Showing posts with label Instrumental Ambient Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Instrumental Ambient Reviews. Show all posts

Instrumental Ambient Review: Jon Durant-Alternate Landscapes

Release Date: May 3, 2019
Label: Alchemy Records

My introduction to Jon Durant came in 2018 when he released Parting Is. His unique use of guitars I found to be very intriguing. 

Alternate Landscapes is along the same path but an expansion of what he was doing on the last release, this time with the use of synths. The music is ambient and electronic with Jon’s cloud guitar signature driving the compositions.

I made sure to include the track times because without that as an indicator people would assume that this was EP. That could not be further from the truth as the shortest track is 6:56 and the longest rolls in at 20:32.

After looking at the track titles I had to wonder what each one meant. The only one I recognized was “Aragon.” Have a little fun and look up all the track titles to see what they mean. I can tell you this, they are all destinations. Speaking of going somewhere, you are probably wondering where this music will take you. All this music has a destination as indicated by the track titles; however, I do believe that is up to each individual listener.  So, before you give this music a listen, stop, think, then decide how you will use this music as a tool to achieve your own destination.

I really cannot qualify this music as new age, perhaps a sub-genre thereof would be the best way to put it. It is atmospheric, dreamy, and billowy like a cloud. It pulls you out of one space and puts you in another rather quickly. At times it gave me the feeling of being submerged in water and thus that “floating” weightless feeling of mind, body, and soul. It can be a beautiful thing if you can let the music work its magic.

I would think that the folks that work in film making should take a good look at what Jon Durant can offer for soundtracks and effects for all sorts of films and documentaries. This music is Alternate Landscapes in a definitive sense, musically of course. Most listeners that enjoy ambient or new age will really appreciate this release.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 8, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 
1. Systravatn 15:56
2. Aragon 6:56
3. Ciel Du Cheval 20:32
4. Dinkelsb├╝l 15:11 



Instrumental Ambient Review: Jon Durant-Parting Is

Release Date: January 18, 2018
Label: Alchemy Records

When I heard the name Jon Durant it made me think, I know that name. I also felt like I had heard a similar sound somewhere. That is quite likely however as it turns out when I had the muzikreviews.com site running, one of my staff covered the Colin Edwin and Jon Durant release Burnt Belief. That was in December 2012.

What I really can appreciate in the music industry is artists helping artists. That is exactly what Jon does on his own Alchemy Records. Who understands a musician more than one of their own? Today this is commonplace and it should have happened eons ago. With that being said, Jon knows how to create some of his own significant pieces of music as well.

Parting Is (such sweet sorrow?) the latest release by Jon. It came out in the middle of January 2018. He uses no synths on this recording (you could have fooled me), which I found quite astounding. 

Jon uses a broad selection of PRS (Paul Reed Smith) guitars which includes an electric 12 string, cloud guitar, Koll Tornado fretless guitar, Klein electric guitar, and the Spector Fretless bass. With this amazing array of electrified guitars, the talented Mr. Durant takes guitar-based music to another place. It is like taking a journey into unchartered waters or space beyond our own galaxy. As this artist explores these new soundscapes you will find yourself wondering how this was all this was accomplished on Parting Is. I believe the cloud guitars are the instruments that create the synth sounds, that just makes sense to me.

When you look at the cover art of this recording you wonder what Jon is trying to convey. I think most artists are sending a message with the cover art although some just like using certain colors or a fancy image they saw. As simplistic as this image seems it does tell a story, a developing story. I see peacefulness that has an impending change, the calm before the storm? Parting Is what? Perhaps parting from the serene colors that the picture shows and the grey (area?) clouds signaling that the rain is coming or a violent storm. But there is light shining through the darkness which gives you hope. Is this a reflection of life itself? We can see things are looking terribly dreary then suddenly a light comes shining through to cast out the darkness and bring things back into focus. This my own personal musical hypothesis, surely everyone would have their own.

I really enjoy the process that an artist can present with art and music. The music on this nine-track CD is beautiful, elegant, haunting, and most importantly, full of musical emotion and colorful imagery. This music lives and breathes and tells the story, but the best part is it can be your story, just look a little further, inside the music…

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
May. 18, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Clouds in Advance
02. Open Window
03. Travels Within
04. The Room Where She Waits
05. Before the Rain Falls
06. Evolve in Place
07. Ecliptic Shadows
08. Returning to the Departure   
09. Willamette Fog


Instrumental Ambient Review: DLAIVISION-Sign of Us

Release Date: December 5, 2016
Label: 2016 DLAERS

The first track on DLAIVISION’s debut album Sign of Us gave my ears the proceed with caution notice. I found out quite quickly that was a false alarm. As the timeless saying goes - you cannot judge a book by its cover, you need to open it and look through the pages!

The change I experienced happened very quickly. I took pause because I do understand why any artist wants to open the curtain to their album with some bounce and energy.

“Dreams” kicks things off with quick moving electronica dance beats.  In some cases, depending on the way it is mixed, and the amount of changes a track like this goes through, I either find a groove I like or I don’t. I decided I was not interested in hearing more of that and as I went from track to track, I heard many changes and strokes of diversity. It was an amazing change of mood and thought patterns for me. That is exactly how it all started, so wait if you happen to feel the same way for some reason, you need to keep listening. This recording just keeps getting better and better. I have learned over the years to keep and open heart and my mind will follow. It works.

As this album progressed I could appreciate the all-around talent DLAIVISION has. Dlaivison Ribamares Silva was a musical child prodigy that appreciated classical, prog, electronica and many different technologies. Bending and molding technology is not easy. Taking cold, inanimate digital electronics and making it sing for you is real talent. And an appreciation for that talent was just kicked up a few notches after hearing this music!
There are many great tracks but the one that just swept me away and picked me up off my feet was “Amazon.” The artist cleverly interspersed sounds of the incredible Amazon jungle and made the track a visual masterpiece of sound. As a matter of fact, his website is quite beautiful and engaging as well. Check out Amazon here http://www.signofus.com/en/amazon.html

This is soundtrack music, whether it be film, a visit to the planetarium exploring the stars above or just an audio cinematic experience that is uplifting and awe inspiring…you cannot help but walk away reenergized and a feeling of positive surrounding your aura.

Sign of Us is an ultra-cool listening experience that offers a visual one to go along with it. I love the music, the concept, and the beauty and simple presentation of the website. It all fits together nicely. Someone in Hollywood needs to discover this man now.

I could not go wrong hearing music that reminded me of Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk etc. If you gave Beethoven or Bach a synthesizer this is what it would probably sound like.
The first thing you will want to do after hearing this is turn someone else on to it and that is exactly what every recording artist wants to hear.

Produced and composed by Dlaivison Ribamares Silva
Instruments used in the tracks of Sign of Us:
Synthesizers: Roland SH 201 and Memory Moog.
Plugins: Ominisphere, EDNA, Kontakt, Liberis, CineSamples, Komplete, Battery.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 21, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Dreams
02. The Wind's Valse
03. Belle   
04. Calyx   
05. Horizons
06. Heroes
07. Angels
08. Amazon   
09. Sinus
10. The Journey