Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Orchestra Indigo-Farewell To Memories

Release Date: September 9, 2022

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

Rick Randlett is a blues artist with five albums in circulation. Orchestra Indigo is a separate project he created playing synthesizers and piano. His new journey began when COVID shut the world down, and he began exploring ambient new-age music. Farewell To Memories is the result of his studies and creations. When you look at the captivating view provided by the cover art, it is very suggestive. Are you ready to walk down that dock and jump in to see what will happen? I was prepared to go and take a swim through this music.

Just for a point of reference, the name of this project you may find has some interesting cross references. Indigo children, according to a pseudoscientific New Age concept, are children who are believed to possess unique, unusual, and sometimes supernatural traits or abilities. So, this music is the orchestra's child since it is the first release of this type of music. And, it certainly does have some magic and special abilities to change your feelings, brain waves, and well-being.

Farewell to Memories reflects on growing up in New England, with the title track and album title a direct reference to a return visit upon the passing of his mother several years ago. So, seeing this passing of a parent was his farewell to many things. I lost both my parents many years ago, and I have to admit that many memories have faded with time; however, there is not a day that goes by when I do not think of them. Life goes on, and death happens. It is our destiny to live and die; we do not know when that time will be. I saw a saying the other day that made sense, "Live life like it's your first day and your last." Some sound advice, to be sure. 

Rick used synthesizer strings to create his orchestra of ambient sounds and colors. Some of it does have a feeling of sadness and letting go. Such as the resolute piano in "Daybreak," which gently introduces the layers of synth for a pleasant feeling of floating on top of the primary instrument. I imagine the artist's intent with this type of composition would be that you are very relaxed and have that feeling of detachment from the physical world. In your mind, you can float away to another frame of reference or plane of existence, if you will. All tracks on offer here give the listener something to feel and find inside their soul. That sounds deep, I know, music is a powerful tool that can let you dig down and pull things out that need to be looked at, and then you can process it and move on.

Buddhists refer to our suffering as samsara, and we can reach dharma (In Buddhism, dharma means cosmic law and order but is also applied to the teachings of the Buddha-i.e., karma) through meditation and removing the thoughts of attachment to all things physical on this plane. I discovered a strong correlation between new-age music and the practice of Buddhism. And from there sought more knowledge and have continued to do so. Music like this, any instrumental recording made for relaxation or meditation, brings me to another discipline. That is just one example that is worthy of note.

As I made my way through each track on Farewell to Memories, it engaged me in many ways, triggering a thought process of feelings, including sadness, hope, joy, and the promise of a new day. This music can and will renew your spirit. You are the door that either opens or closes to this opportunity. It was my choice to listen and open the door. The result was a healing of my consciousness, direct and indirect thought process, and, most of all, my heart. As the track says, "Hope Is Eternal," it never rests. It is a part of us all; whether you acknowledge that or not, that is your choice. I always find some hope every day regardless of what transpires. And this music brought those thoughts to the forefront of my mind.

This is a distance away from the blues music this artist typically creates. For him, it was a creative and healing process; for the listeners, it can be whatever you need it to be. That is music's beauty and eclectic nature and the sounds you will hear on Farewell to Memories.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder


September 9, 2022

Tracks:
01. Farewell To Memories 5:57
02. Distant Worlds 4:57
03. In The Aftermath 3:30
04. A Time Of Solitude 4:42
05. Twilight Falls 3:49
06. Daybreak 4:25
07. Lights On A Distant Shore 3:46
08. A Perfect Summer Day 4:44
09. Mysteries 4:18
10. Hope Eternal 4:37
11. First Snow 4:02
12. One Last Look 5:16



New Age Music Legend David Young To Release New Album “Love Wins” Feat. Prog Luminaries Tony Levin & Jerry Marotta

The past couple of years have been intense and unlike any other in most of our lifetimes! For David Young, those years have been a time of inspiration and enlightenment, which is evident upon first listen to his new album, “Love Wins.”

The album was recorded and produced at Dreamland Recording Studios in Woodstock, NY, and by Jeff Moleski and Moletrax Recording Studios, and features Tony Levin on bass and Jerry Marotta on drums and percussion. Tony is known for his work recording and touring with Peter Gabriel, King Crimson, Pink Floyd, Paul Simon and John Lennon. Jerry is known for his work with Peter Gabriel, Krishna Das, Sarah McLachlan and the Indigo Girls.

David Young has a wonderful way of making people feel good through his music, art and soulfulness.” - Jerry Marotta

The eclectic, Americana-Inspired “Love Wins” incorporates heartfelt, inspiring lyrics with new age vocals and instrumentals, such as the soothing strains of the mandolin and mesmerizing, unique sounds emanating from crystal bowls.

Says David, “Together, we create a harmonic soundscape, alchemized with meditation and meaningful songs that will bring peace and joy to your body, mind and soul.”

“Love Wins” will be available on CD, download, streaming and thumb drive on October 28th.

Join us for an experience that will transform your mind, body and soul, empowering you with the wisdom that this is still a beautiful world.

Subscribe to DavidYoungMusic.com and stay current with News and Events!

photo by Richard Crawford

About David Young

David Young is an award-winning artist, author and musician well known for playing two renaissance flutes in harmony. He has recorded numerous hit albums and sold over one million copies. David's music, revered for its soothing sounds and healing properties, is a staple in hospitals, healing centers and spas throughout the country.    

David travels throughout the country hosting his signature workshops, A Portal Between Heaven and Earth, which blends his healing music with his enlightening guided meditations, and where countless attendees report remarkable experiences. These experiences are the inspiration for many of David’s songs and paintings, and chronicled in his book, “The True Story of Jesus and his Wife Mary Magdalena.”  

In addition to David’s many talents, he is also a gifted channeler. Through his music and art, David channels messages from the heavenly realms bringing healing messages and hope.  David’s abstract art reflects stories of ancient wisdom and actual events through brilliant colors and impressions.

His music and personal readings have brought healing and revelations to people for decades, serving as a bridge to the ethereal realms of goodness and light.  

Through his many talents and gifts, David Young offers the world hope, vision and self-empowerment.

To pre-order David Young’sLove Wins”: https://checkout.square.site/buy/PP3HHGNJLEXPVC3WEX364CED

For more information:
www.DavidYoungMusic.com
www.facebook.com/DavidYoungMusic2018/
www.instagram.com/davidyoungsoulascension/
www.youtube.com/DavidYoungMusicVideos

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Contemporary New Age Instrumental-Classical Review: Christopher Boscole-Isle of Shadows

Release Date: July 18, 2022

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

I have not covered a recording by Christopher Boscole since the 2018 release Soul Dreams. The sands of time move faster each year, and your perception changes so much that it almost becomes irrelevant. We live by the ticking away of seconds, minutes, hours, and days. Then that transforms into months, then years. This perception depends on your age and how busy your days are.

 

Amazing how one thought and music can unravel an idea and how it forms and becomes your truth. Music is that powerful and persuasive. So how did Isle of Shadows work its magic when I listened?

 

Classical music holds so much tradition and everlasting beauty. Its importance goes beyond what words can say. So why not do what countless others have and will again, sit at a piano and give the nod to the great composers and compositions? It makes sense and finds validation in each talent and interpretation of those timeless pieces. Respect for the music is imperative. The legacy of the music and composers must be handled very carefully, and above all, you must be an outstanding musician.

 

Starting with the dreamy artwork on the album cover, with the lovely pastels that are pleasant to the eye and senses, is a good start. Rest assured; the painting perfectly matches the relaxing meditative sounds you are about to enjoy. It is identified as new age classical piano, which is an appropriate assessment.

 

Christopher Boscole has answered the call of the greats and played all these tracks with the utmost care and precision. The artist, in this case, has transformed into a different kind of piano player, one that can take the sublime beauty of the title track and create his rendition from a blank canvas. The composition by Selim Palmgren, is significant because the entire recording is named after it. That name does not come up when someone discusses Chopin, Bach, and Debussy. Perhaps that is why the composer, and the track are getting the spotlight. It will bring forth an awareness of the talent of this otherwise unrecognized master.

 

The more I hear recordings like Isle of Shadows, the realization that these compositions' brilliance and musical perfection attain full recognition from my point of view. This happens when an artist takes each track into a solo piano excursion. It is much more meaningful and appreciated by this listener. It makes me wonder why I have not explored classical music on a more profound level. Perhaps after absorbing this superb recording, I will reevaluate my music collection and endeavor to reach out further to explore this music that I found so appealing.

 

After paying tribute to all the masters, the artist closes the curtain with an original saying, "Until We Meet Again." A perfect ending and as close to perfection as one can get on an album.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 31, 2022

Tracks:

01. Romance Sans Paroles in Ab major, Op. 17 No. 3 (3:21) (Arranged by Christopher Boscole)

02. Nocturne in Eb Major, Op. 9 No. 2 (5:11)

03. Sonata No. 8 Op. 13 “Pathetique”II. Adagio Cantabile (4:45)

04. 6 Lyric Pieces, Op. 28 “Isle of Shadows”II. Skuggornas O (5:56)

05. Pavane, Op. 50 (4:32) (Arranged by Christopher Boscole)

06. Préludes, Book I, L. 117: Vii. La fille aux cheveux de lin (3:30) (Arranged by Christopher Boscole)

07. Sonata No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 27 No. 2 “Moonlight”: I. Adagio sostenuto (5:31)

08. Suite No. 3 in D Major: II. Air (4:44) (Arranged by Christopher Boscole)

09. 24 Preludes, Op. 28: No 17 in A-flat major (4:15)

10. Solace: A Mexican Serenade (5:21)

(Arranged by Christopher Boscole)

11. Kinderszenen, Op. 15: No. 7, Traumerei (2:59)

12. Until We Meet Again (5:41)

Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Review: Dan Chadburn-Always

Release Date: August 1, 2022

Label:  ‎Independent

Website


When you have performed for audiences at Carnegie Hall (New York), Symphony Hall (Boston), and The Kennedy

Center (Washington, DC), there is a level of acceptance recognized worldwide by the music community. For Dan Chadburn, these are just a few of his accomplishments over the years.

He released Always in August of this year. The keyboard's colors are illustrated on the release artwork and in his music. 

With tracks like "Yesteryear," he paints the picture suggested in the title without words with poignancy and beauty.

The twelve tracks on Always are like walking through a musical spiral staircase of life's emotions and events. The track "Uncertainty" puts that idea into perspective with grace and purposefulness. The pace and rhythms are moving with a genuine feeling that finds a way to soothe your doubts with the simplicity of solo piano music. Its pure beauty and message are clear as day and the blue sky above. It is also one of the most extended tracks on the album, giving the listener time to absorb the meaning entirely.

"Missing You" is another track that pulls on your heartstrings. I felt deeply moved by the way it was presented. While straightforward, the music has a hypnotic effect that draws you in, and you start reliving things in the corners of your mind and soul. That is what I call music doing its job well. 

Creating the sound and colors without words needs to be robust, clear, and concise to ensure you are paying attention and your mind does not drift elsewhere. That fact alone is the reason it can be so relaxing and used to help you reach a meditative state. I can see that mission was accomplished from the twelve tracks I enjoyed.

This music can be your "Wishing Well" and where you can realize "Synchronicity" with your mind, body, and spirit. And for this listener's ears, that is precisely what I seek when I listen to music like you will find on Always.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 28, 2022

Tracks:

01. Always 3:14

02. Uncharted Waters 3:22

03. OShenandoah 3:27

04. Turning Point 4:44

05. Yesteryear 3:12

06. Minuet 2:42

07. Uncertainty 4:12

08. Missing You 3:07

09. The Wishing Well 3:31

10. Sacred Breath 3:26

11. Synchronicity 2:48

12. Final Curtain 3:28



New Age Meditation Review: NTHNL-Tranquility Studies Vol. 2

Release Date: May 20, 2022

Label:  Independent

Website

Jacob Rudin is the artist NTHNL(Nathaniel). The title Tranquility Studies Vol. 2 expresses what you will hear in this release, literally.

The artist makes a concerted effort to shoot for "low-alpha" or "high-theta" ((around 7-10 Hz). There are 114 minutes of sound in this recording. Each piece is an exceptional tool to focus and meditate, or if one prefers, relax.

The concept of taking electronics and mixing them with instruments is not anything new. The importance of the sound waves coming in at the 7-10hZ level is critical, giving it a substantial variance from the norm. That is the key to your "focus," and attention span. "Soundbath 1" is just the beginning. The frequencies your brain will adjust to and follow rather quickly, and while remaining in that state of consciousness, you take in the instruments, such as the principal flute, mixed in with the sound waves. It is repetitive, like a constant drone or the sounds a didgeridoo can produce. That mesmerizing Australian instrument can maintain a drone with variations of frequencies. That was the one thing I thought of while reading about how this music was constructed and presented in this way.

There are some natural sounds added in for good measure and to differentiate between everything else that is going on. That element is not meant for a refocus but for you to connect and find identification, make you feel good, or make you smile. I love the sounds of all the birds chirping. It is the sound of happiness in nature. That is my interpretation, and everyone identifies differently with the sounds we can hear during a 24-hour period. "Soundbath Two" ends with the sound of rain, which is synonymous with the replenishment of the earth's plants and the very element that keeps all living things alive.

I am pretty sure with all that there is to utilize that, every listener will find the right track or tracks to combine for their meditative healing sessions. There are six lengthy exercises of frequencies, sounds, and music to choose from. You will listen to what works best for you; how you choose to use it is the most crucial factor in getting the maximum out of this musical exercise.

NTHNL does create a bath of sound, and when you frame it in that context, it shines a different light on what Tranquility Studies Vol. 2 can and will do for the discerning listener looking for solace, comfort, healing, deep meditation, or undistracted relaxation.

All tracks are composed, performed, produced, mixed, and mastered by NTHNL. Once you take in the entire experience, you will be impressed by this artist's all-around talent. The flute, woodwinds, saxophone, and many ambient textures are all that you will find abundant in this musical expression. It's chill, new age, ambient, meditation, and all that combined. Every track is entirely different from the last, so do not expect much of the same. And that is a good thing from my listening perspective.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 7, 2022


Tracks:

1.Soundbath 1 23:37

2.Soundbath 2 19:18

3.Soundbath 3 18:28

4.Soundbath 4 16:08

5.Soundbath 5 16:58

6.Soundbath 6 20:30



New Age-Contemporary Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-Traveling the Blissful Highway

Release Date: October 14, 2022

Label:  ‎TimeArt Productions

Website

Darlene Koldenhoven’s instrumental new-age world release Traveling the Blissful Highway, will be another significant achievement to add to her impressive catalog of releases. 

There are several instruments utilized to create the tracks. Darlene is the producer, engineer, composer, and instrumental-vocal arranger. She played keyboards, provided background vocalese and spoken word, added quartz singing bowls, rainstick, shaker, and native drum, and did all the synth programming. It would take a considerable amount of space to list all the rest of the instruments provided by contributors' names that may be familiar to you in the genre, including Charlie Bisharat, Ron Korb, and Joanne Lazzaro to name a few. There are many more as well. I cannot understate the importance of collaboration with so many different instruments coming together in the tracks. Steve Shepherd provided the mixing and mastering, and his work shines from beginning to end.

It is some of the most relaxing and dreamy music you will have the pleasure of enjoying. The first single of the album, "Cheerful Mohana," sets the tone and atmosphere perfectly. The Mohana (Urdu: موہانہ), sometimes referred to as Mohanoمهانو, are Sindhi Mohana tribes called Mohano Mallah Mirbahar Mirani in the province of Punjab. 

I liked the play on the words "Dot Calm," it is a great way to take something that can be stressful or frustrating when things are not working right and flip it to the positive. The internet or dot.com space is a wonderful tool for millions of people. It takes that word and changes everything you think about cyberspace. That is the point here, I believe.

Even the title suggests a change of thought patterns when referring to the highway. The morning or evening commute can be a nightmare. The artwork would mean something entirely different with a view of beauty and colors. That kind of scenery is possible; however, I think you would get the idea here for those looking for another "road." Life can be bumpy and full of unforeseen potholes. This road is in your mind by following the music's power of suggestion. Music so peaceful and a slice of heaven has a way of changing you from the inside out. It starts with audio and vibrations, then adjusts your brain waves, which changes you physically. That is the healing power of music.

"Osmium Glow" (Osmium is a shiny, silver metal that resists corrosion) is one of the most serene and inviting tracks. The combination of instruments is superb (as they are on every track). Lovely piano, synth, violin, and some vocalese towards the end are the perfect complement to one of the more exciting songs. The world elements give it a flavor and spice all its own. If you are in the mood for Celtic influences, then "Highland Mist" will deliver with some alluring flute.

Traveling the Blissful Highway can become a daily trip to your paradise. This music exists to change you on so many levels. Ultimately it will succeed in doing so if you allow it. The key to enjoying any music is letting it envelop you, to be a place where you feel safe and loved, and most importantly, a place you can always go to get reintroduced to some well-needed rest. As always, music can lead us there. 

Darlene Koldenhoven is very talented, and every album I have heard and reviewed is entirely different. It is the fifth release to add to my collection and has already become one of my favorites. 

Being eclectic and using all the tools at your disposal is the way to record such a great album. With the addition of talented friends into the mix, this artist has found everything she needs to continue recording great music for years to come.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 6, 2022


Tracks:
01. Cheerful Mohana
02. Time Traveler
03. Jade Dreams
04. Gentle Soul
05. Birds in Paradise
06. Dot Calm
07. Tropical Chill
08. Sweet Peace
09. Osmium Glow
10. Native Star
11. Highland Mist
12. Blissful Highway


New Age Instrumental Review: Peter Kater-Soul Story

Release Date: August 25, 2022

Label:  Independent

Website

Part of being a recording artist and remaining successful is to move forward in developing a signature sound. In some cases, it is a matter of trying something entirely different. Or what I like to call “thinking out of the box,” which happens to be one of the things I want to do myself. It keeps things fresh and feels like an adventure.

Soul Story is one of those exciting turns in the road that Peter Kater took while playing for people. He would sit down and talk to folks then they would lie underneath his piano while listening to the melodies created while recalling their stories. So then, piano readings were born. The experiences are recorded and given to the folks with the reading. From my point of view, this is innovation and using your instrument to provide people with their Soul Story.

The dance of the solo piano is one of my favorite things to enjoy. I find it one of the best relaxing and contemplative types of music to enjoy. In the case of this album, it holds a special meaning for many different souls. They are also segments of some of Peter’s favorites. In fact, this should make it much more special for the recipients of his piano readings. I would be immensely grateful to have had the opportunity, as I am sure all those people are.

The beauty and simplicity of these tracks are what make them so listenable. When I am feeling stressed and exhausted from the day, the evening arrives, and I can listen to music from artists like Peter Kater to help me feel rejuvenated and hopeful for a new day. I can always count on it to be there for me. Music is timeless; it fills the void of space around us and changes the feeling and atmosphere of an entire room. The power of music goes far beyond what words can say. In this case, it is expertly performed solo instrumental piano played in a very contemporary way with the foundation of new age ideology, the driving force to create it.

The title track I found very moving. It is 4:39 minutes of pure emotion and thought. It is a very effective track; you can feel and process the emotions as Peter’s piano ebbs and tides throughout, connecting you with it every step. Music like that touches your soul, and you realize what a miracle it is that one may convey so much with one instrument and no words. Every track will leave a lasting effect on you. However, I found that one the most moving for me.

Soul Story and its depictive artwork do indeed tell a story, many of them. It will be one of the most beautiful and meaningful recordings in 2022. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself listening to it quite regularly to finish out your day.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

July 25, 2022

Tracks:

1.  Starry Night

2.  Touch of Rain

3.  The Path is Clear

4.  Spiral Outward

5.  Find Me

6.  Soul Story

7.  Majesty Falling

8.  Full Circle

9.  United