Showing posts with label New Age World Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Age World Reviews. Show all posts

New Age-World Review: Samir Bodhi-Stairway to Nirvana

Release Date: January 15, 2021

Label: Rishov Music

Website

Samir Bodhi (AKA Samir Chatterjee) has lent his talents as a guitarist, composer, producer, and recording engineer to a multitude of projects involving legendary Indian musicians – including several for his wife, Madhumita Chatterjee, a renowned Bollywood singer. Now he is ready to release his own music to the world early next year. Stairway To Nirvana will be officially released on January 15, 2021 however the album is available for preorder currently.


There are five tracks that comprise the recording and all are named for a specific reason. It can be your own personal path and your Stairway To Nirvana.

Contributors are: Guitarist/arranger Sanjoy Das (Bapi) is a leading session and live guitarist in Bollywood. Flutist Rakesh Chaurasia, the nephew of flute maestro Pandit Hariprasad Chaurasia, has toured with legendary Tabla virtuoso Ustad Zakir Hussain. Sarod master and composer Rajeeb Chakraborty is a renowned musician, educationist, and composer. These talented individuals are key factors with the blending of all the instruments with Samir’s guitar lines.


The recording combines the old with the new giving it a distinct world flavor with a new age essence and meaning. “Tranquility” is a beautiful opening track with mystical qualities and a mesmerizing rhythm and effect. It does exactly what the title says, it gives the listener tranquil moments.

“OM” is for focus and meditation. The track title lets you know that and it surely fulfills that purpose. The flute is the main instrument to lead the way then some gorgeous acoustic guitar comes in to accompany the wordless vocals. Then you get vocals in Hindi and even if you cannot translate it, the emotion and meaning are felt.

“Harmony” starts off with a very today beginning like a hip-hop song may start then that backdrop continues and a very beautiful guitar comes in and the whooshing sound of the wind. Other instruments arrive to make it all complete, percussion then some great bass lines enter for everything else to follow. This music seems like it's floating over you like a billowing cloud over a blue sky on a bright clear day. It is magical from beginning to end.

“Peace” brings into the project some very beautiful vocals from Samir’s wife Madhumita while Samir plays some excellent acoustic guitar to finish off the track. The lyrics in “Peace” (in Hindi) is a call for unity for humankind. This is a very focused and meditative piece and the vocals are very concise and perfectly pitched to meet the music and complete it.

“Nirvana” completes the cycle to the Stairway To Nirvana. You just may reach that blessed state as the previous tracks prepared you for this journey. I really appreciated the electric guitar presented here, when you first hear it you wonder what is going to come next. The previous tracks did provide a glimpse into the next however when you hear that guitar it would never give you any indication that next is some beautifully performed world new age music like this.

When the music stopped playing, I realized that it did feel like I was on a Stairway To Nirvana. This is beautiful spiritual music for difficult times and what we all need to have access to. I hope it has the same effect on everyone and gives you all time for relaxation, hope, and healing.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
November 15, 2020


Track List:

1. Tranquility
2. OM
3. Harmony
4. Peace
5. Nirvana 


New Age World Review: Larisa Stow & Shakti Tribe-There Is A Light That Will Remain

Release Date: March 12, 2019
Label: Prema Shakti Music

This is my introduction to Larisa Stow & Shakti Tribe. After a seven-year wait, we have There Is A Light That Will Remain. I am not familiar with the back catalog of this artist but judging from this album, it is likely I would enjoy exploring it. 

This may be one of the few new age albums I have ever heard that rocks. It is very rare but it does happen on occasion. It is not an album for rockers though, the term in this light has an entirely different meaning. Let me say it is unique and nothing like I have ever heard before. When you listen to “Maha Mantra” you will come to understand what I am trying to say.

Larisa Stow has a very powerful voice, one that would be well suited for a rock band actually. But I do not want to misguide all the readers, this is definitely a new age world recording that is very spiritual and uplifting. It is actually what I love about music and a recording in the new age genre. There is an entire list of all the positives I could go through.

There are many tracks that stood out. “Aham Prema” is a highly energetic and colorful track that typifies what you will hear on this album. The track that just lifted me right out my chair was “There Is A Field,” which is the poetry of Rumi. It is like hearing all the best of the new age, world and rock weaved into one track.

I know it is early in the year but There Is A Light That Will Remain is one of the most exciting releases I have heard this year and honestly, do not expect to hear anything like it again. It is that unique and exceptional. A recording like this I would hesitate to put into any category per se, it is like they create their own genre, which is quite impressive.

Fair warning, you will have waves of complete joy and satisfaction while listening to There Is A Light That Will Remain. Not only will the light remain, but the music will also leave an indelible mark upon your soul. I do think that is the intention of the artist, it is about being whole, spiritual and evolving into the being you were meant to be. We all cannot do that without being true to ourselves, pure and spiritual in our hearts. This music is a guiding tool to help you get there or enhance where you are or where you are going. If that makes any sense to those of you on any kind of spiritual journey, then great, I have made my point.

I can imagine there are several tracks that would be a great kick off songs on playlists and radios shows around the world. If you have a beating heart and a soul you will love There Is A Light That Will Remain.

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 5, 2019

Founder of:
TheFinalonVinyl

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews
 
Tracks:
 
01. Ong Namo Guru Dev
02. Aham Prema
03. Broken Temple
04. There Is A Field
05. Interlude: Longing For Light
06. Adonai
07. Jeanie’s Song (I Am Everything)
08. Maha Mantra
09. Waves Of Yemaya
10. Soliloquy Of R.H.


New Age World Review: Monica Williams-Journey of Tears

Release Date: September 21, 2018
Label: Heart Dance Records

Journey of Tears is a collection of original works by flutist/composer Monica Williams with guest artists on the album including fingerstyle guitarist Darin Mahoney, New Age flutist Sherry Finzer, and vocalist Alexa Nadramia.

There are 10 tracks to absorb on Journey of Tears. It reflects humanity, our daily struggles, our victories, our pleasure, and our pain. It is all about the growth one can experience through all the human emotions. This how Monica Williams relates to her listeners through her music. Hopefully, after we listen our realizations and experiences become clearer and more purposeful.

Monica’s love for the flute started while attending Eastman School of Music. The worldly colors and textures the instrument could produce with calming soundscapes were what attracted her. I was never a real big fan of the flute, sometimes in the context of rock music it sounded good but then I started hearing it in a different way. 

This type of world music is sprouting and growing via the new age genre and culture and it has opened many doors for me. To put it in an all-inclusive perspective, the way I usually do is to say it touches my mind, body, and spirit. This is the quintessential triangle of life. It is through recordings like Journey of Tears where I discover and rediscover new realities and levels of spiritualism.

Monica plays beautifully throughout all the tracks and it reaches an apex on the curtain closer “The Great Beyond.” It is gorgeous flute solo with the angelic voicings of Alexa Nadramia. The vocals add another element that is not found in the previous tracks and it is an amazing way to end the musical journey that this talented lady offers. The tracks run is over eight minutes, and every second of it is pure new age world music heaven. If this music does not give you a glimpse of a way to get closer to your higher power then I do not know what would.

Monica Williams is a multi-talented individual that has so much to offer in her music. She is also an accomplished teacher with 35 students currently. So not only is she sharing the sounds of various hybrid flutes, she is sharing her knowledge with others. That is the true meaning of passing the torch to the next generation of musicians.

Journey of Tears is an enormous success and although I am setting the bar high for folks that have not heard the album yet, I am certain that you will not be disappointed in any way. If you happen to enjoy earthy textured flute music, you will think your nirvana has finally arrived.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 14, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Raining Tears
02. Conversations Within
03. New Horizons
04. Unconditional Love
05. On the Edge
06. Finding Peace
07. Constant Change
08. Wandering
09. Love From A Distance
10. The Great Beyond
 

New Age World Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-Chromatones

Release Date: June 1, 2018
Label:TimeArt Recordings

It is a pleasure once again to have the opportunity to cover the musical journeys of Ms. Darlene Koldenhoven. It was nearly a year ago that I was introduced to her fascinating Color Me Home CD.

Now Chromatones has arrived. I figured it would be hard to top the previous release, however after 3 tracks I got the feeling that she has set the bar even higher. The new age and world elements come together in an explosion of sound and bright colors, painting your consciousness into the music effortlessly.

There are a number of important contributors from the New Age community that help to make this a great listen. Steve Shepherd (engineer, mixer, sound effects), Joanne Lazzaro (flute, alto flute, piccolo), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn), Al Jewer (English Horn), Tom Scott (clarinet), Wouter Kellerman (flute, bass flute), and there are many more. This is like having an all-star musical team to back her on this recording. And of course, the shining star of the show, Darlene, who not only composes, produces, arranges and engineers the tracks, she provides piano, keyboards, synths, and the Native drums and shaker.

The first track that really moved me was “Red Savannah.”  Its complexities and textures are like an intricately woven patchwork quilt.  The selection of instruments and the mix of them makes for an outstanding listen from the very first note to the last. 

“Native Bloom” with its earthy tones, rhythms and select instruments like the Native Flute make you feel like you stepped into a time capsule back to the time when our first Americans inhabited the land. It’s a strong yet beautiful reminder of how important these gifted people were and how their influence and heritage shaped our nation. I would advise putting your headphones or earbuds in and sitting back and letting the music form the thoughts and images in your mind’s eye. It is so healing to hear this music and it is presented exceptionally well.

There is so much to offer on Chromatones and I only scratched the surface of what is in store if you get this music (you can pre-order it April 25th). I think Darlene Koldenhoven has hit a high watermark with this recording. As I said about Color Me Home, I think this will be in the running for a Grammy. This is music for the heart, soul, and mind of any listener. 

For my ears, this kind of music and the quality of the production serves many areas in the world of media including soundtracks for nature specials, movies or sound bites for commercials, or for the most important audience, for those looking for solace and healing.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 2, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tracks: 
01.Golden Dawn
02. Morning Dew
03. Red Savannah
04. Swans on the Seine
05. Terra
06. Native Bloom
07. Vibrant Worlds
08.Chromatones
09. Prism
10. Painted In Time
11. Waltzing in Planetary Time

New Age/World Review: Logical Drift - Pacific Journey

Release Date: February 25, 2016
Label: NYCMusic

John Matarazzo is Logical Drift and his album Pacific Journey is a tribute to the beautiful islands of the South Pacific Ocean.

There is nothing like good instrumental music to create scenery for your mind’s eye to put you at peace and center you. It always comes to me at the right time and makes me feel more connected to our world.

This Pacific Journey certainly has the ability to transport you to another place and time. The music you will find on this aural journey is as diverse and colorful as the flora and fauna you will find in the islands that are the subject matter.
For my ears I liken this kind of music to a musical story and I allow my heart and soul to be an open book to its pages. It is my objective to convey the premise of this recording through a few choice tracks and discuss whether or not it delivers what it promises in reference to the title and the CD cover.

“Himalayan Heights” is part of the travels you take while listening. Matarazzo takes several instruments to create his sounds so they coalesce into something that is musically palpable. On the artist’ website it is explained as such: Combining his knowledge of ancient spiritual systems, psychoacoustics and aural imaging, he creates soundscapes that heighten the listeners’ sense of wellness and tranquility. The stimulation of the Chakra portals carries listeners on a journey toward greater awareness and aliveness. That puts it all into proper perspective as far as I am concerned. The synths, drums and other worldly sounds and textures added make it all sound so real like you are there enjoying everything in real time. “Himalayan Heights” made me feel that way.


“To Meet The Sky One Must” is another beautiful soundscape that puts you in touch with your spirit and mystical places of mother earth. The soft drums and their rhythm in this song are like your heartbeat and the sitar sounds are alluring and magical. The female vocals added gently invite you in. It is like a slice of heaven knocking at your door. All you need to do is listen and transport from your current state of existence. I think this place of peace lies inside us all, we just need some help to find it and music like this puts us in touch with that other self that awaits our call. It is that easy. 

“Rainy Jungle” helps one to get in sync with the nature that abounds around us. We are all connected to mother earth and water is the essence of life. In the jungle there are many different types of animal and plant species and without the rain they do no survive. It is the life blood of our planet. This track is very atmospheric using layers of keyboards to create a symphonic walk through the complexities of the jungle and all its offerings. Perhaps those of us that have not had the pleasure of witnessing this place on earth can still understand the absolute beauty and perfection that lies within this wondrous place. Allow the music to take you there and it will.

That is but a taste of some of the marvelous music found on Pacific Journey. The listening experience brings you many thoughts and feelings and hopefully delivers you to the beauty of the south pacific islands. It certainly worked well for me and I would recommend you listen and take the journey yourself.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Himalayan Heights, To Meet The Sky One, Rainy Jungle

Tracks:

01.Pacific Journey
02. Dance In The Lotus Garden
03. Himalayan Heights
04. To Meet The Sky One Must
05. Sanur Beach
06. Rainy Jungle
07. Open Skies Are
08. Mediation On A Blue String
09. Darker Dreams
10. Once Upon The Horizon


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck- New Age Music Reviews Founder
March 23, 2016
Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews