February 8, 2019

New Age-World Review: Grayhawk-Voice of the Ancestors

Release Date: February 1, 2019
Label: Deep Space Music

Grayhawk (David Gibney) recently released Voice of the Ancestors, the third and final album in a Shamanic Trilogy.

He is a man that has been healing from the tragedy of losing his toddler son. He has transitioned from that pain and loss and transformed his life with more purpose to help those that have special needs. Also created is a foundation in honor of his son to help those with neuroblastoma, a catastrophic pediatric cancer of the sympathetic nervous system that took his life.

Obviously, his music holds many meanings but the primary goal is to ascend to a higher place, heal the soul, and in essence become reborn with new life and purpose.

Voice of the Ancestors features the usual lineup of stars from the New Age genre that find their way on to most of the releases I have the honor of hearing. Grayhawk plays the synthesizers as a base instrument then there is so much more that contributes to the overall sound and textures of this release. To say it is World music is correct but with a New Age concept and approach. The ancients held many traditions and ceremonies all over the world. What this recording captures is the very spirit and color of that diversity and beauty.

There are native flutes, worldbeat percussions, viola, ambient guitar lines, and gorgeous vocalizations, particularly on “Peace Prayer.” The track runs over 10 minutes and takes 160 tracks of invocation of English, Hebrew, Farsi, and Arabic. There is also the shorter version, a little over 5 minutes for the internet streaming stations to play. Honestly, I have heard similar tracks but nothing like this before. The blend of all the languages balances with the English word, which is still heard so you can listen to the translations at the same time, amazing. This is the kind of track that deserves worldwide attention and should be heard on every inch of the globe. 

Grayhawk has created a work of genius that encompasses music, words and a powerful spiritual message. This is a brilliant example of a man taking his personal tragedy and using it to give back to the universe his love and healing. I can hear this playing in the background of a cinematic tribute to the different peoples of the world and how they worship and provide music for their people. 

Voice of the Ancestors is an incredible gift for all to enjoy. Listen closely, you may hear the whispers of your own ancestors in this music.

February 8, 2019
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. Transcendent Soul 3:12
2. The Banteay Srei Temple 4:57
3. Guardians of Goddess Thien Hau 6:08
4. Voice of the Ancestors 8:40
5. Peace Prayer A’ Cappella 1:50
6. Peace Prayer 10:11
7. Ambient Meditation 8:08
8. Peace Prayer (short version) 5:06



February 2, 2019

New Age Meditation-World Review: Paradiso & Rasamayi-Agape Evolution: The Movement

Release Date: January 18, 2019
Label: 5th Element

The didgeridoo is a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia. It is an ancient instrument still in use today. The drone sound that it makes is mesmerizing and used very effectively in meditation and for various musical projects not intended for that specific use.
Paradiso & Rasamayi are a couple that have combined their talents on several new age albums. Agape Evolution: The Movement is their most recent release.

The goal of this dynamic and talented couple is to create healing frequencies to cleanse the soul. That is a tall order indeed however the power of music cannot be underestimated. This is a fifteen track two-disc limited edition digipak tri-fold work of art. What you have the opportunity to embrace are some amazing sounds on Agape Evolution: The Movement.

The use of the didgeridoos, keyboards, singing bowls and voice work is a beautiful, colorful and earthy combination. It will delight new age and world music fans and those seeking a path to meditation.

The drone of the digeridoos is a steady focal point for those pursuing meditation while listening. Outside of that realm, if you are seeking quite relaxation time to clear your mind, this music can get you there.

Everything that is blended into that one foundation instrument just adds to the layers and textures that are created over the two discs. Within each track you will hear an amazing blend of instrumentals and voice. I found it all very relaxing and healing. That is the goal of Paradiso & Rasamayi, to show listeners there is an outlet for healing, a positive exercise of sounds, vibrations, tones and frequencies (all keyboards are tuned to 432hz) to realign the chakras. The end result is you become a better you, and an example for others to follow.

Agape Evolution: The Movement is a must have companion for meditation and relaxation that should not be missed. There is enough music and vibrations here to last for a good hour or if you want less you can play one disc. Either way you are making the right choice and receiving the full benefit of the art presented on this set.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 2, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

CD1:

01. Clearing Vortex
02. Goddess Fire
03. Archangel Intercession
04. Agape’s Call
05. Love's Visioning
06. Shadow Illumination
07. Integrating Divine
08. Transcending Time
09. Entering Aum


CD 2:


10. Ancestors' Embrace
11. Sowing Starseeds
12. Birthing the Eternal
13. Sacred Heart Soaring
14. Beyond Attachment
15. Global Aum

 

January 12, 2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Faith Angelina-Notes From Zion

Release Date: January 3, 2019
Label: Independent

I had my first introduction to Faith Angelina in 2017. I was provided the opportunity to listen and cover her Reaching12 recording. And yes, that was an indication of her age at the time!

Incredible as that sounds, this young lady is light years beyond other kids her age in maturity as an individual and musician. At the turn of the new year, she has returned with another instrumental piano album titled Notes From Zion. I looked forward to this being instrumental bliss just like the first album, and it was.

Faith is her name and for good reason. She exemplifies what a young lady should be if there was a belief in God, a higher power, and the words of the Bible. Zion was the home of Enoch in the Bible. If you look at the CD cover you can see the beautiful city in the heavens. 

Faith is very advanced spiritually and musically; her music is definitely a gift from heaven. I have no doubt someone like Faith was put her on this earth not to just entertain with music, but to teach with it. She is the master of her instrument the piano, and the listeners are her students. She has to be an old soul, that is all I can say in regards to all of those thoughts and feelings I have about this incredible artist.

I decided to include all of the verbiages that Faith decided to write about each individual track. These are her personal Notes From Zion, in the written form. What you hear her playing on the 12 piano instrumental tracks included on the CD, is in sync with her thought process, faith, beliefs, and distinctive musical ability. All of this is one cohesive presentation. What you witness is a teenager and her instrument sending out a message to the world. If you read the words that go with the tracks it becomes even more powerful, meaningful and clear. An active listener will catch on to all of this very quickly.

The music that is created on Notes From Zion is a threefold process made up of musical notes, words of wisdom, and a spiritual journey to those open to stepping through that portal. It is door waiting to be opened. It all worked so very well for me, it clicked in a short time span. I hope everyone that listens to this project is able to see the light shining through. What an amazing gift to share with the world.

Top of the Mountains - Throughout the scriptures, God has spoken to prophets from the top of the mountains. Whenever I look at the majestic mountains around my home, I think about God looking down on me and wonder how I am measuring up.

Notes From Zion – I try to write music that invites the spirit so that it is easy to meditate and escape from my troubles. In this song, I hear the inspiration from heaven.

Baby Faith – When I was little, everyone called me Baby Faith. It is kind of how Faith works for everyone. Just like I have been growing and maturing, our Faith grows and matures as well if we work at it.

Kolob Canyon – Kolob Canyon is part of Zion’s National Park and named after where God dwells. Sometimes I long to feel closer to God.

Snow Canyon – Snow Canyon is a beautiful state park in St. George Utah that my family loves to go hiking in. The red rocks are inspirational and memorable. The music almost writes its self.

The Living Planet – Sometimes I just pause and sit in amazement at the beauty of this earth and the variety of life around me.

Ensign Peak - This is a mountain peak overlooking the Salt Lake valley where I live. I love hiking to mountain peaks to get a change of perspective on the world I live in. I believe it is only through constantly looking at life through different lenses and perspectives that we truly grow.

Flowing Waters – There is nothing sweeter than the peaceful feeling that comes from an answer to a prayer. We wait patiently for answers and when they come it is like flowing waters of revelation.

The Narrows – The Narrows is a famous hike in Zion’s national park through slot canyons. The majestic views of the stone walls surrounding you create a mixture of thoughts and emotions.

Finding Your Why – Having a purpose and knowing myself is the key to happiness. Throughout this last year, I have found what I believe to be one of my callings in life.

Angels Landing – One of the most famous places in Zion’s is Angels Landing. My dad and brother hiked up there and back while filming. I am afraid of heights and don’t think I can manage this one by myself because of the huge cliff drops. I tried to capture their experience and set music to the video.

This is the Place - There is nothing quite like the feeling of coming home. This is a song about finding a place of peace within and knowing that I am on the right track with my life.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 12, 2019
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tracks:
 
01. Top of the Mountains
02. Notes from Zion
03. Baby Faith
04. Kolob Canyon
05. Snow Canyon
06. The Living Planet
07. Ensign Peak
08. Flowing Waters
09. The Narrows
10. Finding Your Why
11. Angels Landing
12. This Is the Place

January 8, 2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Renee Michele-The Space Within

Release Date: January 1, 2019
Label: Independent

I  think one of the best things about an artist recording their album in Will Ackerman’s Imaginary Road Studios is all the standout musicians involved. 
On Renee Michele’s The Space Within she is afforded the expert assistance of Ackerman and Tom Eaton. For the musical contributors, there is Eugene Friesen (cello), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn), Jill Haley (English horn), Charlie Bisharat (violin), and Eaton (bass) and Ackerman (guitar, Hopi drum) respectively.

That kind of position is like going from strength to strength, and one any instrumentalist would like to be in. Although Renee’s piano is standout, the mixture of the additional instruments just enhances the entire recording. Renee is not short on confidence mind you, you can get the album with just the piano tracks if you wish. That says it all for an artist in total control of her own destiny. Just the realization of seeing an artist so empowered gives me a chill. It is a beautiful thing, and believe me, it all comes flowing through like a river that knows exactly where it’s going.

I really appreciate the input Renee provides on the inside cover of the CD. What I found most amazing is how grounded and grateful she is for her creativity and an audience. When she describes the title track and how she could feel like the musician and the audience at the same time, now that is to me is very spiritual. Renee is so unassuming and driven just by the music, which is so refreshing to hear. The combination of an artist like Renee and all the guest musicians makes for a powerful recipe for success.

Each track holds an essential meaning to the artist as if she dug deep down into her soul and let only her innermost spirit and thoughts find a way to speak through her fingers into the ivory keys. I am in awe of that kind of talent and connection one person can have with a higher sense of being. I think it is something all people should strive for, in this case, I think the level is attained with a purpose.

The Space Within or the space you want to change can be arranged by listening to these tracks, all 10, like the commandments written in stone, the music gives you the opportunity to step forward and never look back. Music from an enlightened spirit like Renee Michelle will surely capture your attention.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 8, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. My Angel
02. In the Mist
03. The Space Within
04. Tabula Rasa
05. Aspire
06. Life As a Cloud
07. Montana Breeze
08. The Road Less Traveled
09. Trees of Vermont
10. Communion

 

January 5, 2019

New Age Instrumental-Chamber: Nathan Speir-Searching for Nepsis

Release Date: February 1, 2019
Label: Neptic Music

Nathan Speir is a working man’s artist. He works during the day as an Electrician and makes music when he is not on that job. I personally can relate to that as I have been in the same type of lifestyle for over twenty years now. It is a choice and one that I have found to reap many benefits that I would otherwise never had.

I am talking about the music of course. So, besides the respect I have for indie artists, I can appreciate the whole picture. In other words, I get it. I understand how difficult it is to get balance with two livelihoods and also pay attention to your loved ones.

Nathan has a lot of music out there and Searching for Nepsis will be released in less than a month. The information I received put the entire project in proper perspective: Searching for Nepsis is an acoustic-electric album of ambient chamber music filled with cellos, violin, piano, singing bowls, electric bass, acoustic guitar, some synthesizers, a duduk, and cajon. 

The music is considered to be new age chamber. So, you definitely will hear the strong classical influence that is made up of many small instruments accompanied by the piano. I would not hesitate to add world to the overall genre of this recording, considering the array instruments like singing bowls, duduk, and cajon.

There is a steady drone that is created by the cello on this album in many of the tracks. I think that was brilliantly executed throughout. I actually thought it may be the duduk (which is on one track), which is an ancient double-reed woodwind instrument made of apricot wood. It reminded me of a recent album I heard that had Indian music. The drone sound is a point of concentration, like when you meditate, however you are able to hear all the other instrumentation. 

If you enjoy a lot of different instrumentation and some beautiful piano that leads the way then Searching for Nepsis will be a very satisfying listen. “Song Cycle for Creators” is a wonderful example of Nathan’s artistry. It is flourishing with emotions, colors and the grace of the heavens. It comes together in one track like the movement of the planets around the sun, it is a meeting of time and space with a specific reason.

Nepsis is the art of being watchful, and that can come in many forms.  As with any frame of reference, it all depends on you, the one listening to this music. As always, each individual has their own interpretation of what they hear, the artist that presents the music does have a goal in mind.  I would think the main function of this relaxing and contemplative set of tracks would be for you to focus, relax, center yourself and find peace within This can be a significant space in time that pertains to the title of the recording. 

Nathan Speir is an incredibly talented individual that creates amazing music for hungry souls to ingest and assimilate. For this listener, the end result is always positive and energizing. Get your ticket now for the journey.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 5, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. As the Sun Set 
2. Into the Night 
3. Forest Lights 
4. Warming Up the Heart 
5. Searching for Nepsis 
6. Stars Float in Shadows of Glory 
7. Song Cycle for Creators 
8. Morning Twilight

 

January 3, 2019

Instrumental New Age-Ambient-Electronic Review: Forrest Smithson-The Accomplished View

Release Date: September 22, 2018
Label: Sphere Music

If you look at the overview of artist Forrest Smithson on his Facebook page it says Soundscapes emerging from the integration of experiential intensities.”


“Lyrical and abstract elements converge to bring forth movement and expression of unity awareness.”

The release titled The Accomplished View has a very strong relationship to the music you will hear. The music Forrest provides for the students of meditation and those on a spiritual path, will understand the title of the recording once the music starts playing. And those of you searching for a new path can find it here within the music as well.

The message here is all about becoming your best self from within, beginning with the music, it is a gestation period before the flower blooms. In other words, when your mind, body, and soul merge into one functional entity. The oneness of self-awareness and the life of one guided by music that takes you to that level of existence can be one interpretation if that fits for you. That is for me and what the music means to me, each individual opens their own personal door to enlightenment regardless of the vehicle used to attain it. I believe this very firmly and have learned so much over the years about who I am and what makes me tick. And along with that train of thought, what makes the inner clock tick too fast, slow or backward. That kind of parallel can be like watching pictures go through your mind, it is a diary of your thoughts and emotions merging with the brain to show you it all in living color.

The music of Forrest Smithson is all of that coming together to intersect with your soul, the prime motivator of all you do, think and feel every day. I call it my higher power speaking to me, the gut level answer whether something is right or wrong. We all have the innate sense of that within is us. This music is a combination of new age, ambient and electronic that soothes your being. The peace you receive will allow you to reach The Accomplished View regarding everything I previously discussed.

Once again, I find myself thinking of the great Jean Michel-Jarre or Tangerine Dream. Those two artists are some of my favorites of all time so my relationship to the music Forrest provides is natural and it feels good. It quickly became right for my listening pleasure and to use as a tool that sends me in a positive direction.

I do not think a listener could ask for more from one recording. To those who know and those that seek The Accomplished View, this is your time to listen.

January 3, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 

01. Calling Forward
02. Given
03. Indigo Source
04. The Lighted Way
05. Deep Blue View   
06. Tranquility Drops
07. Future Origins
08. Positional Grace
09. Luminous Resolve
10. Knowing in Octaves

 

December 21, 2018

New Age World Instrumental: Mikuskovics Baum-Timeless

Release Date: December 21, .2018
Label: Independent

Mikuskovics Baum has a new release titled Timeless. It is significant that the date of release is the beginning of the Winter Solstice.

I think it is imperative that I took a snippet of information from the artist website so you can understand a bit more about them and their music.

Bernhard Mikuskovics & Georg Baum present sensitive and intimate but yet passionate and wild early European and Indo-European songs, dances and tunes as well as timeless improvisations in a contemporary outfit using vocals, overtone singing, jodeling, harp, guitar, Jew’s harp, bowed psaltery, ocarina, ethnic flutes & instruments.

That is a fair introduction to these two talented gentlemen. There are seven tracks and none under 6 minutes in length. The first track comes in at a substantial 11:36. The harp is a slice of heaven, the sounds that it makes are mesmerizing and quite appealing. When the other instruments are mixed in, or should I say the plethora of sounds, it creates amazing results. I think it is fair to say that the title of this artistry is appropriate. The music you will enjoy hearing is simply put, Timeless.

Timeless is the perfect blend of ancient traditions and new technologies for sound. Taking worldly instruments and using the recording studio’s wizardry is a marriage that works very well. I have had the pleasure of hearing these types of recordings many times now. The combination of new age and world fits like a glove or your favorite pair of jeans, the ones with the worn-out knees so you see nothing but white thread. Now that is pure comfort.  That is the key element here, feeling comfortable with the music. The sounds of so many wondrous instruments make it an easy transition. It is a magic door to open into musical nirvana. You then begin to envision your own personal heaven with the music.

Admittedly there are some instruments listed in the tracks that I have never heard of. That does not phase me, I just endeavor to learn more about what is being presented. The Sruti Box, for instance, uses bellows to create the drone you will hear and the KouXian is a general Chinese term for any variety of jaw harp. So, you not only hear the traditional Jew’s Harp you get different variations and configurations of that type of instrument. I find all this fascinating. There is so much more inside the music than meets the ears (and inner eye). There are cultures, traditions, and endless information that you can be exposed to, all you need is a little curiosity. When one listens to this recording and does some research, not only does it enlighten you, you become well informed with a new-found appreciation of what went into this music and how it was created.

Timeless is beauty, serenity, earthy tones, colors, the sounds and sights of many different peoples of the world coming together, it is like tapping into a global spiritual vein of gold. This is one of the more unique and interesting albums I have heard all year and a wonderful way to close out 2018 and head into the Holidays and bring in the new year. 

I look forward to 2019 with the anticipation of many more journeys offered by so many talented individuals like Mikuskovics and Baum. This is one recording you cannot miss out on if you enjoy instrumental world music with a variety of instruments. 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 20, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 1. Timeless Zenith (B. Mikuskovics / G. Baum)
Bernhard Mikuskovics: Parmupill, Mojave Flute, Native American Flute, Sruti Box, Georg
Baum: Harp

2. Intuition Element (G. Baum / B. Mikuskovics)
Georg Baum: Harp, Celtic Harp, Bernhard Mikuskovics: Sound Bowl, Mexican Log Drum,
Overtone Harp, Overtone Singing, KouXian, Sruti Box, Native American Flute

3. Mirror Ideal (G. Baum)
Georg Baum: Harp, Bernhard Mikuskovics: Dvojacka, Quenacho, Fujara, Jew´s Harp

4. Emotion Trance (G. Baum / B. Mikuskovics)
Georg Baum: Harp, Bernhard Mikuskovics: Sruti Box, Native American Flute, Khomus,
Horn Pipe, Ocarina

5. Life Land (B. Mikuskovics)
Bernhard Mikuskovics: Sound Bowl, Overtone Singing, Sruti Box, Fujara, Quenacho,
Dvojacka, Georg Baum: Harp

6. Endless Ozean (G. Baum / B. Mikuskovics)
Georg Baum: Harp, Bernhard Mikuskovics: Native American Flute.

7. Same Source See (G. Baum / B. Mikuskovics)
Georg Baum: Harp, Bernhard Mikuskovics: Khomus, Quenacho, Mojave Flute, Sruti Box,
Parmupil