Showing posts with label New Age Music Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Age Music Reviews. Show all posts

Featured Track: Al Jewer and Andy Mitran -Emerald

"Emerald" is 5 minutes and 42 seconds of new age instrumental bliss created by long-time musical partners Al Jewer & Andy Mitran with guest Hans Christian on the cello.

 

The track is mesmerizing, and it sparkles with the luminescence of the moon on a clear night. 

The combination flutes (Al), cello (hans), marimba, percussion, hand drums, synth, and brass (Andy) is very effective.

 

"Emerald" was released August 25, 2021, and can be streamed and purchased on Bandcamp.

 

The eye-catching brilliance of the cover art for the track sets the tone before listening. Everything about the image projects what is needed, and the track is a real gem, just like the beauty on the cover.

 

"Emerald" will undoubtedly get some recognition for the work of art it is. I look forward to hearing more tracks with a similar combination of artistry from this fantastic trio.

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck


Website: http://www.al-jewer-and-andy-mitran.com

New Age Ambient Review: Cheryl B. Engelhardt-A Seeker’s Slumber

Release Date: July 23, 2021

Label: ‎Independent

Website

Last year’s award-winning Luminary was my introduction to the fascinating artist Cheryl B. Engelhardt. Now with A Seeker’s Slumber, I did not know what to expect because what I found out by interviewing this lady was, she was willing to experiment and take risks to grow as an artist. Not every artist is ready to approach things that way, particularly if they already have a successful formula that works every time they release an album. With that in mind, I have the utmost respect for Ms. Engelhardt.

Now I am challenged with putting this music into an appropriate genre, however never into a box. Cheryl thinks out of the box at all times. Yet another reason why I enjoy the music so much! So, I am ready again for a new journey and a different road as I jump in with energy and optimism.

Are you a seeker looking for slumber? While this music may get you there, you may also be surprised by the eclectic sounds on the ten tracks. Cheryl has a superb voice, and I found it very inviting and spiritual. The lyrics will require your attention, as they are essential as the music accompanying them.

While I am hard-pressed to define this work of art presented here at times, I can say, yes, it is New Age. The other factor that I would say unequivocally is that different genres find a way of branching off it. There is electronic, ambient, easy listening, contemporary, and even slight hints of pop. But keep in mind, the foundation is built from the soul of a prolific artist and translated as new age music. For my listening pleasure, this is a highlight and always an unexpected delight. The musicianship is once again excellent and performed at a very high level, just as I would expect.

Some of my favorites are “Unwind,” “Temperance,” and the excellent opener “Ithaca.” I cannot say enough about the creativity and all-around talent Cheryl brings to a recording. Now only two albums in, and I am fascinated with her accomplishments and can only wonder what the next project will be. Know this; it won’t be anything like A Seeker’s Slumber.
 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 21, 2021

Tracks:
01. Ithaca
02. Awæcnian
03. Circlet of Pisces
04. Unwind
05. Emerald Dreams
06. Mother Gaia (feat. Joanie Leeds & Chava Mirel)
07. Anyway You Choose...
08. Pentacle Path
09. Temperance


Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Review: Juan Sanchez-Now The Silence

Release Date: September 1, 2021

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

Shhh…Now The Silence has begun. It is time to listen only. This is for a very valid reason, what you are about to hear is the latest album from Juan Sanchez.


Juan believes in his magic that flows through his fingers to the keys. He can create a story without words. The music must be filled with expression, emotion, colors, and all that sustains life on this planet. In a physical sense that would be our environment and the food we ingest however this is more esoteric. Music, the grand healer, sweeps us away to another plane of existence, if we allow it.

In my experience that has done nothing but benefit me spiritually, mentally, and physically. It all connects from my perspective. Juan’s playing is extraordinarily beautiful and flowing. His sense of rhythm is very apparent in the music as he seamlessly moves from one track to another.

I heard nothing that did not fit the category of exceptional on this release. It is mostly all instrumental, except for vocals without words on tracks like “Tolworth.” A beautiful women’s vocalizations are as hypnotic and enchanting as they could be. It is one of my favorite tracks, and there are many. I have to be forthright and say the entire recording was enjoyed thoroughly.

Now The Silence quiets the mind, soothes the soul, and thereby relaxes the physical body. This is the main goal for anyone seeking relief, to de-stress or to just relax and let the worries of the day roll off your back. As the track “Idyllic” played I immediately identified with that word and what it meant to me. That one word encapsulates this recording perfectly.  

If a listener seeks a respite from a hard day’s work, then Now The Silence can be the miracle drug that cures all ills. You can take it without water and it starts with one click off the mouse or pushing a button on your stereo. Now that is a healthy prescription with no side effects that anyone can take.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 16, 2021

Tracks:
01.Very Young Old Man 3:29    
02.Luz De Luna     3:38    
03. Now the Silence 4:45    
04. Alma 3:58    
05. Woolgathering 4:32    
06. Tolworth 5:29    
07. Idyllic 3:21    
08. Remembrance 3:20    
09. Siempre     2:35    
10. Blue Nights 5:51


Contemporary New Age Instrumental Review: David J. Pena-Winds of Change

Release Date: September 17, 2021

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

Nearly one year ago I felt the joy of listening to David J. Pena on his Thinking of You release. Once again, his energetic, cinematic, beautiful piano playing reaches new heights on Winds of Change.

The title of the recording is very appropriate for our times. Chances are you have come across similarly addressed albums. I most certainly have and feel it is quite appropriate. Over the past two years, we have been in a whirlwind of change, that is continuing. As the earth rotates so do our lives and the musical projects we are gifted with on a regular basis.

From the majestic title track filled with sounds of lightning, you will feel the impact of this music from start to finish. It is all at once anticipatory, filled with the colors of a 4th of July celebration and the conquering sounds of drums after making it yet again to the highest peak on a seemingly impossible climb at the start. Yes, this is inspirational music that excites, brims with confidence, and fills your heart with joy and hope.

In a world where we can get information in seconds and ruin an individual’s life with a sentence on social media, we all need to slow down, reset, and remember from whence we came. Maybe “Someday” we will all take stock of our lives and realize what is really important. And tracks like that give you the clearing of the consciousness and the ability to see what is in front of you and beyond, casting aside the clutter that pummels us every day everywhere we look. It seems inescapable however we do have a choice to flip that switch and let artists like David J. Pena work his magic through those wondrous ivory keys.

The Winds of Change are coming through every day and we can embrace it or walk against its force. I for one wish to listen, try to understand it, how it affects my daily life and reality, and how I as an individual can help push the change along with a little help from our friends. Thank you once again David for brightening my day and creating a clear sky with sparkling shining stars to gaze at and witness the miracle of life and wonders that are given to us. Through music, we can all heal. Now is the time to “Take Flight” and go on your “Wise Men’s Journey.”


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 13, 2021

Tracks:
01. Homecoming
02. Awakening
3. The Arrival
04. Remember When
005. Winds Of Change
06. Someday
07. Windy Shadows
08. Willow
09. Wise Men’s Journey
10. Take Flight




Instrumental Acoustic New Age Track Reviews: Ryan Judd-The Lost Summer

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

"The Lost Summer” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Ryan Judd’s new featured track.

Refined acoustic sounds emanate from the fingers of Ryan Judd to his acoustic guitar on this simple yet defined track. The singularity of one man and one guitar can be a prolific experience for the listener seeking the quiet and solitude of the experience.

The cover artwork illustrates the loss of one season and the birth of another. Its beauty and grace are well-defined in the notes that the artist creates with his guitar. It all folds into each aspect to become one work of art.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 4, 2021
 

Instrumental New Age Track Review: Michelle Qureshi-Night of a Thousand Stars (Summer Song Flight)

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

“Night of a Thousand Stars” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Michelle Qureshi’s new featured track.

The beauty of the picture on the artwork of this track gives you the indication that what you are about to hear is something serene and magical. And that is exactly what you get.

Michelle’s enchanted guitar playing sets you into a trance as you float along the water into the warm confines of the sun-drenched haze. Although the sun has set and the day is over, a new adventure begins as the night ushers in with all the stars, thousands of them, to make a wish upon.

The music indeed lets you sail away into another world for a short time, but every second is enjoyed with the accompaniment of the music.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 4, 2021 
 

 

Instrumental Ambient Track Review: Michael Whalen-Phonic (Summer Flight Series)

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

“Phonic” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Michael Whalen’s new featured track.

I have always thought Michael was one of the most innovative and eclectic artists I have listened to over the years. He continues to surprise and delight with refreshing combinations of sounds, colors, and instrumentation on” Phonic.”

On the pastel colored cover, with the welcome mat at the doorway reading the label's name (look closely), and the door to new sounds and the anticipation of those sounds, you feel the energy rise as the track plays.

This is different, with bells and all kinds of layers devised by Michael and his massive array of keyboards and synths.

You did again for me Michael, I love it!


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 2, 2021

New Age Instrumental Review: Ann Sweeten-Change Is in the Wind

Release Date: September 3, 2021

Label: Orange Band Records

Website

 

Ann Sweeten takes us all on another instrumental new age journey on Change Is in the Wind. This is the fourth release I have covered in her catalog.

Ann has defeated breast cancer twice and is now battling leukemia. It makes me wonder why so many people have to go through so much suffering in their lives. It is for a reason, that is what many people will say, and even those going through it. It is about acceptance, healing, and moving to the next phase of your spiritual development, here on earth or another level of existence.

With that thought in mind, I think artists such as Ann Sweeten come from a place not all of us can understand. Although there are physical issues, we all deal with, some are more serious and life-threatening than others. In that very moment of realizing your life is once again being threatened, the enlightened will look at it as another opportunity to grow and get stronger. That is exactly the choice that Ann made recording this album.

While reading all of her notes in the CD pamphlet I realized that there were so many things I could relate to. She mentioned sitting in her garden and a butterfly and hummingbird came to visit. She immediately looked at it as one of nature’s gifts and god’s messengers. I have always felt that way about wildlife I “coincidentally” came across, and no I do not believe in coincidence, I see these beautiful creatures as a reminder of the beauty and life that surrounds me.

This has everything to do with the music of Ann Sweeten. The appreciation, connection, and the awesome beauty of god’s gifts that are given to us while we are here. It is important to me to know about the artist and their music, what drives them, where their energy is coming from, and what is the process that gets them to the end of an entire recording. I find out a lot of this on my Podcast’s however just by listening to the music, reading a bio on a website, or the liner notes, I have a lot to think about before I listen, and then it changes my entire experience.

Ann and her Steinway Baby Grand Model B will sweep you away into another time and place, the mists of time melt away, and your feelings are engaged and pictures will enter your mind. This music moves me in a way no other genre can. It takes away any preconceptions of what I will hear and allows me to flow with the music and feelings that are happening. And yes, it is meditative and healing, her music has always had that effect on me.

“What My Eyes Can’t See” is one of the most prolific tracks she has ever created. And interestingly enough it connects to “What Blooms Beneath The Snow.” It is untouched beauty yet to blossom as we wait for the snow to melt and the sun’s rays to provide the warmth to initiate the growth. Life is like that in many ways. In some ways perhaps the disease that this amazing woman is currently dealing with has brought about something she now can see, and the growth is beginning because another part of her physical being is going through yet another change. I can see how she weaved all of these titles with meaning into her gorgeous representation of instrumental piano work. The spiritual essence of this individual is alive and well in this music and as she created it, presents it to us all, she is healing as well. This is her gift to the world and with that, we all must appreciate what is before us and take advantage of the beautiful sound and expressions being delivered through those ivory keys.

I think there has been Change Is in the Wind for several years now. The awareness is getting stronger with each passing day on a global level. For me, I count my blessings every day. When I realized what was going on with Ann it changed my entire perspective on my own life. Even though there is gratitude present, I believe there could be more. We all need to give each other as much understanding and opportunity to express our true feelings and love for each other. Music like this gets me into the right space where all of these thoughts come to me one at a time for yet another moment of consideration. Music without words can be more powerful than heartfelt lyrics. Ann Sweeten has mastered that artistry and Change Is in the Wind is another documentary of her amazing life and talent.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 3, 2021 

Tracks:
01. Arctic Dance
02. What Blooms Beneath the Snow
03. May 24, 42 Years Ago
04. Turning the Page
05. What My Eyes Can’t See
06. One Last October
07. Forever Sunday
08. Emergence
09. Change is in the Wind
10. Silver Lining


Instrumental New Age/Ambient Track Review: Eamonn Karran-The Edge (Summer Song Flight)

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

“The Edge” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Eamonn Karran’s new featured track.

The modus operandi here is diversity. Eamon says in his bio “I like to blend electronic music with flowing piano melodies and create something unique.”  He does exactly that on this gorgeous track.

Eamonn pushes the musical envelope and sounds very progressive on this track. My imagination was captured immediately while listening to the blend of the traditional piano with the electronics
.
Once the track was over, I felt like I need
ed to hear more, and for the artist, that is a good thing!

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 31, 202
 

 

World New Age Review: Raphael Groten-Potential

Release Date: September 1, 2021

Label:  ‎Independent

Website

Raphael Groten has taken the next step in his evolution as a musical artist with Potential. He is calling this transformation of sound world medicine groove. It is unlike anything I have heard from the talented six-string maestro. Having covered two previous releases, I can honestly say he going in the right direction to reach his full Potential as an all-encompassing artisan.

The title track typifies his groove and it surely is world medicine for the soul. He normally creates instrumental works however “Great Spirit” includes some very affecting vocals and instrumentation. And there are several more tracks with vocals that are quite good as well.

Spirituality and strength are found with one look at the cover art. The wolf is the natural hunter and believes in the pack mentality or teamwork as we would see it as humans. I think the cover says more than meets the eye and for one to explore and discover the multitudes of sounds and meanings, you must absorb the fourteen tracks on offer.

As it is noted on the artist homepage - Potential is broad and dynamic, offering guitar to ukulele, percussion to gong, bamboo flute to kalimba, hand pan to a chorus of voices.

This is a fine encapsulation of what awaits your senses - audibly, spiritually, and physically. They are the equation for a very distinct sound and the journey you will embark upon. Audible is the beginning to engage your sensory perception, which then transforms into a spiritual essence and hence an overall sense of well-being on the physical level. From my own listening perspective, I was able to get in touch with the oneness of the music, in the sense that we are all connected to nature, the animals, the innate spirituality of all of that. This can be a prolific experience for many seeking such things and something fresh and full of amazing original energy that you can associate within and outside of yourself.

Of great significance is that Raphael composed, arranged, performed, produced, and engineered all the music in his newly established Humming Bird Studio. This is a great accomplishment. When you consider the multitude of instruments employed on this recording, it is quite impressive. The end result is superlative music that you will find enchanting and mesmerizing. I am sure many listeners will utilize it for relaxing and meditation as well.

Potential digs down deep into the soul of this artist and you can reach in and feel it, grasp it, hold it for your own, and take every advantage of the peace and joy it brings with one solitary listen. Tracks like “Melt” have a strong tribal feeling with the steady drumbeat and repetitive phrases that felt like they held great significance to anyone in touch with the ancient cultures that depended on the land and its creatures to survive. In the same frame of reference, that type of individual or group held each of those aspects of life with great respect. This is something we have lost over time that we desperately need before we can get started to find our way beyond the healing and renewal stages. It is time for us all to reach our full Potential as sentient beings. Music like this reminds us all of what direction we need to go.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
September 1, 2021

Tracks:
01. Wander         
02. Potential         
03. Great Spirit        
04. Within        
05. Care         
06. Melt         
07. River's Edge     
08. Pause         
09. Percolate         
10. Call         
11. Aft         
12. Bear Cave        
13. Release        
14. Twin Eagle 



Track Review: Chris Haugen-Water to Land (Summer Song Flight)

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

"Water to Land” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Chris Haugen’s new featured track.

Chris plays acoustic guitar quite beautifully. The scenery on the cover of this single release depicts solitude and oneness with nature. The colorful clouds bring the promise of a new day of sunshine and renewal.

Chris’s acoustic guitar soothes and relaxes the listener just as the water below the rocks serve the individual pictured. This music aligns with the artwork perfectly and the track takes you there to that scenery within seconds. 

Sublime guitar playing indeed.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 30, 2021


Track Review: Carl Borden-Good Morning Light (Summer Song Flight) Track Review

Release Date: August 27, 2021

Label:  ‎myndstream

Website

“Good Morning Light” from the Summer Song Flight release on the myndstream label, is Carl Borden’s new featured track.

Carl provides a vista of colors and sound through his ambient recordings. This particular single is focused on the sounds of nature in the form of birds chirping.
 
The beam of light going straight down from the moon through the sun-bleached clouds to civilization below is a significant image. If you are listening to the layered sounds of Carl’s synth it fits together nicely.


“Good Morning Light” is 5 minutes and 30 seconds of synthesized bliss from one of the more creative artists in the new age instrumental genre.

This is great music for relaxing and or meditation which is the music of focus in the myndstream label.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 29, 2021


Classical Vocal Review: Danaë Xanthe Vlasse-MYTHOLOGIES

Release Date: August 6, 2021

Label:  ‎ Independent

Website

"MYTHOLOGIES" - Mrs. Vlasse honors her heritage with an album inspired by Ancient Greek myths. Centered on vocal works, MYTHOLOGIES celebrates some of the most lasting legends in history and offers a return to creative collaboration with sopranos Hila Plitmann and Sangeeta Kaur. The album offers several performances of Mrs. Vlasse herself at the piano, along with pianists Robert Thies and Brendan White; the album also includes renowned South-African flutist Wouter Kellerman, and features memorable string performances from violinist Lili Haydn, cellist Eru Matsumoto, and violist Virginie d'Avezac de Castera, along with percussion from Nadeem Majdalany and Emilio D. Miler, Emilio D. Miler and Mrs. Vlasse co-produced the album. MYTHOLOGIES is an immersive Contemporary Classical journey into an ancient fantasy realm that invites listeners to ponder long-standing cultural concepts such as idolized heroism, divine power, crisis of faith and morality, and the junction of fate and free will. (Information provided by the artist)
 
For those listeners that can appreciate classically-based music and vocals that bring Greek Mythology to life, Mythologies will be an unforgettable listening event. The musicality is at another level to compliment the two Sopranos, Hila Plitmann, and Sangeeta Kaur. The aforementioned cast of musical talent is appreciated by this attentive listener.
 
From my perspective, this was a step away from the norm. That is the kind of experience I welcome. This music gave me an appreciation for an art form that started centuries ago. The combination of the voices and instruments is like coming home to your place in heaven. The angelic vocals welcome you as your spirit rises and you start an existence on another plane. This is the picture that my consciousness presented me to observe and absorb, then process.
 
Danaë’s piano playing is superb and with all of the beautiful vocals on display, courtesy of Hila Plitmann and Sangeeta Kaur, this is an opportunity for appreciative listeners of this genre. That combination provides a stunning tribute to the subject matter at hand. Mythological characters are no longer in that framework, you can imagine them as living breathing entities brought to life through the vocals and music.
 
To musically interpret these stories is not an easy task to be sure. The length of these tracks is considerable, raising the difficulty level that much further. “Sirens” opens the recording and clocks in at 11:12 and then takes you out to finalize the album in the “Sirens (Cinematic)” version at 14:12. In between those two tracks “Nepenthe” is a dramatic and moving instrumental showcasing the musical talent that is up to the challenge. The listener will note the tides of passion weaving throughout the song. Instrumentally this is as close to perfection as one could get.
 
I felt “Penelope” was particularly beautiful as Danaë’s remarkable piano playing is joined by her female counterparts with the rising vocal expertise you have previously witnessed. The blend of the music and all of those voices are incredibly moving and visionary. The changes of pace are impressive within the time of 7:19 minutes. I note the time of these tracks as I feel it is important to recognize the effort that went into them by these amazing men and women.


MYTHOLOGIES is a refreshing interpretation of Greek history. Emotion and collective expertise are key in making this album a success. Certainly, this album will be revered worldwide exponentially as time passes. It will be like adding a fine piece of art to your collection to treasure for years to come.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 23, 2021


Tracks:
1. Sirens by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Hila Plitmann, Sangeeta Kaur & Brendan White        
2. Poseidon & Odysseus by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Hila Plitmann, Sangeeta Kaur, Wouter Kellerman & Nadeem Majdalany
3. Penelope by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Hila Plitmann, Sangeeta Kaur & Wouter Kellerman
4. Nepenthe by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Lili Haydn, Eru Matsumoto & Robert Thies
5. Euterpe's Lament by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Hila Plitmann, Sangeeta Kaur, Virginie d'Avezac de Castéra & Eru Matsumoto
6. Metamorphoses by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse        
7. Sirens (Cinematic) by Danaë Xanthe Vlasse, Hila Plitmann, Sangeeta Kaur, Brendan White, Nadeem Majdalany & Emilio D. Miler


Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Reviews: Darlene Koldenhoven-The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy

Release Date: October 22, 2021

Pre Order Date: August 22, 2021

Label:  TimeArt Recordings

Website

Buy CD for only $5 until Oct 28th

The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy is the sequel to the award-winning release of the Spring this year The Grand Piano Spa. This recording continues the gorgeous piano compositions and unique flow of the music that will appeal to the lovers of contemporary instrumental and easily cross over to new age.

For my tastes, this is the perfect listening experience. Darlene is a brilliant musician that knows how to create perfect beauty with the ivory keys. Your expectations as the perspective listener, should you be familiar with her work, is to expect originality and a genuine extension of her personality.


The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy begins with the grandeur of the cover art which gives you the initial visual of something special and singular. The artwork is the doorway to the music which in a short time you find peace, pleasure, and appreciation for a prolific artisan willing to share her gifts once again.

I have found Darlene to be high-energy and very positive. It does not take very long to appreciate that energy and the presentation of the ten tracks. A natural extension of the previous album is what I anticipated and knew was coming right after the first release.

Cinematic and expressive are good adjectives of what you will experience. “Love Eternal” I found to be one of the more expressive tracks. Of course, with a title like that, you would expect something eloquent and affecting. And it most certainly is. Darlene has that special touch and grace with her style and the way she wants to deliver each track. I say it’s all cinematic because it is natural to see a picture forming in your mind’s eye, like watching a movie play along with the music. I believe that is the intent with most music, to engage each listener in such a way that it pulls them out of one space in time into another. In turn, if the music is powerful and transitional, that essence is what triggers the experience. This artist accomplishes that consistently throughout this release.

“Glaciers” is another pictorial audio experience. The playing is slow, elegant, and purposeful. It moves slowly like the melting of a glacier, or that is the way it was meant to be prior the global warming. If we could only turn back the hands of time when it comes to things so important and change the course of the history we created. This music helps to ignite feelings of hope rather than despair and a sense of giving up, it brings us to higher ground and a more positive mindset.

This music is about us, the human condition, our environment, and the “Lucidity” and “Radiance” we all have within. And most importantly, the command that this one incredible woman has with her instrument. Her lucidness comes through in her piano playing thus creating a magnificent radiance for us all to absorb and enjoy time and time again.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 21, 2021

Tracks:
01. Radiance 3:31
02. Lucidity 3:58
03. Migration 4:04
04. Sweet Conversations 3:41
05. Love Eternal 3:45
06. Glaciers 4:54
07. Moonlight Minuet 4:41
08. Black Swan 5:58
09. Cumulus 5:36
10. Ancient Forest 5:09    


New Age Instrumental Meditation Review: Palm Reading-Malibu: Point Mugu

Release Date: August 13, 2021

Label:  ‎ myndstream

Website

Palm Reading is the musical project by Scooby Laposky and Charles Copley, inspired by plant life, the natural environment, and the traditions of ambient and mindfulness music. Malibu: Point Mugu is the first in a series of locations that these recordings will be created.

That introduction to this music was just what I needed to read on the artist's one sheet to get immersed into this spiritual and nature-themed meditative music.

This is an effective combination of synthesized electronic music that is generated by biodata recorded from plants using a biodata sonification device. The device works by measuring microcurrent fluctuations occurring across the surface of a plant’s leaf, which then generates MIDI notes when a change in conductivity is detected, allowing a user to listen to the invisible biological processes occurring within plants.

I find this a fascinating way to make music and connect with nature using hi-tech instruments and electronics. Note the cover of the CD how the electrodes (Tens style sticky pads) are connected to the leaves? What a brilliant idea to where music intersects with mother earth, science, and electronics. The outcome is very relaxing as well as the original acoustic guitar accompaniment. I never thought a tool I have used to relieve pain in my back would be used this way. The Tens unit is an instrument many people use in their homes and are commonly found in a chiropractor’s office. This is not a Tens unit, however; it simply uses the principle of the sticky pads to keep the wires in place to detect the biological processes of the plant.

The tender guitar lines interspersed with the ambient electronics create a very placid and inviting atmosphere. Listeners will find it easy to meld right into and float away with, whether just relaxing or falling into a desired meditative state.

I feel a lot of anticipation for the next volume of recordings and wonder what location will be selected. There would be many to choose from if the duo decides to travel up the California coast on Highway 1. While a gorgeous drive along the coast, it would be interesting to turn off some exits into some smaller towns to see what flora and fauna were on offer.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 13, 2021 

Tracks:
1. White Sage (Salvia Apiana) 5:57
2. White Sage (Salvia Apiana) Interlude 1:30
3. Laurel Sumac (Malosma Laurina) 8:17


New Age Instrumental Reviews: Peter Sterling-The Winding Way

Artist: Peter Sterling

Title: The Winding Way

Release Date: August 13, 202

Website 

Peter Sterling is “Calling All Angels” (track 4) with his magnificent harp playing on his new release The Winding Way.

Like many of his contemporaries, Peter has a multitude of talents that can be enjoyed. I would recommend visiting his website to see the array of artistry he presents with several recordings, works of art, and a book titled Hearing the Angels Sing: A True Story of Angelic Assistance.

I have said this before, and it bears worth repeating, this harp music is the closest thing to heaven on earth on an audio level that I have heard. Beyond the audio, there is an experience available. The listening is just the beginning. For my senses it is transformative. I can go from being restless, stressed, and worrisome, to a very satisfied meditative state. And what all that equates to is a strong feeling of gratefulness for everything presently in my life. That is a tremendous feeling of spirituality and oneness. For one recording to enable all of that is a miracle, and it must make the recording artist feel quite gratified because I can assure you that is the goal for this music.

In the new age instrumental genre, the music must speak to you in some way. Without words, a message must be carried by the music alone. With the music of Peter Sterling, there is the harp leading the way in every track however there are layers of sounds and elements that embellish and support that main instrument. There is an old saying, behind every great man there is an equally great woman, and vice versa. With music, there is always a wellspring of talent and production values that support the main instrument. In this case that applies along with a beautiful wordless singing (with the exception of the spoken word on #9 “The Elven Queen”) that is a lovely touch that makes the chosen tracks more elegant and desirable. I would not think that was possible but it is, just that harp is beautiful enough, and then to add the additional layer of the talented background vocals is taking it all to another level. It is like more roots growing on a strong oak tree.

Lately, I have seemed to been getting away from mentioning certain tracks and just focusing on the album in its entirety. I listen to it like I would watching a river flow or the snow or rainfall. Like it was a living live thing coming alive before me. It was almost like all 11 tracks wrapped into one ongoing story unfolding and all of my senses joining in and becoming one with the music. This is truly a spiritual thing for me and I am very pleased that it happens that way. This does not happen all the time, just more so lately. I can look it at it as a different level of conveying my feelings and thoughts of what I am hearing to potential listeners. This to me is another form of growth and coincides with my studies of Buddhism. It all works together.

So, Peter Sterling, I thank you for the opportunity, the realizations that your music revealed, and how the timing of my listening experience was meant to be, perfect for these moments in time. Hearing your amazing new album, The Winding Way made everything crystal clear.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder

August 13, 2021

Tracks:  

01. Beauty Abounds         
02. Clouds and Sky         
03. Deep Dive         
04. Calling Angels          
05. Along the Way         
06. Rose Petal Tea         
07. Every Which Way         
08. The Noble Knight         
09. The Elven Queen         
10. Hope for Tomorrow         
11. A Love That Lasts


Contemporary Instrumental Review: Evan Wish-Alone In A Crowd

Release Date: October 1, 2020

Label:  ‎ Independent

Website

Have you ever felt like you were Alone In A Crowd? It is an unfortunate feeling however it does happen to some of us. I have learned that it is a psychological thing when one is trapped within their mind without any escape route. When nothing can distract you from the deep-seated feelings and thoughts you are experiencing, then any amount of people around you would not matter. This may be relatable or so farfetched for some. We are different with experiences all our own. The one thing we can all relate to is good music.

As Evan Wish is pictured alone with his piano on a stage, it is the perfect vision of being Alone In A Crowd. This is his latest instrumental piano offering comprising contemporary, classical, and new age, into every track. This music embodies romanticism, joy, sadness, and the flow of life. Without uttering a single word Evan’s fingers take flight on the ivory keys and bring audio magic to your soul. What struck me readily was the sense of rhythm in his music. The piano is an amazing instrument and this artist knows how to manipulate it beautifully befitting each track title.

I found the title track very moving in several ways. It was an emotional journey for me, spurring those old feelings I had described previously, yet the music made it feel different. It was like the healing of that moment in time when I felt that way. Even though it was something so long ago for me, it is easy enough to reach back and revisit. What I learned in this particular timeframe was it is ok to be reminded of the past but to focus on the here and now. In essence, enjoy the music, go with the feelings and the flow of the sounds you are hearing and let it take you where it may.

When I enjoy a musical experience as I have with Alone In A Crowd, it seems to travel so fast. Like a short story with a succinct beginning and end. If you enjoy being swept away by superb piano instrumental music, this recording will become one of your favorites of the year.

Evan Wish…teacher, world traveler, storyteller, and immaculate musician, takes all of his experience and wraps them into a warm blanket called Alone In A Crowd. Having that warmth takes away the loneliness and comforts you. The blanket is the music and Evan provides all the warmth you could ever need as he weaves a tapestry of sound, vibrations, and color to fill you up with the love of life. You never have to feel alone again with these moving 10 tracks.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 2, 2021 

Tracks:

01. The Hill
02. Alone in a Crowd
03. Fleeting Beauty
04. (Full) August Moon Love
05.(For) Just a Penny        
06. Falling into You
07. Silhouette    
08. Carousel         
09. Sometime Around Midnight    
10. I Like Us



Kirtan Lounge, Ananta Govinda, Gopi Kallayil-Mystical Awakening

Release Date: July 23, 2021

Label: Independent

Website



Ananta Govinda, Kirtan Lounge, and Gopi Kallayil have released two beautiful tracks for the community of souls seeking peace through meditation or other similar practices.  Mystical Awakening was officially released today.


“Mystical Awakening” and “Gayatri Mantra” are exceptional tracks that mix the ancient Sanskrit text with world music. It comes packaged in striking artwork the brings about thoughts of time and space centuries ago.


This is new age world music modernized with today’s technologies and recording tools combined with saxophone, ambient flowing guitars, drums, and the conch.

In just two tracks you can find inner peace, truth, your higher self, and the rhythms, sounds and, textures that will bring amazing color to your consciousness. This is the color of life, love, and true happiness that resides in us all. The translator of music and ancient traditions is very effective for those who listen and tap into this source of spiritual awareness, mindfulness, and love.

Ananta Govinda and the heavenly vocals of Gopi Kallayi and Paulette Penzvalto will help you to renounce Samsara (Buddhist term for suffering) and find the emptiness for the clearing to focus, then the purity of your being. This is the music that will guide you to that place you desire, and it can be just the beginning of a lifelong journey. For some of you already on it, you will find this music to be an addition to your daily practices of meditation or yoga.

This music encapsulates spiritual enlightenment.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
July 23, 2021

 

Tracks:

1. Mystical Awakening - Musical Exploration of Bhagavad Gita
2. Gayatri Mantra