Holiday Instrumental-New Age Review: Rick Sparks-Christmas Night

Release Date: September 17, 2020

Label: Independents


Rick Spark’s desire to recreate traditional Christmas in the most spiritually renewing way is achieved on his most recent release Christmas Night.

This is most definitely Holiday music done with taste and with a touch of angelic beauty. Usually around this time of year or well before it actually, advertising is already pushing the purchase of goods, etc. This is much too early and it normally succeeds in turning me into Mr. Ba Humbug until that blessed day with loved ones finally arrives and all of that disappears.
Rick said: Christmas Night is “the perfect companion for fireside dreams in December.” I have to agree and it is more than that to me. This music made me feel the true meaning of this hallowed holiday that we celebrate every year around the world.

It is warm and inviting and very soothing. So much so, it acts as a meditative and aural experience. All of the walls come down as you let the music into your heart. It will turn your grumpy ba humbug to insignificant mush.

“The First Noel” was one of my favorites as it remained recognizable yet Rick was able to make it his special interpretation. “What Child Is This” will penetrate your being and fill your heart with light and joy. It gives you a feeling that there indeed was a baby Jesus and his mother was blessed to bring him to us here on earth. We sure could use his help right now. I found “Silent Night” as moving as it ever was and loved this version. Those are three examples of many that you will find in this collection.

All the flutes, bells, keyboards, and gorgeous non-verbal singing gave me back memories of when I was a boy going the Christmas mass with my family. It is the time of year I feel most vulnerable to my emotions and memories that I hold so dear to my heart. Christmas Night allowed me to let that love in and feel it for what it is and be grateful for it rather than sad. We all grow up and are introduced to our new families through marriage and partnerships. That can be a beautiful thing as well.

Christmas is for the kids they say, I do not subscribe to that. I think it is for everyone willing to embrace it and enjoy the celebration of the birth of one of our saviors on this planet we inhabit.

Christmas Night inspired me to write these words you read, to feel what I felt, and most important come to the realization that music like this can give me an entirely different perspective on what I normally go through each year. So, folks let all of the pre-holiday advertisements and shelves full of ornaments and decorations coming out before Halloween roll right off your back. Think about the true meaning of the day and hang on to that conviction and everything else will just fade into the background. If you happen to need some help along the way listen to Christmas Night and may you all have a “Silent Night” and sleep in heavenly peace.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
October 26, 2020

Track List:
01. Christmas Night
02. Christ Is Born
03. The First Noel
04. Hark the Herald Angels Sing
05. In the Bleak Midwinter
06. What Child Is This
07. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly
08. Once in Royal David's City
09. Silent Night
10. Nativity

No comments:

Post a Comment