different paths in life and have so many doors to open and close. You can trust me when I say that you need to open the door that Joss Jaffe presents with Meditation Music.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 28, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 
1. Deep Delta (432)
2. Dream State
3. Temple Clouds
4. Deep Theta (432)
5. Morning Sun Drops
6. Aura Massage  
7. Zen Forest

 
 

October 26, 2019

Classical/New Age Instrumental Review: Gabriele Saro-SensationS

Release Date: October 9, 2019
Label: Independent

Gabriele Saro gets across the meaning of his recent release SensationS with a cover that says it all. I cannot say that I have seen a more sensual cover come across my desk in the classical-new age genre. It threw me off at first glance and created a different impression in my mind, which of course, was totally off base.

The music compositions and violin are provided by Gabriele, Andrea Del Piccolo is on piano and Francesco Pinosa rounds out the bottom end with his cello. It is a very effective and poignant trio that delivers the vastness in musical compositions and execution throughout the fifteen tracks. The tradition and discipline of classical music is on display in all its glory on this release.

The maestro on the violin is amazing. Some of the sounds Gabriele coaxes from that instrument sound as if two people are playing not just one. It is very different from what I have been accustomed to on instrumental albums like this.

What you will experience are all kinds of SensationS consistently. I must say that this group of tracks was aptly titled by the creator. And not to mention of course the perfect title for the album. It all comes together for you the listener when looking at all aspects offered on this broad selection of songs. As it mentions in the liner notes of the CD, this is “to reach states of deeper harmony with our ego, through the harmony that only its vibrations can give.” Yes, the harmony of the music and the vibrations of those sounds can sync with your heartbeat, your thought process will hopefully translate with ringing truth in your soul. For my senses that is what I look to discover in instrumental music of this nature.

Every track can bring moments of beauty, perfection, the silence of your emotions, and ultimately the focus you seek arrives through that process. Everything in life is about the process, through our minds, hearts and innermost beliefs. The only thing that heals as it does, is music. It comes with no orders from your doctor and it’s not a prescription to fix you. This is the purity of the heart translated through gifted musicians.

SensationS is everything it can be and everything you desire it to be. The giving of the music and the elegance of the classical foundation, with a new age flair, is the perfect marriage for the creators and all listeners ready to embrace it. What more can one ask for from a shiny metallic disc producing all of this sound? It is just what you need at any time during the day or evening to breath in and feels the gratitude of the wonderful artists that give us this gift of music.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 26, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 
01. Morrow
02. Stilness
03. Bliss
04. Merriment
05. Enchantment
06. Contrasts
07. Regrets
08. Accord
09. Torments
10. Chills
11. Nostalgia
12. Gracefulness
13. Delicacy
14. Liberty
15. Serenity