March 12, 2018

New Age Instrumental Review: Lynn Evers Yew-Sunset Breeze

Release Date: March 1, 2018
Label: Independent

Lynn Evers Yew has just released her newest offering titled Sunset Breeze. The recording’s production values are outstanding, making it a listen beyond reproach.

My immediate thought was how a Sunset Breeze feels against your face. I think it becomes even more eventful when you are at the ocean watching the sun go down on another day.

The one factor that I can relate to the most with a recording like this is the intentional simplicity. I think the focus is prevalent while listening to music with just one instrument. The piano is the key to opening the door to any avenue one wishes to take. To be more specific, it is a tool to either relax, meditate or have played in the background while you are doing something else. You could say any music serves that purpose however that would be a generic outlook on what you can actually discover “inside” the music.

I also can feel the profoundness of Lynn’s music and how relates to life itself, in an all-encompassing way. The rhythm of the compositions is akin to the heartbeat of a human, an animal, all life that abounds through Mother Nature.  That is quite prolific in terms of how music can be perceived and or interpreted.

Music such as this is a universal language. It has no boundaries or preconceived lines in the sand per say. That does not imply that it is homogenized, however. Piano music can take many different forms and create atmospheres depending on the listener's mood, temperament or expectations. So many different factors come into play prior when listening to any new age instrumental track, particularly piano based.

Sunset Breeze is designed and created for the soul seeker, the contemplator, the lovers of life. Whatever applies to you, there is something that you can picture in your mind while listening to the music of Lynn Yew Evers. The beauty of the CD cover becomes evident once you hear the music. 

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 12, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. The Dancing Doll
02. Ocean Wind
03. Sunset Breeze
04. Oriental Moon
05. Soaring
06. Sunset Breeze
07. Where Do I Go From Here
08. Without Words
09. You Are The Promise, You Are My Home
10. Reminisce
11. Khai Qin's Song
12. Heim Angelus
13. A Walk In A Chinese Garden
14. Prelude in D Minor


March 9, 2018

New Age Instrumental-Classical Review: Heidi Breyer-Moonlight In Empty Rooms

Release Date: January 23, 2018
Label: Independent
Moonlight In Empty Rooms is Heidi Breyer’s fifth proper album. She worked exclusively with Charlie Bisharat, a superb violinist. The combination of piano and violins are not strange bedfellows. They both complement each other exquisitely, just like it was meant to be. It most certainly sounds that way to me when I hear that combination, which is often in the new age genre. 

The album is a musical tribute to her husband Alexander Volkav’s artwork. I saw a few of the pictures of his work and they are absolutely stunning. They are so lifelike and crystal clear, that you will find it hard to believe that a human being actually painted them.

Moonlight In Empty Rooms is like a river of songs moving along as nature would have it. When you see the water from far away it does not look like its moving too fast, as you get closer you can see what is really happening. This music is comparative to that. It is calm and engaging as it gently invites you in. Once you step through that door of complete envelopment in the tracks, you are now moving right along with it, up close and personal.

Like the art that Alexander creates, it is placed on a canvas of different shades and colors. Each track is a separate work of art just like her husband’s paintings. I often describe music in this fashion and honestly think the comparison is relative. Art comes in all forms and colors and so does music. You, the listener, are the open canvas ready for the music to create something within your heart, mind, and soul. I think Heidi accomplishes that with this gorgeous music. It comes presented with strong musicianship and accomplished production values.

Moonlight In Empty Rooms sets the standard at a high level for instrumental new age and classical recordings. This is as good as it gets.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 9, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Unfinished Conversation
02. Autumn Snowfall
03. Autumn in Bruges
04. Christian's Workshop
05. Moonlight in Empty Rooms
06. Eastertide
07. Rainy Day
08. The Sound and the Fury
09. Winter Rose
10. Half Hour Before Spring
11. Faith
12. End of Summer

March 6, 2018

Classical-New Age Review: Symphonex Orchestra-Music That Tells A Story

Release Date: March 1, 2018
Label: Music with No Expiration

Peter Xifaras is the creative force behind the Symphonex Orchestra. All the music on Music That Tells A Story was written, mixed & produced by Peter. Guest Artists include Felicia Farerre, Scott Jackson, Trammell Starks, Nic Xifaras, TheLivingPen and Joan Jacobs.

The one thing that rings true about this recording is that it is very ambitious. The twenty-one tracks encompass 2 CDs. This is like watching a Broadway play in your mind with all the music to accompany the visuals.

The music is a kaleidoscope of sound. The violins, violas, percussion, bass, guitar, piano and the orchestrations are absolutely beautiful. Peter is the creator and master conductor of all this music. It fits together quite nicely. The one thing you have to keep in mind is that the listening experience may be a bit unconventional for some folks. The first disc is more about the instrumentals. The emphasis for my ears was all the layers of instruments coming together to create this magic carpet ride of sound. The elegance and stunning pictures it can create is the charm of this music.

The opening track “Dreams in Bloom: The Encounter” is an ear opening experiencing with all the impactful instrumentation to lead the way. It is full of life and energy and the perfect way to open the curtain to this musical journey and story.

Disc two has music but a lot of narration, which puts more emphasis on the story that is being told. It was like listening to an audio book with music. As I said before, this is quite different for a listening experience. I could see this music being a musical/opera or a soundtrack to a movie. The possibilities for Music That Tells A Story can be a multitude of things because each disc is quite different.

I think the most impressive elements of this mixture of poems, stories, classical and new age music and the plethora of instruments involved, makes this project very compelling. For my personal tastes I would likely be reaching for disc one more often than disc two. To each his own. There is quite a lot for a listener to digest in the two CDs offered, including the beautiful vocalizations of Felicia Farerre.

If you are in the market for an entirely different listening experience, and, you are an appreciator of the arts (all inclusive), then give Music That Tells A Story a spin.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 6, 2018
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Dreams in Bloom: The Encounter
02. Dreams in Bloom: Falling
03. Dreams in Bloom: Garden by the Sea
04. Dreams in Bloom: The Letter9
05. Dreams in Bloom: The Quest
06. Dreams in Bloom: Reunion
07. Dinner with Friends
08. Variations on a Theme of Tromboncino-#1
09. Variations on a Theme of Tromboncino #2
10. Variations on a Theme of Tromboncino #3
11. Gymnopédie Variations: Jaune
12. Gymnopédie Variations: Blu
13. Hevene Quene: Introduction
14. Hevene Quene: Edi Beo Thu
15. Dreams in Bloom: Introduction (Story)
16. Dreams in Bloom: The Encounter (Story)
17. Dreams in Bloom: Falling (Story)
18. Dreams in Bloom: Garden by the Sea (Story)
19. Dreams in Bloom: The Letter (Story)
20  Dreams in Bloom: The Quest (Story)
21. Dreams in Bloom: Reunion (Story)


March 3, 2018

New Age Instrumental-Ambient Review:David Wahler-MOSAIC

Release Date: Feb 15, 2018
Label: Independent
Mosaic is the art of creating images with an assemblage of small pieces of colored glass, stone, or other materials. It is a technique of decorative art or interior decoration. That is how that word is defined. So how is it defined in a regard to music? You can think of it in the same way except this artist took pieces of music and put it all together to create his own work of art or musical painting if you will.

MOSAIC is the title of David Wahler’s latest release. The 11 tracks encompassing this record gives the potential listener a slice of utopia. This is a place one can go and forget about their troubles and live in peace and harmony with their surroundings.

I can see how it can take some time to write, produce and record an album. The new release is filled with piano, synthesizer, and various electronic textures, colors, and sounds of nature. The effort that went into this solo voyage incorporates all the tools an artist like David needs to record the music he intended. I would say that this recording turned out to be everything he could have wished for.

When I hear music that reminds me of artists like Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk and even some of the instrumentals on David Bowie’s Low, it gives me a pause to reflect. Brian Eno’s work was also influential in the ambient and synth-oriented genres. He partnered with Bowie on that release and others. When “Fou d'amour” started playing, it sparked all of those feelings and thoughts in me. Inside I was smiling. This was recognition for David and all the others that came before him to lay the groundwork for him to forge his own path.

The music that you will find on MOSAIC will endure the passing of time because it is transcendental. It crosses over and blurs the self-imposed lines in the sand some listeners may have. For my ears, it immediately lets my guard down, relaxes me and helps me to remember where this music originated in the first place. From where I sit that is very important and makes my experience that much more richer and enlightening.

Thank you, David, for the beautiful music that touched me in ways so many other genres simple cannot.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 3, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


01. Mosaic
02. Afterain
03. A Promise to Keep
04. Child of the Universe
05. August Cloud
06. Elysian Dawn
07. Heading Home
08. Sakura
09. Lone Sky Night
10. Fou d'amour
11. Why?


March 1, 2018

New Age/Jazz Instrumental Review: Joseph L. Young-Every Moment

Release Date: March 29, 2018
Label: Independent

It has been a few years since I covered Joseph L. Young’s Ethereum album. The focus on that album was the flute, now we have the arrival of Every Moment at the end of March. This time around there is a focus more on the saxophone, however, the flute is mixed in as well.

The many layers of instrumentation make the 12 tracks on this CD a delightful journey for the listener. I appreciated the mixture of all the instruments. The use of the synthesizer layered between the sax is brilliant. The atmospheres are a combination of new age and smooth jazz. I love that combination and most certainly would like to hear more. The variety is what draws me and keeps me interested.

When I looked at all of the influences of this artist it was a clarification of why I enjoy his music so much. Many of the artists mentioned, were some that provided an introduction to jazz and new age music for me as well.
Being pleased with a recording is acceptance. It is the first level of listening. I do not think you can go anywhere with the music unless you find commonality with it. For me, this was easy listening to Joseph’s offerings. The first thing is how you are stimulated by is the cover, which has many different meanings. It is placed before you to decide where you want it to take you. If Every Moment was precious to you and you felt grateful to be alive, don’t you think that your existence here on this earth would be more rewarding? So maybe this is what the artist is trying to say on the cover of the CD and in his music.

I think the cover is a work of art and the music that follows is as well. Elements of world, Native American, jazz, new age, and chill are all part of the package on Every Moment. This album was a nice change from what I normally hear when listening to new age. It is very original and inventive. I hesitate to say unique but it definitely is an eclectic mix that I enjoyed from beginning to end. That is a major accomplishment for any artist to achieve with a listener.  When you hear so much music all the time it becomes harder to find originality and a step away from the norm. For my ears that is a fact.

A fine example of that kind of diversity I am referring to is the eleventh track (by no coincidence) titled “Eleventh Hour.” It starts off with a swirling synth emulating the wind then the track takes off and continues to evolve. With nearly 6 minutes of that sax mesmerizing you and the synth melting away your stress makes for a very interesting progressive composition that invites you to listen very carefully. It is more thought-provoking and energizing than meditative tracks, which many of the other tracks can be. This is what makes it all so intriguing, you never know what is coming next.

Joseph L. Young gives us another masterpiece of sound and color to listen to. Just remember one thing, savor Every Moment of this gift of music and spirituality and thank Joseph when you can.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 1, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Prism
02. Falling Through Time
03. Every Moment
04. Twilight
05. Time Traveler (feat. Cornell Kinderknecht)
06. Once in a While
07. Vicariously Blue
08. Continuum
09. Chronos Dreams
10. Letting Go
11. Eleventh Hour
12. Evening Repose

February 27, 2018

New Age Instrumental Review: Anne Trenning and Friends-Beautiful Song

Release Date: February 19, 2018
Label: Shadetree Records

Beautiful Song  is Anne Trenning’s fifth proper album. The “and friends” includes James Todd, Bill Leslie, David Meyer, Rick Dior, Jane Brendle, Ciro Hurtado, Jeff Oster, John Magnie (The Subdudes), Brandon Bush, Josh Daniel and Mark Schimick. That is a very impressive and talented group of friends!

Beautiful Song is a collection that includes five original compositions and six cover selections from a multitude of genres. The best part is that it is all done in Anne’s special way. Her talented fingers flow with a gracefulness and purpose throughout these eclectic offerings.

Anne’s talent is obvious from the very beginning and as she moves from strength to strength so does all of her guest musicians. Every contributing artist adds their distinct touch and own layer of instrumentation to make Anne’s piano playing deeper and brighter. It fits together so well.

I liked the Celtic flavored tracks such as the opener and title track. And with even more distinct Celtic influences, “Miller Gap“ caught my ear.  Moving from one country to next, “El Farol” has a definitive Spanish flair to it. Every song has the ability to transport you somewhere. If you have familiarity with the parts of the world that each track brings to mind, it will certainly get you there a lot quicker. And hopefully, sweet memories will fill your thoughts and spirit. And if you have not traveled to these lands it will inspire you to do so! Only powerful and convincing music can accomplish painting those pictures so clearly in your mind’s eye.

Anne Trenning and her talented guest musicians build a monument of music on the 11 tracks. The charm, colors and the multiflavored musical journeys are like going to your favorite sweet shop and enjoying some tasty delights. Each one has its own characteristics and ambiance, and I think that is why I appreciated it so much. 

Beautiful Song will hold you mesmerized from beginning to end.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 27, 2018
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


01. Beautiful Song
02. Helpless (N. Young)
03. You Will Know My Love
04. El Farol (C. Santana)
05. Do I Hear Christmas?
06. Miller Gap
07. It’s A Great Day To Be Alive (D. Scott)
08. Hard Times Come No More
09. Building The Barn (M. Jarre)
10. If I Could Be With You
11. Go Light Your World (C. Rice)

February 24, 2018

New Age Instrumental Review: Pam Asberry-Seashells In My Pocket

Release Date: October 13, 2017
Label: Independent

Artist like Pam Asberry inspires me. I always travel a road to inner peace and inspiration with new age music, this time it was different.

Pam taught piano for 40 years and never believed she could create her own music. She finally decided to write her first song and one thing led to another and now we have her first album Seashells In My Pocket. That experience is a lesson to us all. A door will not open if you don’t make an attempt to open it. You must do the initial work to walk through it and to get to the other side. 

I see that the beach and the ocean provided Pam with plentiful material to create her first album. The 13 tracks offered on her maiden voyage, are all about the ocean, its surrounding and solitude and clear thinking it provides those seeking it. It most certainly worked for her in many ways. Pam creates some simple and effective melodies throughout this recording. It is simple in regard to it being one instrument which is not a take away from the compositions she presents.

A lot of this music is very restful and healing, which is perfect for meditating or just sitting and listening, allowing your mind to empty. There are some tracks that do change the mood and atmospheres as well. For example, “Dunn's River Falls” picks up the pace considerably. It was like listening to a rolling tide hitting the shore via her piano. That is what I envisioned however she had something else in mind which was a river flowing into a fall. I was focused on the piano playing then letting it take me to wherever it wanted. That is what any listener would do I am sure.

The absolute beauty and personality of music like this will allow you to create your own movie in your mind then your soul creates a path. Instrumental piano music is singular yet diverse in its purpose. It lets us create something new in each song. It was like Pam handed me a virtual paintbrush and I decided to create my own masterpiece alongside her own. Simplistic, picturesque and personal - that is an encapsulation of Seashells In My Pocket.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 24, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


01. Cozumel Blue Waters
02. Wishing Stones
03. Island Cathedral
04. Sleepy Tide
05. Moonlight over Moorea
06. Dunn's River Falls
07. Palm Trees Sway
08. Mysterious Caverns
09. Cadillac Mountain Sunset
10. The Mermaid's Tears
11. Monterey Morning
12. Ocean Stars
13. Sailing Home