New Age Instrumental Review: Steven Chesne and the Luminous World Orchestra-Moments from the Life Stories of Strangers - Pt. 1

Release Date: 2013
Label: Independent

Steven Chesne and the Luminous World Orchestra have emerged from four years of silence with a new album titled Moments from the Life Stories of Strangers - Pt. 1. Chesne has a reputation for creating scores for TV series and to date has contributed over 300 episodes of various prime time network shows. The list is long and impressive and his music is as well.

Chesne is not the easiest artist to put in a category as he touches upon several genres with elements of symphonic, world and overall difficult to describe ethereal music that is both relaxing and challenging at the same time. To be more specific coming from the challenging point of view, I mean in regards to enlightening or an awakening within for a perhaps the tired and dulled spirit one may have after a difficult time in life or just a hard day at the office. The music is beautiful, serene and picturesque and you as the listener write the story to all the instrumental tracks.

The lead off track “Invocation” sets the tone for the entire recording. It runs over 5 minutes and brings a sense of calm to the soul. I can see after listening to just one track why Chesne is so adept at creating various soundtracks for any mood or occasion. The symphonic and orchestral movements found on this release are truly a slice of heaven that you can assimilate easily through your speakers. There is a lot going on in each and every song and they somehow are able to mesh all the sounds into one living breathing entity that just sweeps you away to another place, perhaps a spiritual plane you have struggled to reach in the past. It becomes a one way non-stop trip with all the benefits awaiting your mind, body and spirit to renew.

While “Invocation” initiates the sequence of events about to unfold before you, tracks like “Flicker of the Glistening” take a journey through the clouds and beyond the stratosphere and then lets you down easy before the next track begins. “Lumiere Du Soleil” closes out this spiritual journey with a different twist allowing some nice acoustic guitar to lead the way. As Steven’s guitar takes you down yet another path of soul searching and bliss, many other instruments become part of the mix to make it all complete. Actually the only thing that is decidedly different in this track is the prominent acoustic guitar, which is just as beautiful as everything else that was presented prior on the recording.

They say beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, while that is true; in this case it is the ears followed by the mind to the inner spirit that becomes the all-inclusive keys to the kingdom. If you are into practicing Yoga or just like to meditate or relax Moments from the Life Stories of Strangers - Pt. 1 will get you there in a matter of minutes. As a listener and lover of music I could appreciate all the time and effort that went into making such a complex project. I do not think it would be any different than creating a movie score or writing a full scale opera. All the elements and most important factors are in place to make this a new age release that will be appreciated for years to come. This is ear candy that transforms into chicken soup for the soul.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Invocation, Flicker of the Glistening, Lumiere Du Soleil

1. Invocation        
2. For When the Love Will Rain Down Upon You   
3. Yorkietown        
4. Flicker of the Glistening        
5. Glory Story #2        
6. Coaxed to Grow        
7. Morning Hocket        
8. Change, Your Oldest Friend        
9. Lumiere Du Soleil

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

June 29, 2014

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment