Showing posts with label The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy. Show all posts

Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Reviews: Darlene Koldenhoven-The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy

Release Date: October 22, 2021

Pre Order Date: August 22, 2021

Label:  TimeArt Recordings


Buy CD for only $5 until Oct 28th

The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy is the sequel to the award-winning release of the Spring this year The Grand Piano Spa. This recording continues the gorgeous piano compositions and unique flow of the music that will appeal to the lovers of contemporary instrumental and easily cross over to new age.

For my tastes, this is the perfect listening experience. Darlene is a brilliant musician that knows how to create perfect beauty with the ivory keys. Your expectations as the perspective listener, should you be familiar with her work, is to expect originality and a genuine extension of her personality.

The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy begins with the grandeur of the cover art which gives you the initial visual of something special and singular. The artwork is the doorway to the music which in a short time you find peace, pleasure, and appreciation for a prolific artisan willing to share her gifts once again.

I have found Darlene to be high-energy and very positive. It does not take very long to appreciate that energy and the presentation of the ten tracks. A natural extension of the previous album is what I anticipated and knew was coming right after the first release.

Cinematic and expressive are good adjectives of what you will experience. “Love Eternal” I found to be one of the more expressive tracks. Of course, with a title like that, you would expect something eloquent and affecting. And it most certainly is. Darlene has that special touch and grace with her style and the way she wants to deliver each track. I say it’s all cinematic because it is natural to see a picture forming in your mind’s eye, like watching a movie play along with the music. I believe that is the intent with most music, to engage each listener in such a way that it pulls them out of one space in time into another. In turn, if the music is powerful and transitional, that essence is what triggers the experience. This artist accomplishes that consistently throughout this release.

“Glaciers” is another pictorial audio experience. The playing is slow, elegant, and purposeful. It moves slowly like the melting of a glacier, or that is the way it was meant to be prior the global warming. If we could only turn back the hands of time when it comes to things so important and change the course of the history we created. This music helps to ignite feelings of hope rather than despair and a sense of giving up, it brings us to higher ground and a more positive mindset.

This music is about us, the human condition, our environment, and the “Lucidity” and “Radiance” we all have within. And most importantly, the command that this one incredible woman has with her instrument. Her lucidness comes through in her piano playing thus creating a magnificent radiance for us all to absorb and enjoy time and time again.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 21, 2021

01. Radiance 3:31
02. Lucidity 3:58
03. Migration 4:04
04. Sweet Conversations 3:41
05. Love Eternal 3:45
06. Glaciers 4:54
07. Moonlight Minuet 4:41
08. Black Swan 5:58
09. Cumulus 5:36
10. Ancient Forest 5:09