Showing posts with label Darlene Koldenhoven. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Darlene Koldenhoven. Show all posts

Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Reviews: Darlene Koldenhoven-The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy

Release Date: October 22, 2021

Pre Order Date: August 22, 2021

Label:  TimeArt Recordings

Website

Buy CD for only $5 until Oct 28th

The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy is the sequel to the award-winning release of the Spring this year The Grand Piano Spa. This recording continues the gorgeous piano compositions and unique flow of the music that will appeal to the lovers of contemporary instrumental and easily cross over to new age.

For my tastes, this is the perfect listening experience. Darlene is a brilliant musician that knows how to create perfect beauty with the ivory keys. Your expectations as the perspective listener, should you be familiar with her work, is to expect originality and a genuine extension of her personality.


The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy begins with the grandeur of the cover art which gives you the initial visual of something special and singular. The artwork is the doorway to the music which in a short time you find peace, pleasure, and appreciation for a prolific artisan willing to share her gifts once again.

I have found Darlene to be high-energy and very positive. It does not take very long to appreciate that energy and the presentation of the ten tracks. A natural extension of the previous album is what I anticipated and knew was coming right after the first release.

Cinematic and expressive are good adjectives of what you will experience. “Love Eternal” I found to be one of the more expressive tracks. Of course, with a title like that, you would expect something eloquent and affecting. And it most certainly is. Darlene has that special touch and grace with her style and the way she wants to deliver each track. I say it’s all cinematic because it is natural to see a picture forming in your mind’s eye, like watching a movie play along with the music. I believe that is the intent with most music, to engage each listener in such a way that it pulls them out of one space in time into another. In turn, if the music is powerful and transitional, that essence is what triggers the experience. This artist accomplishes that consistently throughout this release.

“Glaciers” is another pictorial audio experience. The playing is slow, elegant, and purposeful. It moves slowly like the melting of a glacier, or that is the way it was meant to be prior the global warming. If we could only turn back the hands of time when it comes to things so important and change the course of the history we created. This music helps to ignite feelings of hope rather than despair and a sense of giving up, it brings us to higher ground and a more positive mindset.

This music is about us, the human condition, our environment, and the “Lucidity” and “Radiance” we all have within. And most importantly, the command that this one incredible woman has with her instrument. Her lucidness comes through in her piano playing thus creating a magnificent radiance for us all to absorb and enjoy time and time again.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 21, 2021

Tracks:
01. Radiance 3:31
02. Lucidity 3:58
03. Migration 4:04
04. Sweet Conversations 3:41
05. Love Eternal 3:45
06. Glaciers 4:54
07. Moonlight Minuet 4:41
08. Black Swan 5:58
09. Cumulus 5:36
10. Ancient Forest 5:09    


Contemporary Instrumental-New Age Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-The Grand Piano Spa

Release Date: May 14, 2020

Label: TimeArt Recordings

Website

Pre-Order Special $5 CD until May 14th  


Darlene Koldenhoven is one of those artists that has taken advantage of the virus lock downs. For musicians like her, they take a negative and turn it into a positive by creating music so we all can heal. Of course, everyone has different needs and has been affected by the virus. The one thing we all share in common besides how that event has changed our lives is the reliable source of energy and good vibrations from those who are creative.


Darlene has been on a creative path and an eclectic one at that. This time her release The Grand Piano Spa, will delight those listeners that enjoy the simplicity and directness of solo piano. I think the cover says it all. That makes this release that much more focused and special for the artist and her listeners.

With the two tracks that I have heard so far, I am hearing that classical foundation with a new-age approach and message. This combination has become very popular for piano or a range of keyboard players, in particular. The solitude of one person in front of the ivory keys can be mesmerizing for a listener. I can only speak for myself, however, I am quite sure there are a multitude of individuals all over the planet that find this type of music very enjoyable and a great tool for relaxation or meditation.

For those that need a change or an introduction into this world, The Grand Piano Spa can be the keys to the kingdom. There have been many strong releases over the years that can fall into that category. So, what can make this release any different or special for those of us that hear so much of this type of music? The first thing that comes to mind is your familiarity with the music and the artist presenting it. I know before the first note that 99.9% of the time I am going to love the music before I even hear it. I realize what to expect and many times find gems amongst the tracks that are a nice surprise.

The title itself promotes that feeling or renewing and the light of energy and hope. When one thinks of a spa you can envision how wonderful that can make you feel if you are there and if not, you can use the music to take you there as you relax into that state of mind or meditative focus. Whatever road you choose, the benefits of this music are immediate. A veritable “Spring Dance” will emerge and take you into its arms and give you relief. The relief can take many forms for each person but the reality is that this music is so beautiful and inviting that it’s a process everyone can enjoy on every level of the listening experience.

The Grand Piano Spa and all nine tracks will lift your spirits, provide an opportunity to receive all the positive vibrations of the music provided by this talented woman, Darlene Koldenhoven. I think the singularity of the cover photo provides an immediate sense of peace and an open invitation to what you can find inside the music. That fact alone sets me off on a journey that I am always very grateful for. And if you enjoyed this album there will be a sequel titled The Grand Piano Spa: Legacy.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
February 7, 2021

 Tracks: 

1. Wisteria
2. Into the Light
3. Delphi’s Dream
4. Quiet Read
5. Spring Dance
6. Reverie
7. Soliloquy
8. Clover Fields
9. Simple Life


New Age World Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-Chromatones

Release Date: June 1, 2018
Label:TimeArt Recordings

It is a pleasure once again to have the opportunity to cover the musical journeys of Ms. Darlene Koldenhoven. It was nearly a year ago that I was introduced to her fascinating Color Me Home CD.

Now Chromatones has arrived. I figured it would be hard to top the previous release, however after 3 tracks I got the feeling that she has set the bar even higher. The new age and world elements come together in an explosion of sound and bright colors, painting your consciousness into the music effortlessly.

There are a number of important contributors from the New Age community that help to make this a great listen. Steve Shepherd (engineer, mixer, sound effects), Joanne Lazzaro (flute, alto flute, piccolo), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn), Al Jewer (English Horn), Tom Scott (clarinet), Wouter Kellerman (flute, bass flute), and there are many more. This is like having an all-star musical team to back her on this recording. And of course, the shining star of the show, Darlene, who not only composes, produces, arranges and engineers the tracks, she provides piano, keyboards, synths, and the Native drums and shaker.

The first track that really moved me was “Red Savannah.”  Its complexities and textures are like an intricately woven patchwork quilt.  The selection of instruments and the mix of them makes for an outstanding listen from the very first note to the last. 

“Native Bloom” with its earthy tones, rhythms and select instruments like the Native Flute make you feel like you stepped into a time capsule back to the time when our first Americans inhabited the land. It’s a strong yet beautiful reminder of how important these gifted people were and how their influence and heritage shaped our nation. I would advise putting your headphones or earbuds in and sitting back and letting the music form the thoughts and images in your mind’s eye. It is so healing to hear this music and it is presented exceptionally well.

There is so much to offer on Chromatones and I only scratched the surface of what is in store if you get this music (you can pre-order it April 25th). I think Darlene Koldenhoven has hit a high watermark with this recording. As I said about Color Me Home, I think this will be in the running for a Grammy. This is music for the heart, soul, and mind of any listener. 

For my ears, this kind of music and the quality of the production serves many areas in the world of media including soundtracks for nature specials, movies or sound bites for commercials, or for the most important audience, for those looking for solace and healing.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 2, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tracks: 
01.Golden Dawn
02. Morning Dew
03. Red Savannah
04. Swans on the Seine
05. Terra
06. Native Bloom
07. Vibrant Worlds
08.Chromatones
09. Prism
10. Painted In Time
11. Waltzing in Planetary Time

New Age/World Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-Color Me Home

Release Date: April 21, 2017
Label: TimeArt Recordings

The list of credits for Darlene Koldenhoven on her upcoming release Color Me Home is mind boggling. She is credited with Producer, vocalist, pianist, composer, lyricist, vocal and instrumental arranger, keyboardist and solos, programmer and engineer, Native drums & shaker, album notes and a coloring book.

Yes, that is not a typo, a coloring book. A very interesting and fact filled booklet comes with the CD and many pictures that can be colored in. This package is quite unique. I have seen a lot things over my 19 years of reviewing music but this is something special and a pleasant surprise. The pictures in the book are very intricate and personally I would not attempt to color them in fear of ruining their beauty. I am sure there are people out there that will feel entirely different.

I understand there are adult coloring books now selling like hotcakes now because people use it as an exercise in relaxation. So, you take that and add the music of Ms. Koldenhoven and you have a potent combination of serenity and spirituality all in one package. The artist grew up encouraged in an environment to color while listening to music. So, everyone that purchases this CD has an opportunity to color Darlene home, hence the inviting title.

I must say that I thought there was not much uniqueness left in the music industry but this recording and packaging puts that thought to rest.
Along with all the talents that Darlene brings to the table she had 16 guest artists along for the journey. I will not go through the roll call in case I forget someone so I will leave it to you readers to do your research if you feel compelled to do so. Let’s just say the people involved are prominent musicians in the new age community.

Darlene’s voice is that of an angel and it is operatic at some points. Her range is phenomenal. And the music? It is incredibly beautiful … filled with textures, colors and all sorts of atmospheres that make your mind wander into dreamland. The combination of vocals and instrumentation is superbly placed within each track. It takes true artistry and natural talent to create such a diversified recording and so many worldly new age flavors. I particularly appreciated the native drums and sounds that made me feel one with humanity and mother earth. It always has that effect on me and it feels warm and real. Who wouldn’t want to listen to music that makes you feel that way?

I can say with certainty so early in the year, that Color Me Home should be up for a Grammy. With all things considered and the work and craft that went into this music, I certainly think it deserves all the consideration for awards of recognition. You be the judge and let me know what you think after you stream the player and watch the video provided for your preview.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
March 16, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:

01. First Light
02. The Pleasure of the Mourning Dove
03. Kalahari Calls
04. Song of the Swans
05. Eternal Love's Song
06. Indian Summer
07. Embracing This Moment
08. Ode to Our Orb
09. Until
10. Open Skies
11. Color Me Home 



New Age Instrumental Review: Darlene Koldenhoven-Tranquil Times


Release Date: September 6, 2013
Label: Timeart Recordings
Darlene Koldenhoven is a Grammy Award winning artist with three Grammy nominations. Her work has reached the top of the charts worldwide and the song “Lucid See” on her newest album Tranquil Times has been nominated for Best New Age Song in the Independent Music Awards. This new album is purely instrumental with original compositions and arrangements. 

“Lucid See” is the opening track on the album. A piano piece with some atmospheric background sounds at the onset, it marries with light percussion and a steady rhythm to keep the listener diving deeper into placid waters. This track will seduce the soul, bringing a much needed element of peace. It is easy to see why this is an award winning piece.

“Eternal Love” is an awakening. A warm touch of morning sun on the brow, this piece trickles over the listener in soothing waves. Multi-instrumentation blends string, percussion and thoughtful piano compositions, unleashing a bouquet of audible blooms to bolster the spirit. This piece is one of my favorites on the album. It is full of hope, fairy lights and infinite possibility. If you close your eyes, you can envisage a love so infinite it transforms all it touches, much like this music.  

“Surrender” winds its way around, leading the listener into the forests of the night. Sweet and succulent as a night blooming jasmine, the flute playing is full of harmony and as the title to the album suggests, tranquil. Beautiful and full of mystery, this piece is indeed a surrender. The music takes you by the hand, leading you into the paths less trodden, marking passage by wisps of sweet harmony and elegant composition.

Darlene Koldenhoven is an award winning vocalist, composer, lyricist, keyboardist, producer, actor, author, speaker and pianist. Her work can be found in hundreds of movies, commercials, recordings and television shows. Tranquil Times is her newest accomplishment and the purely instrumental elements of the album are refreshing, especially after a particularly stressful holiday season. Playing the album for a week practically non-stop, I find myself at loath to move on to the next project, having grown attached to this lovely body of work.  For any writer out there, this album is wonderful to write to, the flowing sounds crafting a marvelous backdrop in which to create. With original works and arrangements, this album is auditory nirvana. I highly recommend it.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Eternal Love, Lucid See, Surrender

Dana Wright

January 15, 2014


Tracks:

1.Lucid See
2. Eternal Love
3. Greensleeves
4. Hypogeum
5. Surrender
6.Drifting With Bach
7.A Walk in Paradise
8. Atmosphere