Showing posts with label Ryan Judd. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ryan Judd. Show all posts

Instrumental Acoustic New Age Track Reviews: Ryan Judd-The Lost Summer

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream


"The Lost Summer” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Ryan Judd’s new featured track.

Refined acoustic sounds emanate from the fingers of Ryan Judd to his acoustic guitar on this simple yet defined track. The singularity of one man and one guitar can be a prolific experience for the listener seeking the quiet and solitude of the experience.

The cover artwork illustrates the loss of one season and the birth of another. Its beauty and grace are well-defined in the notes that the artist creates with his guitar. It all folds into each aspect to become one work of art.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 4, 2021

Acoustic Instrumental-New Age-Meditation Review: Ryan Judd-Soaring Together

Release Date: February 26,2021

Label: The Rhythm Tree


Ryan Judd returns in 2021 with Soaring Together. My introduction to Ryan and his music was the 2018 release An Open Sky.  I was very impressed by how beautifully matched his acoustic guitar playing was with Kristen Miller’s cello. Once again that duo presents ten tracks of absolute blissfulness.

Judd’s delicate touch on his guitar and the sound of the nylon strings produce a very pleasing sound. The way his sound melds with Kristen’s cello is a match made in musical heaven. And the end result is like you are actually in another dimension or your own personal heaven, that suddenly became your reality thanks to the music.

I love the cover art and how the title shows you how we all can start Soaring Together. This is the kind of message that hits home rather readily when you look at the layers of colors in that picture. This is interpreted through the music in layers as well. As I always say, it is all in how you perceive the image and music being presented. What I hear in this instrumental acoustic new age meditation are all three of those elements joining hands to create this amazing soundscape for each listener to get some relief from stress, worry, exhaustion, all of those negative aspects of many lives these days. When you are weary of fighting those battles during the course of a 24-hour period you need something to pull you out of that void of negativity. This is music to soothe the savage beast of energy stealing emotions.

It is indicated in the artist's one sheet that he felt deep love and loss which is translated in the music. This can be heard in the tracks if you listen intently. On the other side of that is the joy and a child’s wonder to reflect upon. How often does an adult look through the lens of a child? I would think very rarely. For me it is being with furry friends or watching the simplicity of nature in front of you, like the wind in the trees, a bird singing, any number of things bring about that sense of wonderment I felt as a child. It really is not that hard to find, you just have to uncloud those emotions and flip that internal switch from being a serious adult to a care free innocent child. Everything becomes clear, focused, and unencumbered by the responsibilities of your life weighing on your shoulders.

This album was so seamless and flowing it was like one track as an entity in lieu of going from one track to another and singling any out. This is why I did not mention any particular track. Every track was beautiful music perfection as far as I am concerned. It all fell together for my listening experience. As the music led me down that path to feeling whole, I listened to it as one because it made me feel clear and uninfluenced by outside forces (noises of car doors slamming, a TV on etc.). I am not sure if that makes any sense to some folks but it sure did to me and that is how I could explain it.

Yes, music can get you to that place and it takes music from people like Ryan Judd and recordings like Soaring Together. So, come along for the ride with Ryan and Kristen because Soaring Together is better than going it alone.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
January 22, 2021

Track List:

01. Innocence Lost
02. A Child's Wonder
03. Sharing the Joy
04. Hearts Entwined
05. On Her Wings
06. Never to Return
07. A Waltz with Jena Lynn
08. Alone Inside
09. Soaring Together
10. A Look in the Mirror

Acoustic Instrumental Review: Ryan Judd-An Open Sky

Release Date: September 7, 2018
Label: Two Owls Music

Ryan Judd is a board-certified music therapist with a master's degree in music therapy and psychology. He works with children with special needs and found it was his calling once the opportunity was put in front of him. Bless people like Ryan, where would we be without out these saints to help us?

He also happens to be a very good guitar player. His music led him to his education and his final destination. His service is called The Rhythm Tree, which is very appropriate for his chosen field. An Open Sky introduces his music that helps his clients.

With the exquisite cello playing of Kristen Miller to accompany him, the album offers 10 tracks of acoustic bliss. I wonder if the Two Owls (Music) are referring to the two folks making all the music on this album?

If the instruments are played well and the arrangements are right for the particular instruments it can work very well. In this case, it certainly turns out that way as this duo combine to create some heavenly sounds. The whole idea behind this is that music is healing - yes, it is! I think with this fairly new profession of music therapy, that has come into focus more prominently. I remember watching a story about Glen Campbell when he was in the earlier stages of Alzheimer's and how he could remember all the words to his songs but anything else was a struggle. That is the power of music. Before he died he recorded an amazing album called Ghost on the Canvas. That story and that music have made such an impression on me, I will never forget it. It totally changed my way of thinking when it comes to music, the healing kind. 

All of those thoughts and feelings quickly coalesce for me when I hear music like I heard on An Open Sky. I think in this timeframe, the one that all of this was recorded, the artist opened his heart and soul to create this beautiful music. It does not take long for me to realize that after I understand why the music was made and for what purpose. I do not need that as an influence to hear and write about music, however, knowing more about how it came to be, made the listening experience that much more powerful. It is a tool to heal those that need help in any way, not necessarily for those that have special needs, anyone that needs some sort of healing can benefit from music like this.

Thanks to more and more people like Ryan Judd and recordings like An Open Sky I have evolved as a listener and spiritually. I am amazed at the power music holds for any listener. There is a lot of thought and effort that goes into making music so important to so many people. So, I say with all of my heart and soul, thank you, Ryan, for what you do for people and helping to make me a better person by listening to your music and reading your story.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
August 25, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

01. Looking Back
02. The Embrace
03. An Open Sky
04. Heartstrings
05. Weightless
06. Autumn Light
07. Spanish Sunrise
08. Her Beauty Shines Through
09. Under the Willow Tree
10. Winter Harbo