Showing posts with label Instrumental New Age World Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Instrumental New Age World Reviews. Show all posts

Instrumental New Age-World Review: Joseph L Young-Into The Unknown

Release Date: July 8, 2022

Label:  Independent


When I listen to Joseph L Young’s new release, Into The Unknown, I think of the color of the music. Joseph’s eclectic range and instrumentation on the flute, saxophone, and keyboards make a full-bodied presentation of tracks for the potential listener. It is a new age-world experience you will find enjoyable without fail.

Journeying Into The Unknown can be a frightening process. Having some help to ease you into that plane of existence is always the preferred route for most of us. It also depends on your end goal, what you seek, and, more importantly, what will you do when you get there?

This music is a tool, a doorway to another frame of reference, thought process, and an opportunity to shift to a relaxing meditative state to recharge those internal batteries you have drained during the day. I have been working 11-12 days for over twenty years. I can use some help in that area of my life. If you are like me or have similar days, you will surely appreciate the tracks offered on this release.

Here is a way to look at all this based on the track titles; if you are using this music to get into a fully relaxed and or meditative state and find yourself “Between Worlds,” you can look “Beyond The Horizon” of that state and find your own “Transcendence” within the music. That sounds like a logical progression, even though it’s a play on words. I can see that path before me from where I process the tracks, and I hope you can put that together for your benefit while listening.

Then, of course, there are the more experimental and spacey tracks befittingly titled “Into The Unknown.” That is quite a step away from all the other music; however, I did appreciate it, and it served as a point where you can stop and reassess where you are at in the process for your own needs. I find it interesting that it was the title track where all this reached beyond the norm to find a different sound, with all the texture and colors layered to create a different effect and result than the previous tracks.

The beauty of the music always wins the day. The compositions and production are quintessential to providing the complexities of sounds and nuances on a platform to let them shine. I think Joseph L Young has created a new age world masterpiece this year.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

June 2, 2022


01. Into the Unknown

02. Remembrance of Time

03. Enchanted

04. Secrets of Stone

05. Beyond the Horizon

06. Between Worlds (remix)

07. Transcendence

08. The Forgotten

09. Eclipsed

10. Windswayed

11. Ancestral Crossings

Instrumental New Age-World Review: Bodhi-Deep Dream-Shamanic Flute Journeys

Release Date: November 1, 2020

Label: Independent


Deep Dream
is my first Shamanic Flute Journey with Bodhi. This prolific artisan has 14 albums available at Bandcamp. I did notice he is offering all the albums in one package at 20% off right now if anyone has an interest. I thought that fact was noteworthy and he deserves attention to his recorded works.

Bodhi Setchko (Flutes, Keyboards, Bells, Chimes, Charango, Guitar, and Drum), Christopher Krotky (Drums, Drum programming), Jen Rund (Bass), and Spencer Nielson (Didgeridoo) are the vital combination of talent and spirituality that is the focus of Deep Dream.

The first and title track “Deep Dream,” got me engaged and attentive immediately. The mystical sound of Bodhi’s flute and the subtle drone of the Didgeridoo was very mesmerizing as well. That ancient instrument can sound like a worker bee just buzzing and inviting you to the center of the hive where everything is happening. That is what I felt and envisioned after just one track. I immediately added it to my New Age Music Reviews Spotify Playlist. I feel honored to have this opportunity to hear this music and provide my input so I am returning the good karma.

It comes as no surprise that Bodhi has been working with sound meditation, sound healing, and sacred sound journeys for over 40 years. Around the globe, his music is used in yoga studios, health spas, and health practitioners’ offices. I can understand the therapeutic effect this blessed music can have, experiencing it first hand is the best way to be able to convey your interpretation or simply use it for meditation, relaxation, or listening enjoyment and let those in your circle, or should I say bubble these days, take their journey and decide how it works for them.

The beautiful combination of the flute, drums, sounds of nature, bells, keyboards, guitar, bass, etc. is what makes this music so exceptional and alluring. Having that present drone to focus on for meditative purposes is helpful. Once focus is attained then it becomes natural to let all the colors, textures, and amazing sounds permeate your soul.

Whether it’s the sounds of crickets or water it fits so well with what they are presenting. This is very complex to put all of this together for it to make sense and have the ability to pull you in. This process will allow you to open that portal to your mind, body, and spirit for the complete audio experience Bodhi and his band members are offering you.

The shortest track is “Behind The Buddha,” clocking in at 6:34 and the longest is “Gathering Dawn” at 9:55. This gives each listener ample time to settle in and utilize the therapeutic tools on offer. If you are a novice or old pro at meditation, or you can get in focus readily or it takes you some time, Deep Dream will serve you well.

Congratulations to Bodhi and the band for making an incredible album and presenting such a wonderful gift to humanity. I think that puts it all into proper perspective.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 30, 2020

Track List:
1. Deep Dream 08:57
2. Gathering Dawn 09:55   
3. Every Breath 08:05
4. Desert Canvas 09:54
5. Alone 07:30
6. Surrounding Mountains 07:14
7. Waves Of Color 09:26
8. Behind The Buddha 06:34
9. Purple Shadows 08:24