Contemporary Instrumental New Age Review: Various Artist - Fall Flight (myndstream)

Release Date: November 19, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

With the change of seasons and Fall ushered in, the myndstream label features six tracks from various artists. The compilation is appropriately titled Fall Flight.

“Autumn” with Roger Kellaway and his piano is the perfect gateway to a new season arriving and starting this compilation. His nimble fingers bring us to the change of season gently with a greeting only an acoustic piano can create—a perfect way to begin your audio journey.

 “The Golden Hour” features the acoustic guitar of Karlijn Langendijk. This one is with acoustic guitar taking a singular approach. While building the track with different strokes of the strings, it shines the light on the purity and clarity an acoustic guitar can have. The track is an example of the absolute beauty portrayed on a musical canvas.

“Insects” is from the well-known artistry of one Mr. Larrry Fast and Synergy. He has played with many great musicians during his long and successful tenor and created a bevy of solo material. Keeping with the legendary progressive sound he is known for, the music is powerful and cinematic, changing the entire mood of your listen. Perhaps the boldness and directness which contrast the previous tracks show us how the changing of seasons can be abrupt and rapid, especially for those living a more petite reality as an insect. Think of the winds blowing and the leaves creating their little cyclones on the ground and in the roads as the insects scramble to preserve their very existence.

“End of One Thing” from David Baron brings you synth sounds. The various layers are more progressive with a distinct universal and futuristic tone. It is ambient and ever-changing, showing how eclectic the synthesizer can be within one track.

“Favor from the Wind” features the acoustic guitar of Janet Noguera is another sublime track. The music creates a path to enlightenment through the vibrating strings of a guitar. The composition is acoustic divinity coming from the fingers of this talented woman. She brings you peace and joy from her soul.

“An Old Fairy Tale” by Bernward Koch features gentle piano and textures that invite you to partake in the new season ever so gently. The piano whispers like the wind that blows the leaves off the trees as they prepare for the winter. I found it to be an excellent way to close the curtain on this fantastic group of tracks while comparing and contrasting with everything that I heard preceding it.

Fall Flight
is right on time to take you through the next season with many different colors, textures, and moods, which is what every new season us about, particularly with the changing colors of the leaves. It all falls into place nicely with a good flow and constant change, which the four seasons always bring with each passing year.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 19, 2021

 Tracks:
1.Autumn – Roger Kellaway
2. The Golden Hour – Karlijn Langendijk
3. Insects – Larry Fast/Synergy
4. End of One Thing – David Baron
5. Favor from the Wind – Janet Noguera
6. An Old Fairy Tale – Bernward Koch
   

Instrumental New Age Review: Jill Haley-Wrapped In Light

Release Date: November 5, 2021

Label:  Cor Anglais

Website

Many of the recordings I have had the distinct pleasure of enjoying from Jill Haley were the series of national parks she covered. She went there and recorded, and the results were astounding.

This time the focus is on inspiration from The Book of Psalms with the recently released title Wrapped In Light. The subject matter is ancient, known worldwide in many different languages, and I would consider it spiritual in every way.

Jill gets some help from David Cullen (guitar, bass), Graham Cullen (cello), and Corin Nelsen (recording, mixing, mastering, and production). The addition of their instruments and engineering is a beautiful compliment to Jill's artistry. For those unfamiliar with her work, she plays Oboe, English Horn, Piano, and Synthesizer. With all of that talent and diversity, she could cover the gamut of a new age instrumental recording. Still, she opted to flow different personalities and energy into the music to engage with her own. The result is another stunning recording for Jill.

The artwork says a lot, and it is appropriate to match the title of the release. One look at the sun peeking out behind the clouds and the orange colors in the sky near sunset or the break of dawn is the perfect way to enter this musical journey.

The feeling of being Wrapped In Light figuratively and spiritually is the duality of life and an echo of the human condition. The sun's warmth gives us life as sentient beings and brings mother earth all of her gifts for us to enjoy. In a spiritual sense, it radiates joy, positivity, closeness to the heavens above and beyond, and at times to those things esoteric. In simple terms, the music will be most pleasing for those seeking a place of solitude, not to think and enjoy the sounds, to meditate, or listen while you are reading a good book, or for any time or occasion for that matter.

As each track played, I found an appreciation for all the instruments. The "Unfolding" of this music flowed on the "Wings of Dawn" and finally came "Wrapped in Light." The music connects to me on a visual, audio level, and track titles.
 
Of course, the guitar and bass can be important for most music we all hear, and, in this case, I felt the piano was second to the horns. The cello certainly adds another dynamic and personality of its own to the overall sound. Every instrument was essential to the eventual beginning and end of each track. All contributors made this recording a success.

Jill has stepped into another inspiration area and set it all to music in the most memorable way. Wrapped In Light is her slice of heaven delivered to all of your senses. It can be your own space and place to reach that state of mind of gratitude, love, and acceptance of your world. It can initiate thoughts and reflections of where you need to go to find your peace.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 8, 2021

Tracks:
01. Wrapped in Light
02. Clouds Rise
03. Forest Sings for Joy
04. Unfolding
05. The Mountains Rose
06. Fields Be Jubilant
07. Wings of Dawn
08. Springs Gush Forth
09. Flourishing Grass
10. Pools of Water




Progressive New Age-Ambient Review: Mars Lasar-Coastal Escape

Release Date: June 30, 2021

Label:  ‎Sound Manipulations

Website

 Mars Larsar's website states his music is predominantly electronic, and it also contains elements of jazz, pop, world, ambient, and rock. I can agree with that assessment.

Coastal Escape was released this summer. This album was my introduction to this multi-talented music man. He also has a vast discography with an array of subject matters that boggles the mind. While the piano is his main instrument of passion, he creates electronic soundscapes of absolute beauty.

Right from the beginning, with the opener "Big Sur Skies," I was captivated. The entire recording succeeds in capturing the subject matter of water in the different forms that mother earth delivers to us. Along with the purity of water, the essence of all life, the sunsets, and beaches are portrayed beautifully. With "California Dreams," I believe it has always typified songs to follow those dreams, all of the sunny beaches and the gorgeous sunsets. As you make your way through this listen, you may feel euphoria, excitement, relaxation, or all of those things in one track.

I particularly enjoyed the electric guitar in this music, which is not common in the new age genre. It is all tastefully done and placed perfectly when the artist uses it. That is the key to giving the listener some energy and creating more color in a track. I heard so much in every way; it was impressive.

"Glass Beach" for example, has the sounds of the surf and seagulls to give the sensation of being there. That is one example of many to be discovered. I love the ocean, the warmth of the sun, and all the sounds that are part of that experience. To hear it all come to life through my speakers was very comforting, and it took me there. I have not been there in a few years now and miss it terribly. I have promised myself to return next year. The music and track titles made me think of the beautiful times I spent on the beach with my loved ones. To me, the world is perfect in that scenario. The music made it easy for me to go there, which is the whole point of this music. It works!

Mar's Lasar has created and delivered something extraordinary and close to my heart. At times it takes the music to put everything into proper perspective. If you seek a pure experience that comes in the form of audio with music and sounds of nature, you are in for a journey you never shall forget. 

Coastal Escape is what it says it is. I found my true self in this music, and I am very grateful to have had the experience. The human condition weaves its way through every track's fabric, which is why it was so easy to relate to on many levels.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 6, 2021

Tracks:
01. Big Sur Skies 3:58    
02. Valley of the Giants Revisited 4:14    
03. California Dreams 3:44    
04. Carmel Midnight Shores 4:17    
05. Enchanted Forest 4:10    
06. Glass Beach 3:37    
07. Mendocino Love 4:00    
08. Sea Arch Sunset 5:01    
09. Lost Coast Trail 4:36    
10. Little River 4:26


Track Feature: Joss Jaffe and Jim “Kimo” West - Blossom

Joss Jaffe and Jim "Kimo" West combine their extraordinary talents on the track release "Blossom."The instrumentation on the track includes Indian tablas, Hawaiian percussion, African Ngoni (harp), and several custom and rare guitars.

The result of this unique combination of instruments and artistry is a gorgeous layered tapestry of color, atmosphere, and spirituality.

With musicianship beyond compare and music befitting the flower on the track cover, "Blossom" is a memorable experience that anyone who appreciates fine music would enjoy.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 27, 2021


Joss Jaffe’s music is rooted in his desire to unite people through spirit, love, joy, community and consciousness. Joss creates innovative songs that bring international artists from different cultures and languages into a nexus where new music is discovered. His music invites the audience into a space of spontaneous joy....READ MORE...

Jim Kimo West is recognized as one of the world’s top “slack key” guitarists and brings his own unique musical perspective to this great acoustic guitar tradition. He is a 2021 Grammy® Award winner for his CD, “More Guitar Stories” and a 2019 Grammy® nominee for “Moku Maluhia-Peaceful Island.
...READ MORE...

Track Review: Richard Spasoff-There At Your Side

Richard Spasoff will be "There At Your Side" while you listen. His creative talents are pretty evident with this stand-alone track release. 

While I hear jazz, there is much more going on here. The elements of a new age tenet with a deliberate pace and style are present as well.


The idea is to help you feel safe and secure as you relax or meditate on this mesmerizing track.

This innovative artist has created another recording to look within to find peace.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 25, 2021


About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Track Review: Gizella Firtha And Richard Spasoff-Menagerie

Gizella Firth and Richard Spasoff engage each other on a give and take jazz new age excursion with the piano and saxophone track "Menagerie."


The music will pull in the listener, and you then become the music with the image of the desert floating in your mind's eye. It is a step into your own private "Menagerie."

The interplay of the two artists is progressive and picturesque yet relaxing and thoughtful.


Give it one listen, and you will be hooked.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 21, 2021

About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE

Track Review: Richard Spasoff and Gizella Firtha-Alphabet Soup

What kind of music are you in the mood for? When you know the track's title is "Alphabet Soup," you would expect some variety.

However, that you will get, it may classify as contemporary instrumental, progressive classical, or new age with a certain flair and tasteful ambiance.

Richard Spasoff's tinkling piano and Gizella Firtha's cello (co-composers) make for some exciting and thought-provoking sounds. You decide what to call it, but above all, click play and enjoy the listen!

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck

October 2, 2021


 

About Richard Spasoff:

Website: https://richardspasoff.com

Richard Spasoff is an internationally renowned modern day psychic, medium,and Stand Up Comedian, motivational speaker, and radio/television personality for over 25 years. He has given accurate and insightful psychic readings to clients ranging from everyday citizens to celebrities, people in law enforcement, clergy, judges, attorneys and business CEOs... READ MORE