Showing posts with label Stephen Peppos. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Stephen Peppos. Show all posts

Contemporary Instrumental/New Age: Stephen Peppos-Botanical

 Release Date: October 18, 2021

Label:  ‎Sonic Bear Music

Website

Botanical carries the theme of nature and all its beauty through the music. Based on my experience with Stephen’s music, I expect to find intrigue everywhere throughout my listen. I am glad to report that is what happened.


“Sun Dancer” and the title track “Botanical” were the peak of this musical evolution for my ears. The different sounds, rhythms, and various instrumentations merge into a burst of color and light. With that thought and perception, you can see how the connection to nature and its bounty aligns with this expressive music that brings different shades, colors, and light to you aurally.

This magnificent artistry found through the eleven tracks on this recording offers individual listeners their soundscape to create images that come to mind, hopefully, those suggested through the track titles.

What you will enjoy on Botanical is an eclectic musical diversion that will enrich your soul. From contemporary instrumental, world, and all built from a new age perspective, Stephen Peppos invites you into his magical musical garden of delights. He brings you “Sunshine” to enlighten you and nurture and uplift your spirit. And that track, in particular, has a world flavored ambiance injected with vocals from another country would be Africa. That kind of ability and worldly diversity keeps it all fresh and inviting from start to finish.

I noted all of the fantastic rhythms and bass that run like a tapestry intrinsic to every track. A giant cross-section of listeners will enjoy music like this, and it knows no boundaries, only those that are self-inflicted by a listener. You can find a true sense of joy and hope on Botanical with an open mind and heart. I certainly did, and with an immense amount of respect for its creator.

Stephen Peppos knows how to create exciting music. It is hard to define but delightful to listen from track to track.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 1, 2021

Tracks:
01. MORNING  5:17     
02. ABOVE THE TREES  5:01       
03. DANCING DAHLIAS  5:39    
04. SUN  DANCER   6:38     
05. BOTANICAL  5:41       
06. PEPPERMINT  GARDEN  5:15   
07. SUNSHINE  5:03     
08. JOY IN THE SUMMER  4:56    
09. NOCTURNAL  4:11   
10. THE  FLOWERS  WILL  BLOOM  EARLY  THIS  YEAR  5:36
11. HOPE A NEW  5:57

New Age/Contemporary Instrumental Review: Stephen Peppos-And Then Came Love

Release Date: January 20, 2020
Label: Sonic Bear Records
Website

And Then Came Love is the third release I have had the opportunity to hear from Stephen Peppos. The all-instrumental new age and contemporary piano selections are all about the same topic, love.

Interesting enough the title track is the very last track. I have not noticed that too much on releases in the past. It is a good idea however, as it reminds you once again what the title of the recording is and the entire meaning of the fourteen tracks being offered. There is a reason for the order of tracks, I think if you asked any artists that, their reply would yes, and for many different reasons.

There is a common-sense thread with the way the tracks are titled and a definitive meaning and progression. Some folks may think that is not that important or even notice, but I do. I try to look at the entire package being presented including artwork, track names, and order or any lyrics. In this case, it is all instrumental so it is entirely up to each listener to find their meaning and interpretation of every track and in the end, what it means personally. After all, isn’t the subject of love a separate meaning for everyone? Whether it is for another person, place, event or a family pet. The word love can be applied to all of that and more.

Stephen plays a very expressive and poignant type of piano. The title and the track do fit if you can look beyond the music, then let it encapsulate your being and open your heart to whatever comes your way. Music like this has no barriers of time and space, it inhabits the space you’re in and moves you to another plane of thought and existence. And thank god for that. With all of those thoughts prevailing, the power and healing that this kind of music can bring you is boundless. You can call Stephen the Doctor of Music on And Then Came Love. Love is coming your way by the end of this recording, and yet another reason why to have the title track as the curtain closer!

The beauty and grace of the music contained on this album will be enjoyed by all those that come within listening distance intentional or not, it will catch your ear and warm your heart. To know there is such magnificence in one instrument is one of the wonders of life. Because of that realization, I find a tremendous amount of gratitude when I listen to this music. My suggestion would be to listen to this as much as you can, particularly if you need a reprieve from stress or a very busy day. And Then Came Love will turn it all around and put a smile in your heart and soul.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

January 11, 2020

Founder of:
The Final on Vinyl
MuzikMan Productions
MuzikMan Reviews
Write A Music Review
Prog Rock Music Talk
New Age Music Reviews
Rate The Tracks

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 

01. Love You
02. Meant To Be
03. A Love So True
04. Love & Affection
05. For A Lifetime
06. The Spark of Love
07. Everlasting Love
08. In Your Eyes
9.  A Playful Glance
10. Since I Found You
11. My Sweet Love
12. When We First Met
13. Forever In My Heart
14. And Then Came Love


Instrumental Ambient/New Age Review: Stephen Peppos-Deep Listen

Release Date: January 15, 2019
Label: Sonic Bear Music

Atmospheric and ambient music can be used as a tool for any type of focus or mindset.  It takes a talented artist like Stephen Peppos to create music that allows that process to happen. I got a good taste of his capabilities two years ago on Leaving Terra Firma. With a title like that it would certainly indicate that the music allows you to leave the earth, you stand on. The music backs that thought with conviction.

Deep Listen is another foray into the ether that will satisfy anyone that is looking to meditate and have a spiritual and perhaps an out of body experience. This music is very spacey but smooth and relaxing at the same time. Its calming effect works well on a tired soul, bringing solace with synth and keyboard sounds, and at times, the sound of the ocean waves hitting the shoreline. That is exactly what you will find on “Aural Mists.” 

The track is a solid 9:07 minutes of music meets natures blissfulness. The sound of waves alone is a wonderful thing however if you add the right sounds with your music, a beautiful marriage is consummated and you the listener are the recipient.  It is like a blossoming flower feeling the first rays of the new day sun.
I really like the title of the CD because what you take is a “deep dive” right into a Deep Listen. The cover is very inviting and the colors are immediately soothing to the eye. It unconsciously connects with your mind to set you up for the musical journey. Fans of Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, and Jean Michel Jarre will love this album. I personally enjoy all of that music so it was easy for me to get swept away by this recording and find a meaning that made sense and felt just right.

The masterwork is “Algorithm” which runs for 12:56. By definition, an “Algorithm” is a process or set of rules to be followed in calculations or other problem-solving operations, especially by a computer. Our brain functions like a computer when necessary so why can’t this music be something to process and calculate? In a sense that is what I am expressing with my words. And it just made me think in those terms by saying the word.

Right away the title implies something scientific and hi-tech. Is it thinking man’s music? I guess it depends on who you are what your interest is and what exactly challenges your mind. I do not feel challenged listening to this track in particular, it has the same purpose and effect on me like all the others. I think something needs to be said for taking a track and spreading out the composition with some diversity in sounds and textures. This is the mark of a true artisan, a craftsman of his trade. Stephen is able to make this a real masterpiece of ambient nuances that weave together and make it whole.

In the end, Deep Listen lives up to its name and gives the listener 1 hour and 18 minutes of musical chicken soup for the soul. It is one recipe that you will be reaching for more than once to chill and let the day just melt away.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 14, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Twilight
02. Break of Dawn
03. Tonality  
04. Aural Mists
05. Wide Open
06. Awake
07. Transmogrify
08. Vivid
09. Algorithm
10. Breathe




Instrumental New Age/Ambient Review: Stephen Peppos-Leaving Terra Firma

Release Date: January 8, 2017
Label: Sonic Bear Music

Leaving Terra Firma  is the fifth studio release for Stephen Peppos.  He has also produced over 2000 tracks for his original music libraries, composed national TV jingles, and worked with some of the best music library companies in the world. To say that the man has talent and experience is an understatement.


The recording came out at the beginning 2017 and it offers a listener an opportunity to escape the everyday life syndromes we fall into at times.  Life can be routine, boring or utter chaos, and regardless of the state we are in now, we do need help to refocus or just get some “me” time. The time to center, relax and drift off into another reality empties out the mind and the soul, which brings a sense of calm.

Leaving Terra Firma not only suggests that we leave the ground it helps you to do so for your own wellbeing. Stephen orchestrates the soundscapes that are created then you gradually find yourself falling away into the ambient textures and layers. I would classify this music as ambient however the new age qualities are very strong as well. The lure and power of the spacey sounds and orchestrations are as inviting as they could be. There is a different place that awaits us when we leave this earth and perhaps this a preview of what it will be like.

Although the 13 tracks are dissimilar, the ultimate result is they all have the same effects and results. The subtle nuances of the keyboards are heightened by the supporting orchestrations and instrumentation. The universal language of the soul coincides with the music. This is not coincidental; it is a fact and if you listen to this entire recording you will realize the importance and relevancy of what artists like Stephen Peppos accomplish with his music.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 5, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Leaving Terra Firma    
02. Magnetic Fields    
03. Vita Secundom Vita    
04. Everlast    
05. Sea Of Joy    
06. Translucence    
07. Praesentia Animi
08. Moth On A Purple Flower
09. Affluere (Adrift Toward)
10. Amor Dei
11. To See
12. Finalis
13. Cold But Warm Peace