November 14, 2017

New Age-Pop-Neo Classical: Unleashed Dreams-Dare To Dream

Release Date: September 1, 2017
Label: L.Walker International Ltd. Paddisongs Publishing Ltd.

Neoclassicism was born in Rome in the mid-18th century and it is still alive and well today. One look at the cover of the recent Unleashed Dreams recording Dare To Dream brings many different images together. Like the canvas of a great artist, the colors flow and merge to create thoughts and images where modern and times past intersect.

Looking at the art work on the cover of this CD invokes deep thought meditation and as it pulls the thoughts and vibrations from the mind of the subject (as on the cover) ...the words and music tell a story of love and inspiration.

The two anchor artists are Lindsey Gaye Walker (singer/songwriter, lead and background vocals) and Sean Michael Paddison (composer, songwriter, producer, pianist, background vocals and instrumentation). They have a few friends that join in this celebration of life and triumph as well. Every contributor made a difference and put their own stamp on this project.

This was a nice and welcome change from the norm for this listener. 99% of the new age music I listen to is instrumental, which I love, however hearing these amazing vocals and music come together was a special treat. The meaning of it all is so uplifting and spiritual. All I could think of when I looked at the cover was Michelangelo and The Sistine Chapel ceiling. What a miracle all of that artistry was and the miracle of this music and the images took me there. That my good people is a gift that multiplies for those that choose to listen.

Dare To Dream was like a breath of fresh air and a ray of sunshine that put a nice cap to the end of my day. The fact that I had a chance to listen, feel and let the music move me to write these words was yet another miracle. A higher power channeled within can bring change through music.

The mixture of vocal and instrumental tracks keeps it all interesting and thought provoking. Yes indeed, music is defined perfection in motion. With that I leave the rest to each individual listener.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 13, 2017

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Deep
02. Dare to Dream
03. Resonance
04. Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep
05. My Sacred Inner Child
06. Riding the Winds of Change (Instrumental)
07. Trust (And Let Go)
08. You Give Me Strength
09. A New Day
10. A Journey Within (Instrumental)
11. Onward to Glory
12. Moonlight Waltz (Instrumental)

 

November 9, 2017

Instrumental Solo New Age Review: Masako-Piano Sanctuary

Release Date: September 21, 2017
Label: Masako Music

Masako’s music is different than any other instrumental solo piano music I have heard. She creates a wonderful new age sound that could be compared to others in the genre but it is distinct and her own as well. It will all make sense once you listen.

With Piano Sanctuary, an aptly titled project by the way, she takes you on a course of enlightenment through 12 tracks. Her clarity and fluidity on the ivory keys is an awesome thing to listen to.

What strikes me the most about this music is that each track is very melodic and full of warm textures and rhythms. Every bit of it comes from deep within the soul of a true artist. 

Piano Sanctuary in a literal sense can be achieved through listening to this solo piano music. It is meant for the new age music genre and it easily crosses over to contemporary instrumental and classical. So, in other words, this music is so powerful and singular that it can touch the hearts of many without having to categorize it. 
 
There are no boundaries to overcome, all you have to do is listen and you will decide what it can do for you. This was such an enjoyable experience for me that it flowed steady like a clear running stream and before I knew it, the music stopped. Even though those warm and fuzzy feelings felt like they would end, they did not. The sounds and ambiance of the tracks on this recording allowed me to stay at peace and keep that feeling.

That to me is a huge accomplishment in a world filled with a multitude of distractions and things to do within a 24-hour period. Time goes by quickly however when I get in a groove and listen to music like Masako’s, time stands still. So, in essence, this music was everything and more than I could expect in one sitting.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 8, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. When You Were Little
02. Ragrima
03. The Bird and the River
04. Midnight Sun
05. Central Park Retreat
06. A Tale of Lonely Otter (Piano Solo Version)
07. Sailing
08. The Land We Called Hope
09. The Lost Estate
10. Koto (Japanese Ancient City)
11. Frozen Quarry
12. Tender Stories


November 3, 2017

New Age-Meditation Review: Sangeeta Kaur-Ascension - Niguma Vol. 2 The Mantra Project

Release Date: September 22, 2017
Label: Sangeeta Kaur Music

Sangeeta Kaur’s recent album has a lot to say and the complexity of the title certainly makes sense. It is only the beginning if you choose to do some exploring.

Ascension - Niguma Vol. 2 The Mantra Project is one of the more interesting and compelling music projects I have had the opportunity to hear this year. 

An excerpt from the artist website reads:
Who is Lady Niguma and in these modern times, why should we care? With grace and powered by an awe-inspiring production, Sangeeta and her company of yogi & yogini artists extraordinarily provide an answer of inspiration.

This will give the potential listeners some insight into what this music is about. If you want to learn all the details I highly recommend visiting the artist website. Based on what I garnered from the CD booklet there is quite a musical production that accompanies this music and it looks fantastic.

In most cases I do not favor music in any other language than English because I really want to understand what the artist is singing about. I did my due diligence and got a better idea while listening and after the music stopped. This was a different perspective I fell into and instantly while taking in this recording. I was pleasantly surprised with how it made me feel.

Sangeeta has a gorgeous angelic voice that melts into your soul and hangs on tight. This album was so different and refreshing that I sincerely enjoyed every track. Some of the music is prolific and larger than life. The resounding drum beats and layers of instruments intertwine into an audible journey of divinity. This women’s voice ranges from silky smooth to operatic dependent on the pace and movements in each track. There is never a time where I felt disinterested, it was quite the opposite actually. I was wondering what was coming next.

If focus brought on by the light of the human spirit is what you seek you shall find it on this recording. If you happen to enjoy it as much as I did, it will be over before you know. This is comparable to doing a task you love and time becomes irrelevant. And it should be in this case because what you receive from Ascension - Niguma Vol. 2 The Mantra Project, is a new focal point filled with positive vibrations. This music will soothe your soul and clear your mind. I say that with conviction. I can see now how this music was set to the stage with all the dance, yoga movements and the colors brought to life.  An audience would simply be mesmerized. This is beauty in motion with words and music ...


5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck



November 3, 2017

Founder of:


Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:  
01. All Space And Time (Intro)
02. Niguma, I Bow To You
03 .Dream Tunnel
04. This Beautiful World (Featuring Kassé Mady Diabaté)
05. Summer's Dance
06. Lascia Ch'io Pianga (Full Orchestra Version)
07. Samsara's Tango
08. Ascension (Featuring Tahir Qawwal)
09. Deum De Deo (Featuring The Hungarian Studio Choir)
10. Ardas Bhaee (Full Orchestra Version)
 

October 24, 2017

New Age Instrumental Review: Michael Stribling-Union-Music For Lovers

Release Date: October 1, 2017
Label: Leela Music

It has been a few years since I had the chance to enjoy and provide some coverage of Michael Stribling’s music.
Union-Music For Lovers came out this month. Michael went down the path of providing listeners seeking peace with an option to attain that. He does accomplish his goal within his capabilities and artistry.

Although the title may suggest something else dependent on your outlook, it remains relevant.  These are atmospheric and ambient sounds for people to find a zone of comfort. And this can be accomplished in union or by yourself, that is my belief, not necessarily anyone else’s.  The union you achieve could be with yourself and a higher power or existing on another plain of attainment for some time. It truly depends on what you seek in the moment you start listening to these 11 tracks.

Michael uses a combination of keyboards and other computer-generated sounds and beats to create something that sounds like a flowing tapestry of beauty. It is a slice of electronic heaven if you will. I know that may not sound very warm and inviting however this music really is. He is a master at molding and shaping these sounds into a magical wonderland of vibrations, colors and moods.

Union-Music For Lovers has many different shades of light and an ever changing pace. You will hear ethnic influences in his music as well, the kind that transport you. Those elements are the things that make this such an eclectic and enjoyable journey.

What Michael Stribling accomplishes is quite difficult, considering how he gets it all done and without help or support from anyone else. Union-Music For Lovers is a marvelous achievement of ambient and electronic new age instrumental music.

4/5 Stars
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 24, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. New Day Dawning, Pt. 1
02. New Love
03. Letting Go / Afterthought
04. Seven Faces of Home
05. Longing
06. Veiled Dancers
07. Union
08. Expansion
09. Afterglow
10. Quiet Conversation
11. At the End of the Day

October 18, 2017

New Age Review: Rachel Lafond-Wandering Soul

Release Date: May 15, 2017
Label: Independent

Rachel Lafond released Wandering Soul in May of 2017.

This is piano only music, based in the foundation of contemporary instrumental and classical. It emerges as a finely presented new age sound.

Rachel’s singularity is her greatest asset on this recording. Likewise, her intent is to reach each “individual” listener is successful. This individualism makes total sense, it fits the entire presentation. While it is created for the masses, what you see is the artist on the piano alone.  And upon further inspection, there is a mirror image of her looking out the window, subtle yet effective. What happens is we get a window into a Wandering Soul. A mirror image of her soul wandering from her physical body tells the story before you even hit play.

This is a story played out on the piano with insight and depth. The kind of emotion and soul searching that you can find within this music, it is part and parcel of what get with this CD. The melodic tempo of the tracks has a hint of sadness, yet the energy and joy of discovery enters the equation. This is when the wandering comes to end as the soul is finally “Finding Home.”

After listening to this kind of music for many years now I find it fascinating how the titles coincide with the music and can make sense. All you have to do is let it sweep you away, like a broom sweeps away the dust and then particles float into the air, so can you. A billowing cloud of sound and texture transports you as you become the story. The music can lead you down that path to instant gratification. This is the kind satisfaction you find without a price tag on it, free of any sort of remorse afterwards. From the beginning to the end, this is a real spiritual kind of recognition.

That is the beauty of music like this. Solo piano played with such grace and preciseness is resilient, timeless and moldable to each listener. What a wonderful gift that Rachel is sharing. I for one certainly appreciate it, every track. It helped me to center and relax like I need to… and just like everyone else does. Give it a try you will be glad you did!

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 18, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Whisper In The Mist
02. Kingfisher   
03. Why We Wander
04. Ember Warmth - Twin Peaks
05. Redemption   
06. Spinning In The Sun
07. Wandering Soul
08. Nikko River
09. Mystery Of The Moor
10. Wandering Soul
11. Finding Home



October 10, 2017

Instrumental New Age Review: Dan Chadburn-Held In The Light-Solo Piano Improvisations

Release Date: September 15, 2017
Label: Independent

Held In The Light-Solo Piano Improvisations is a 13 track instrumental new age solo album from Dan Chadburn. Just about a year ago I covered his 2016 release Beyond Words.  

I find music such as this to be so relaxing and comforting any time I listen to it. There never is the wrong time to listen to beautifully played music, particularly on the ivory keys.

Indeed, the piano is the tool which Mr. Chadburn uses to soothe your soul. At the risk of sounding redundant in what I say in my reviews…I reiterate the importance of music, the universal healer, and the reason it should be part of our lives on a daily basis. Frequently as possible I might add!

We need a oneness and commitment to mankind around the globe, especially now. Music without words (or beyond) is critical in the aspect of just “listening.” It’s not unlike listening to your inner voice or a power that is higher than yourself really. Everything else comes afterwards, and hopefully what arrives at the doorstep of your inner being is peace and healing. This is the blessing I receive while enjoying the simplicity and focus of the music that Dan Chadburn creates. 

Simply put, listening to this is like being Held In The Light. 

It is not difficult to notice the transitions and improvisations that are created in these tracks. And I know from my own viewpoint and listening experience it is because there is one instrument to focus on. Granted, sometimes we all want much more than that however each recording does serve its own purpose. I think in this instance Dan Chadburn serves his purpose and gives a listener a chance to reflect on their self, surroundings and anything else that needs attention and thought. Complete focus, even mediation is achievable while taking in Held In The Light-Solo Piano Improvisations.

This is completely enjoyable experience from start to finish that I recommend highly.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 10, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Breathe on Me, Breath of God
02. Be Thou My Vision
03. Amazing Grace
04. Wondrous Love
05. Love Divine
06. Were You There
07. Lo, How a Rose
08. Breath of Life
09. Morning Has Broken
10. Refuge
11. How Great Thou Art
12. Beautiful Savior
13. Held in the Light

 



October 4, 2017

Instrumental New Age Review: Michael Kollwitz-Serenity

Release Date: September 1, 2017
Label: Independent

Add caption
Michael Kollwitz has a large body of work that includes 21 recordings. This collection of gorgeous sounds is his first journey into the age of new age music. It is aptly titled Serenity.

Michael’s artistry comes in the form of sound waves, vibrations and beauty with the Chapman Stick. It is a very unique and mesmerizing instrument to say the least. I have associated it mostly with Tony Levin over the years and now I can add another master to list.

Michael had the great fortune of being tutored by the creator of the stick Emmett Chapman. What a blessing that was for us all. Now to hear the result of 40 years of hard work is just an amazing musical trip. 

I have to say I have never heard the stick played like this. It truly is amazing. It’s like listening to a guitar and bass at the same time. He definitely has perfected the virtuoso abilities of his chosen tool. Actually, the artist likes to call it the piano and guitar playing together. If you listen you can hear that similarity. The give and take of one instrument answering the call of another. I am not quite sure how his fingers accomplish all of the amazing sounds you hear on Serenity. I can tell you one thing, it is the only instrument he needed to record this sublime group of tracks.

The sounds resonant from the tip of your toes, to your heart, then to the mind. The triangle of mind, body and spirit surely find Serenity through these 14 tracks.

With the all of insanity of this world going on around us in these times, we must have refuge. We all need a place to unwind, center and gather our strength for a new day. With the music of Michael Kollwitz you become engaged and surrounded by the beauty of the sound. It will pull you in without effort and before you know it you it you will have reached a higher consciousness with a smile on your face. I can already see you smiling now! This is a must have for any lover of the guitar, bass or any stringed instrument for that matter, don’t miss it.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 4, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Mountain Sanctuary
02. Mystic Vista
03. Greatest Possible Gift
04. The Four Pillars
05. A New Life
06. Best of Everything
07. Joyful Reunion
08. Simple Pleasures
09. Warm Lasting Embrace
10. Never Alone Again
11. Quiet Full Moon
12. Higher Power
13. The Seven Canyons
14. No Hurry No Worry