Showing posts with label David J. Peña. Show all posts
Showing posts with label David J. Peña. Show all posts

David J. Peña-The Journey-Contemporary Instrumental Review

Release Date: January 6, 2023

Label: Independent


David Pena’s 
The Journey starts with “The Sun Will Rise Again.” As you look at the image on the album cover of the soldier, some light is behind those darkened skies. A piano player extraordinaire takes us on another contemporary instrumental journey.


I am a veteran, and my father was a WWII veteran. So, there is some sadness attached to that. That first track felt emotional, and I was sad but had some hope around the corner. And that hope and energy were found on the next track, “Kaleidoscope.” When you hear that word, the first thought is a panorama of colors and light. That is the kind of positive energy I needed after all the feelings initiated by the first track.


“Tribute to W. Tx Pianist Doug Smith” transitions to softer touch on the keys. There is warmth and honesty that comes through. The connection from one artist to another was unique, and David provided a lovely tribute.


“You Took My Heart With You” sounds like it will be a tear-jerker and some reminiscing. The title certainly paints those feelings on the musical canvas. The orchestrations are gorgeous as they accompany David’s nimble fingers on the keys. 


“The Journey” continues with upbeat and high hopes as the instrumentalist reaches for the highest mountain and invites you to come along. The piano is rich with rhythm and purpose, and the orchestrations are exciting and moving. The emotions ebb and flow like a river after a rainfall, then it slows down and ends. 


“Eerie Night” sets the stage for pensiveness. As David starts to play, it does not create that feeling until the song is around the 1:50 mark; then, it climbs the ladder of musical anticipation. The stage is set, and the atmosphere is appropriate as you wonder what is coming next.


Fortunately, “Good Feeling” comes your way for a dramatic turn of moods. The fast-moving instrumentation opens the door to better days. David’s piano sounds bright and fluid and, yes, happy. I felt those good chills go up my back and down my arm. I knew something special was happening while listening.


“Stargazing” can be an exhilarating experience and, at times, a spiritual one. My son told me he was looking at the night sky one night, and I felt small. I thought that made sense. The vast and beautiful expanse of planets and stars can be mind-boggling. Well, at least it has been for me. David’s eloquent piano paints the right picture.


“New Beginnings” gives you the hope and promise of a new day. In our fast-moving technological world, we forget to be grateful to wake up every day. You think about those things if you are close to losing your life, which happened to me last November. The underpinnings of the new age genre run through this track like a golden thread holding it all together so beautifully. 


“Breakout” is the curtain closer. And it is a self-fulfilling prophecy, if you will, as David cuts loose and gives the keys a workout with tremendous energy and feeling. The track is panoramic and full of color and life with the growing pace of the orchestrations and the piano. I love the way this album closes out.


The Journey is everything it says it is and more. David J. Peña has released a recording to remember.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-NAMR Founder

April 10, 2023

Track List:

01. The Sun Will Rise Again

02. Kaleidoscope

03. Tribute to W. Tx Pianist Doug Smith

04. You Took My Heart With You

05. The Journey

06. Eerie Night

07. Good Feeling

08. Stargazing

09. New Beginnings

10. Breakout

Contemporary Instrumental Review: David J. Peña-Thinking of You

Release Date: June 13, 2020

Label: Independent



David J. Peña is a drummer and piano player. One look at his picture and he looks like a drummer, big and strong as an oak tree. His music is not a reflection of his physical stature by any means.

On his website it says:
Peña’s musical career has explored various genres, including Contemporary Christian, Lite Rock, and New Age Instrumental, and has drawn influence from icons such as Jim Brickman, Yanni, James Horner, and Hans Zimmer.

Everyone has their influences however once you listen to his new release Thinking of You, you will realize readily that he has his sound and his stamp and production values in place. The cover photo says it all, it is the singularity of the piano that takes center stage and it is David’s talented fingers that do all the talking needed.

David’s music is cinematic and exciting. It is a contemporary instrumental sound underpinned by the tenets of new age. I found every track filled with tremendous energy, rhythm, color, and a kind of anticipatory excitement. This is the kind of energy that flows right into your consciousness and affects your entire being. I felt completely energized and so happy hearing this music. It is a great way to feel after a hard day at work, that is for certain.

I loved the entire album but I had to choose one single track that got my attention and gave me great pleasure, and that was “Piangere Per Te.” I added it to my New Age Music Reviews Spotify Playlist (75th entry since the playlist went live).  

David knows how to bring the beauty of the music to you, the listener. The majesty of this instrumental montage will please any person interested in hearing music powerful enough to make an impression without words. That is exactly what Thinking of You can offer anyone within range of hearing this great music.

I know some of us tend to push ourselves every day to get as much as we can into being productive out of our day jobs. I am guilty of that but yet find satisfaction in it all when I am done. My relief valve is my music and music such as the kind you will hear from David J. Peña. It gives me what I need to get calm, centered, and re-energized to do it all again one more day. Thank you for the music!

Additional Credits:
Orchestral Arrangements: Judah Earl
Mixing Engineer: Greg Hill
Mastering Engineer: Brian Calhoun

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-TFOV Founder
October 7, 2020

Track List:
01. Renaissance
02. Serenity
03. Piangere Per Te
04. Wild and Free
05. Smoke Signals Rising    
06. Good Day (Uzziah's Song)
07. Grace
08. Mystify
09. Farewell
10. Thinking of You
11. Anaiah's Song
12. Yesteryear    
13. Lighthouse